We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Accommodation”
Review of Stilegate B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Quantoxhead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stilegate B&B
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brisbane
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a two night stay here while visiting relatives nearbye. It was a lovely stay - the room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was excellent. Heidi and Peter made us very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretinBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Margaret
We have to try and impress the Aussies and keep the standards up! Best Wishes Heidi & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
88
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My Friends and I came here as we were attending a wedding near by - What can I say a warm welcome, beautful room and views to die for!
I have to say it deserves more then a 5 score! I am booking again to come over with my Boyfirend as it is that beautful!

This B&B is better then any I have stayed before, and working in travel that is a lot!

Heidi is the perfect host and the Breakfast! AMAZING set us up for the whole day and the 7 hour drive back!! a Must !!!!

Room Tip: Any room is a fantasitc room! - we took the whole B&B up and we were in every room - the views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BernieOS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Bernie

You are a star. Thank you for the glowing review. Please bring your boyfriend down next time...H&P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed 1 night at Stilegate whilst doing a trip down memory lane. Heidi was the perfect host and the tea and Victoria sandwich cake she greeted us with was lovely. Beautiful views from the upstairs double bedroom. Breakfast was all freshly prepared with a good menu choice. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Great comments. Your are very kind. We try to make it homely. Best Wishes Heidi & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratfield Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed for two nights at Stilegate as it was convenient for St Audries wedding venue.We were given a warm welcome and a cream tea on arrival .Stilegate is in a lovely setting with views over Watchet and Minehead.Our double room was spacious ,loved the teddy on the bed .The bathroom was well equipped and clean .Lots of choices for breakfast which was excellent .Nothing seems to be too much trouble for Heidi and Peter who are the perfect hosts ,Peter even took us to get our car back from the wedding venue on Sunday morning ,We would certainly stay there again and would recommend to anyone visiting the area .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you. We really appreciate your comments. Love to see you again. Heidi & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willand, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a very short, one night stay at Stilegate, and cannot fault it. Heidi and Peter are the perfect hosts, so welcoming and friendly. The B&B is very spacious and comfortable. We stayed in the twin room - the views are breathtaking, huge bathroom and we had a good nights sleep. the full English breakfast was also excellent. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hi Kate
You are a star. So nice to see you (and your other half) again after all these years. Don't work too hard......H&P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed three nights and had an excellent experience. Heidi is an outstanding host, so warm and kind. The room was lovely and the bathroom perfecly clean. Very nice the garden with a deliciously warm swimming pool.The breakfast was excellent too. I think that Stilegate b&b is so brilliant because Heidi runs her job with all her heart. That makes the difference!I hope I'll have the opportunity to come again.I definetely recomend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ElenaArietti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Elena
What an Italian treasure you are. You brought the sunshine and a smile. Please let us know when you open your B&B in Italy - we'll be there. Heidi & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Room and ensuite great and hospitality outstanding. Tea and delicious scones were a lovely way to start our stay and we were very happy to be offered a lift to a local pub where we ate in the evening. As previous reports have said, the cooked breakfast really was amazing and the fresh fruit salad probably the best I have tasted. Heidi and Peter are lovely people, whether you want to chat about the local area or football! Would love to be able to stay longer next time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarah52London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
A big thank you for taking the trouble to report on us. We would love to meet you again one day - glad you enjoyed Stilegate B&B. Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Quantoxhead
4.0 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
14.0 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cherry Orchard House
Cherry Orchard House
#3 of 3 in West Quantoxhead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.9 mi away
White House
White House
#3 of 6 in Williton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.7 mi away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stilegate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilegate B&B

Property: Stilegate B&B
Address: Staple Close | St Audries, West Quantoxhead TA4 4DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > West Quantoxhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Quantoxhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established B&B near Quantock Hills and coast with all en-suite accommodation and a warm welcome. Panoramic views from each room towards Exmoor National Park and Minehead. Close to St Audries Park Wedding venue. Enjoy our Aga home cooked breakfast freshly prepared especially for you and then relax at our local St Audries Bay beach or mountain bike straight onto the Quantock Hills (AONB) from the front door. Walk to the local Windmill Inn for a delicious evening meal,fantastic Sunday carvery or take a picnic up onto the beautiful Quantock Hills. Electric Vehicle charging point free for overnight guests. Off road parking and ground floor room available. Ask about our midweek break special. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing