We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Hill Lodge B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Garston B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Great Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Spent three nights with Sharon and Mark over New Year’s – found this by default since everything was booked in Queenstown, and could not have been happier. As someone else stated – this, too, was our favorite place we stayed at over our three-week stay in Oz/Nz. Close enough to Queenstown to spend multiple days in the city, and only a few hours from Milford Sound. Cleanliness of the room and common areas was impeccable. Booked the England room – very spacious and we were very happy with it. Breakfast was eggs, sausage, bacon, mushrooms, tomato. Both the bacon and sausage (lamb) were about as flavorful and fresh as they come. Nightly dinners are offered if you’d prefer not to drive into Queenstown – we took advantage of this one night – the butter chicken was outstanding. Sharon and Mark make you feel right at home from your first step through the door – fun conversations with them over dinner. And if you’re lucky, you may get a chance to feed Mildred.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
29
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed with Mark and Sharon for (actual) Christmas 2013 and had an absolutely wonderful stay. We couldn't have been more pleased with the Borneo Room. Sharon greeted us with deelish tea and biscuits and made a lovely Christmas dinner. The home has a separate, cozy living room for guests. The rooms are spacious, with comfortable mattresses, soft sheets, and modern private bathrooms. The house itself is set on a picture-perfect property looking out onto Castle Hill. Having the sheep, goats, pigs, dog/cat, ducks, and the rest of the farm animals on the farm to feed was an extra treat. We were amazed by the decorative details of the actual home -- so beautiful! If we are ever traveling through to Te Anau again, we will most certainly stay at the Castle Hill Lodge again. Thank you Mark and Sharon -- we loved every moment of our stay!

Room Tip: The Borneo room is spacious and has a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed with Sharon and Mark for a week while I fished some southland rivers with a friend. Fantastic hosts, great home cooking and a really good base for exploring the sights of Southland, such as Doubtful and Milford Sound, Invercargill and Te Anau. I will definitely stay again on our next fishing trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseEdgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Comfortable B&B in the countryside, ideal for exploring the attractions in the area without being in the middle of Queenstown. Sharon and Mark are accommodating and provide personal service that makes a difference. The setting is tranquil and pleasant - it's a good place to unwind.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csmcuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We needed somewhere to stop over on our way to the Milford Track from Christchurch. Castle Hill Lodge was comfortable, relaxed, friendly and beautifully situated in a quiet spot. We had a very good evening meal, and in the morning a delicious cooked breakfast. Although we only stayed one night, this would be very good for an extended stay whether or not you are interested in fishing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

During our recent visit, my wife and I travelled with our two young sons – one aged three years and the other four months. We made the decision to stay most of our time at Castle Hill Lodge, a bed and breakfast establishment on a small rural property within fairly easy reach of the attractions around Queenstown and those around Te Anau.

The decision helped make our holiday into one to remember.

Our three year old was fascinated by the goats, pigs, chickens, sheep and other animals. He struck up an immediate friendship with Barkley who would have to be the best-natured, most playful dog on the planet. We enjoyed the absolutely glorious surrounds and easy access to everything quintessentially New Zealand made all the more available to us because of the connections and knowledge of our fabulous hosts, Sharon and Mark.

Our accommodation was spotlessly clean and comfortably warm. We had plenty of room to spread out in our own space with access to a guest lounge and the feeling that Sharon and Mark really were opening up their home to us. All the mod cons were available including unlimited and easy wifi internet access.

Sharon and Mark were always ready to assist and advise without forcing any ideas upon us. They offered us very competitive rates and the great cooked farm-breakfasts they provided were a great way to start every day. I can’t think of anything they could have done to have been more welcoming.

We definitely hope to go back.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms ranging in size from those suitable for families to those suited to an in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

After long days fishing it was tremendous to come back to a superb B&B with welcoming, friendly hosts who couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were very comfortable, and the home cooked meals hit the spot every time. Will certainly return even if the fish aren't biting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOB118084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garston
1.7 mi away
Southern Venues High Country Farmstay
11.9 mi away
Kingston Holiday Park
Kingston Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
23.2 mi away
Mossburn Railway Hotel
Mossburn Railway Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mossburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Lumsden Hotel
Lumsden Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lumsden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Lodge B&B

Property: Castle Hill Lodge B&B
Address: 23 Mcmillan Road, Garston 9750, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Garston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Garston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hill Lodge B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within 9 acres of mature trees, gardens and stunning views is this former Angler's Lodge.Centrally located for trips to Te Anau, Milford Sound and Queenstown. A scrumptious breakfast will set you up for the days walking, fishing, skiing, kayaking or just sitting out on the decking. Free internet access, guest lounge, open fires and farm animals for you to greet. A great place to stay a while and watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hill Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Lodge B&B New Zealand/Garston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing