We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whyte Harte Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$174
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$55
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$128
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
55
50
35
18
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
50
35
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig bathwhyte hartelooked yummylick of paintbeautiful villageevery requestunder new managementcomfortable bedmashplace to stayrooms are cleanchain hotelsenglish breakfastwater pressuretwin roomexcellent breakfasttea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 170 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Thank you to the managers, Samantha and Brendan for making our stay extra special. We felt spoilt by your service and hospitality. Not your average meal, with such exciting choices and beautifully cooked and presented food. The room was perfectly suited to our needs and my husband and I definitely left rested and feeling like we had had a great vacation. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Recently returned here for a one night stay. We were really looking forward to it as our first stay was impressive.

We were very disappointed; room was tiny and very shabby, wallpaper falling off the walls.

Staff were friendly but they did not appear to be able to find our booking when we arrived!

Very nice breakfast although floor was being washed around us!!!

We slept very badly because a group of people were talking and shouting somewhere either under our room or outside the back door into deep into the night . This was definitely on the hotel premises.

We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoxonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I write lots of reveiws but sadly this is the first negative one I've ever written . We stayed here prior to a wedding so really looking forward to it . We were as it seems very unlucky and left extremely disappointed . Dinner the first night was very slow we were told that we would have to wait over 30 mins for food so we said maybe we could have a little bread to keep us going as we were so hungry. Bread cost us £15 for 6 and dinner arrived an hour later. The drinks are very expensive £5 for two small soft drinks. The room we must have picked the short straw very small not pleasant to get ready for a wedding in the shower didn't work not much fun when getting ready for a wedding had to get a key to another room with towel wrapped round us to shower ! Was told plumber would come but the next night the room was let out again to our wedding party as we stayed elsewhere and guess what !! Shower didn't work again and half the wedding party had no hot water in morning as it ran out. I had to walk downstairs to get tea bags and milk as none in room alongside a cafeteria but empty dirty jar coffee. Room very shabby no bath mat if had managed a shower and no sleep . Very noisy room above bar had to listen to loud musc and bar conversations till after midnight then had to endure noisy guests and then next room not been able to get in room at 3.30 am trying to break in , Not hotels fault but with no sleep was icing on cake ! Admittedly we chose to sleep in a pub !!! Never again !! Food on the other hand was very good and well presented so no complaints there for dinner and brekfast . But def won't be back

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

While doing geneology search for my husband's family in Surrey, we stayed at Whyte Harte. It turned out to be the exact English experience I wanted for my husband. The staff was over-the-top helpful at every request. The room was fine - this is an old hotel - we didn't expect the new "suite" sized room. Good mattress and clean. The pub is wonderful - quiet enough to for reading and working in the middle of the day, and friendly fun at night. Perhaps the best part of the stay was the food - it was exceptional! When back in England, not only will we stay at Whyte Harte again, we will extend our stay to enjoy this lovely place.

Maggie M

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the Whyte Hart recently and were pleasantly surprised. We have a child with special needs. The staff were fantastic with her and very patient and so welcoming. It is not often we go away to a hotel where the children are treated as people. The rooms were full of character which one would expect in a hotel of this age. Being able to see the pictures of the history of the hotel was very interesting. The food was fantastic and the chefs did an amazing job with what I can only describe as a difficult order. The deserts were mouth watering and on the second night I had two ... The price we paid for the service and hospitality we received was very reasonable. As a family we will defiantly be back and can only thank everyone there for giving my children and ourselves such a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1974LisaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews