We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent high quality experience”
Review of Stilegate B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Quantoxhead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stilegate B&B
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent high quality experience”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a two day break in this area, first visit. Couldn't have had a better place to stay, both Peter and Heidi were welcoming, friendly and informative. They told us of a lovely local beach to visit which was less than 5 minutes away, a nice walk just before bedtime. The bed was SO comfortable and breakfast was not only a feast for the eyes but lived up to the beautiful presentation. I would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B to other couples.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piggey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear C&A. It was really nice to meet you both, glad you found the beach at St Audries. Thank you for your great comments. Heidi & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
88
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived to a beautiful house and was welcomed straight away by the lovely Heidi, she showed us around her lovely home then showed us our stunning room.
We only stayed one night for a friends wedding but we had the warmest of welcomes and once we were ready to leave for the wedding Heidi very kindly offered to take us to the wedding which we thought was very kind!
The room was great and we had a very good night sleep.
There was a huge choice for breakfast and it was beautiful, everything about our stay was just perfect.
Definitely a place to visit, we will certainly be back again :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markponsford89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you Mark. So kind of you both. Please come back and visit again one day. Best regards Heidi and Pete xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed for a 2 night mini-break with our dog. Room was lovely and it was great having the extra porch space with the fridge and microwave. Used the guest pass to use the pool and beach at St Audries Holiday Park - both almost deserted. Breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. Little yard area outside room wasn't secure for dog, but suggested it would have been helpful so maybe they have secured it now! Lovely walking in the Quantocks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrysgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The point about the yard area for a dog has been noted and it is on the 'to do' list. Best Wishes Heidi and Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a lovely stay with Heidi although we only stayed the one night to attend a wedding, we wish we could have stayed longer. We received a very warm welcome and was offered tea and coffee upon our arrival. Our room was clean and fresh with an excellent view. There was a variety for breakfast from cereal to full cooked, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Hope you see you again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Trish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Trish
Great to meet you both. Shame it was only one night on this occasion. Thank you for the compliments. Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Brilliant - never stayed in a B&B before so unsure what to expect ....Stayed in the garden room, own access (and fridge and microwave) . Nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable bed, great breakfast, friendly people - the sort of people you wish lived nearer to home - great friend potential!. . Would recommend. Sue and John.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank suebonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sue and John
Glad you enjoyed your first B&B experience. Great to meet you both. Heidi & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed one night at stile gate as we were attending a family wedding at st Audries park. The location was perfect and "Heidi" even gave us a lift to the wedding which was a huge Bonus totally unexpected! We were made to feel welcome as soon as we walked in with a fantastic cup of tea after a very long journey. The breakfast was fantastic with a great deal of attention in everything. Everywhere was spotlessly clean but with a very homely feeling. The lovely touch of a feather on the toilet roll was the icing on the cake rather than the normal point!!! Thankyou Heidi and Pete.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellymoost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
It has to be the feather.....Lovely to meet you, Heidi & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a two night stay here while visiting relatives nearbye. It was a lovely stay - the room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was excellent. Heidi and Peter made us very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretinBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Margaret
We have to try and impress the Aussies and keep the standards up! Best Wishes Heidi & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Quantoxhead
4.0 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.3 mi away
Cherry Orchard House
Cherry Orchard House
#2 of 3 in West Quantoxhead
10 reviews
2.8 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
White House
White House
#3 of 6 in Williton
124 reviews
1.7 mi away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 55 in Taunton
144 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Audries Bay Holiday Club
St Audries Bay Holiday Club
#1 of 2 in West Quantoxhead
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stilegate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilegate B&B

Property: Stilegate B&B
Address: Staple Close | St Audries, West Quantoxhead TA4 4DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > West Quantoxhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Quantoxhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established B&B near Quantock Hills and coast with all en-suite accommodation and a warm welcome. Panoramic views from each room towards Exmoor National Park and Minehead. Close to St Audries Park Wedding venue. Enjoy our Aga home cooked breakfast freshly prepared especially for you and then relax at our local St Audries Bay beach or mountain bike straight onto the Quantock Hills (AONB) from the front door. Walk to the local Windmill Inn for a delicious evening meal,fantastic Sunday carvery or take a picnic up onto the beautiful Quantock Hills. Electric Vehicle charging point free for overnight guests. Off road parking and ground floor room available. Ask about our midweek break special. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing