We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing memorial”

Adelaide River War Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$165.98*
and up
Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing memorial”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

a beautiful tribute to the many heroes that died for our freedom. a peaceful place with wonderful gardens , well done groundsmen, if only our government could maintain our memorials so well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    27
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,950 reviews
1,152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6,211 helpful votes
“Historical significance”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The cemetery is worth a visit to read about some of the fallen soldiers. If you are stopping at Adelaide river road house for food and fuel, why not and go here as it's not far away.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1TraveltheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Territory, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Well cared for gardens. Pleasant feel to the area. Grab some food from the Adelaide River and enjoy a picnic lunch in the lush tropical surrounds. You wont be sorry.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank loriterritory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very moving!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

If this place doesn't move you, you must have no heart. I've seen war cemeteries all over the world and they still cause a lump in my throat. Especially moving is the graves of those who lost their lives in the Post Office. The little museum at the side of the cemetery is definitely worth a look too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hickster122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“War cemetary”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Beautiful resting place for our diggers. Well maintained, and very peaceful. I took a group of school kids and were all moved.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Henso56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adelaide River War Cemetery also viewed

Adelaide River, Top End
 

Been to Adelaide River War Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing