We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Green paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Sauce Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Sauce Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sauce
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Green paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I love everything in there: the food was good, a mix between typical and international, good service and very, very friendly people. Ask for any of the hut in front of the lake, you will love it. Be ready to get totally wet because of the rain at any time. The resort offers also several activities to do.

Room Tip: Choose the one in front of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larojasandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    75
    25
    6
    14
See reviews for
77
95
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Hammocks, cocktails, a spa, a lagoon in the mountains and a swimming pool....what more could anyone want?

Excellent service and excellent food.

We were only there for two nights but there were plenty of activities on offer for those staying longer (though nothing to do at the hotel after dinner).

Could have done with slightly more insect prevention in the rooms (spray the resort or rooms at dusk ?)

Very enjoyable stay. Loved lying in the hammock outside our room and reading my book!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozza28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My young and active parents (82 & 92) took a few days to visit the famous blue lagoon and escape the cold weather in Lima. They loved the location and the wonderful settings and overall had a very pleasant stay. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and delicious but the lunch and dinner were terrible. The food seemed overly frozen and reheated. They really need to improve in that area. There is also no internet access at all. The transfers to an from the airport, provided by a company called SILSA were UNACCEPTABLE. They were greeted at the airport by a new van but were quickly transfered to an older sedan that apparently had no air conditioning and took almost three hours (should have been a 90 minute ride) to get them to El Sauce! On the return they were also driven by a random older unmarked vehicle. This driver drove very fast had the nerve to turn off the air conditioning and open the windows despite the winds and extremely hot weather! You don't do this to ANY passenger, especially when they are older and have paid top dollar (about U$40 RT per person) for your services!!!! This is UNACCEPTABLE. If you decide to visit please make sure you DEMAND a proper transfer from the hotel in a safe and comfortable vehicle. The transfer was a dangerous and uncomfortable ripoff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigFatMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I took our three young boys and were hoping (expecting) something more remote. We have visited many remote parts of Peru, and wanted something that was more isolated. Not a resort that was next to a town (El Sauce was walking distance). Please do not get me wrong....the resort is very nice (great pool, lush gardens, beautiful lake, etc), and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed taking kayaks out on the lake, and my boys loved the zipline. However do not take the lake cruise. It was a waste of 2-3 hrs. Overall the resort might be a convenient option for families flying in from Lima that only have a couple nights. Yet we drove close to 14 hours and wanted something that did not have a cell tower looming over it. If the bungalows were not so comfortable and the food not so tasty, then I would have given it 3 stars ( based on price and comparable options within northern Peru and Ecuador ).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rneps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Very good place highly recommend, peaceful, quietly and comfortable
A little bit expensive but worth it most of the things, the food it's too expensive I think...
All the activities are paid, except the free kayak ride.
Beautifull view and if you want can fish tilapia at the lake

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaohsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

The place is nice ,paradise .Food is great but service to slow, will come back ,is a place to recomend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseharrisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
418 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

This could have been a very good "get away" resort. It has a beautiful location on the lake and was designed and constructed well. BUT, that is all it has going for it. They charge more than $110 a night, per person (that is if you get a Bungalow - the only accommodation away from the loud street noise and local music) and you get cold showers and mediocre food at the restaurant for your money. Beware, that Sauce Resort will try to get every dollar (or soles) that it can squeeze out of you... for example they offer an a "nature hike" but then charge you S/35 soles just to walk around. I could go on but really, they do not understand neither quality nor customer service. I will not return here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauce
17.2 mi away
Tucan Suites Aparthotel
Tucan Suites Aparthotel
#1 of 17 in Tarapoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
16.8 mi away
Leito Inn
Leito Inn
#12 of 17 in Tarapoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
17.3 mi away
RioSol Tarapoto Hotel
RioSol Tarapoto Hotel
#3 of 17 in Tarapoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Puerto Palmeras Tarapoto Resort
18.9 mi away
Madera Labrada
Madera Labrada
#5 of 48 in Tarapoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
5.9 mi away
Pumarinri Amazon Lodge
Pumarinri Amazon Lodge
#1 of 48 in Tarapoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sauce Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sauce Resort

Property: El Sauce Resort
Address: Jr. Leticia s/n sauce San Martin, Sauce Tara 01, Peru
Location: Peru > San Martin Region > Sauce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sauce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Sauce Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Sauce Resort is located in the province of San martin,city of Tarapoto. It is the only resort that sits on a lake surrounded by montaneous jungle with an altitude of 3215ft.Our 10 acre hotel is located on the shores of the Laguna Azul and provides visitors comfort, hospitality and a truly exciting rewardind jungle experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Sauce Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing