We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Winford”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Winford Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winford Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winford
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Winford”
Reviewed June 13, 2010

My recent stay at Winford manor was nothing short of top notch. My girlfriend and I stayed there for 3 nights and from the moment we landed in Bristol a hotel car was waiting for us. A short ride later and we were at the manor checking into our room. The staff was friendly and helpful and we found our room very clean, bright and spacious. From our window we had a great view of the gardens and grounds, along with the wildlife - ducks and birds.

The meals at Winford Manor were nothing short of outstanding. Breakfasts were fresh and tasty and dinners in the dining room were perfect after a day of touring bristol. We even had an opportunity to meet the chef and commend him on the food. Overall I would recommend the manor and plan on staying there the next time we're in Bristol.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bacchus440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    129
    60
    31
    24
See reviews for
82
206
25
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed here at the start of May, it was unplanned due to our flight from Bristol being cancelled. We got collected very promptly and checked in to our room. Very nice, clean room with lots of space, lovely walk in bathroom. All the staff we met were friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. We were able to borrow a laptop to check on flight details for the next day and the young lady on reception also helped us by calling easyjet for us. Dinner in the restaurant was superb, great food and nice views. All in all we couldn't fault a thing about this hotel and we will be back! Thank you to all the staff for making the start of our hoilday turn from chaos to relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David80Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

After a hectic dash south in a bid to escape the blasted volcanic cloud (Manchester flight cancelled, Bristol flight possible for the following day), we were grateful for a bit of peace & tranquility, a very comfortable bed and a spot of TLC - including a snack whipped up after the chef had left and the loan of a laptop to check airport news. Refreshed and well breakfasted, we were in a good frame of mind to face whatever travel disruption may lay ahead (which after an initial degree of doubt, turned into Good News and we were able to fly off). Thak you, Doreen and the rest of the staff - we are happy to have found Winford Manor.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2010

This hotel has not only the benefits of an idyllic countryside location - yet only 5 minutes from Bristol airport - but it is a new, independently run establishment. The team of staff work together to make your stay as comfortable and relaxed as possible. My recent experience was partly as a result of being "stranded" in Bristol - but it turned into an extended holiday. Help was provided in the booking of alternative travel home, and the team running the hotel could not have been more helpful. For a nominal fee, transfers to and from the airport can be arranged, which saves on the cost of taxi fares. Couldn't recommend the hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annscilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Having spent 3 weeks there working nights in the area my company booked me into the above hotel. The hotel is set in a beautiful location and very peaceful. The staff are very friendly and they were always happy to help. The night porter always had a jug of fresh milk for me when i finished work and arrived back at the hotel in the small hours of the morning. When i am working back in this area again i shall return to this hotel.
Great accomodation.
Hi to all the staff down there and hope to see you all soon again.

Tony.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 69marra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Very dissapointed with this place. It was freezing the night we stopped there and our room was at the far end of the outside walkway. Getting frost bite on the way to bed was not good.

The room was cold and bleak. One biscuit each which was a joke. There was a filthy towel on one of the beds. The toiletries in the shower are in dispenser type bottles. Horrible. The loo paper is like a public toilet, small sheets that pull out in a clump or just rip. Why can't they supply a proper roll?

We eat in the restaurant as there is nothing else nearby. The food was OK but overpriced. The breakfast is help yourself continental or you have to pay for a cooked. Why they cant include a cooked in their, high, price is a mystery. The continental was poorly stocked, dried up bread and rubber cheese.

The only thing going for it is the short drive to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank charlieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traceybeck, General Manager at Winford Manor, responded to this review, April 3, 2010
We were most disappointed to read this review as rarely is anyone so dissatisfied with Winford Manor. I am sorry that you found your room cold and bleak. This is most unusual as all rooms have underfloor heating that is usually efficient. I do most profusely apologise for a dirty towel being left in you room, this is not acceptable.

In order to support our environmental policy, we use the refillable toiletries in line with our committment to reduce waste.

We have taken the cost of a cooked breakfast out of our room rates in line with most other hotels and also that the majority of our guests leave before 7am and do not require this service. I am sorry that you did not find the complimentary continental breakfast acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Winford Manor is Bristol's best-kep secret. Travelling frequently to Bristol, it is easily the most pleasant hotel in which I've stayed. Located in the beautiful Chew Vally with amazing views, you'd think you were in the middle of the countryside. Yet, the hotel is just 8 minutes drive from Bristol Airport and less than 20 minutes from the centre of Bristol itself.

The staff are friendly and welcoming. The room I stayed in was spacious with broadband internet connection and flat-screen TV (with loads of channels). The en suite bathrooms are well fitted out with plenty of space - and shelving!

The buffet breakfast has a wide choice - everything from cereals and croissant to full English. And the restaurant has great food - cooked by a Chef who recently won Bristol's Best Award.

Set in glorious parkland with dogs and ducks, there's also plenty of room to walk off the calories gained. No wonder the fellow guests I chatted to were nearly all return visitors. Winford Manor is a great base for touring, business or just staying the night before or after a flight. A great find.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankTwort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winford
1.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol Airport
2.3 mi away
Redhill House
Redhill House
#1 of 2 in Redhill
307 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Town and Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winford Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winford Manor

Property: Winford Manor
Address: Old Hill, Winford BS40 8DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Winford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Winford Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 7 acres of beautiful grounds, Award winning Winford Manor has free Wi-Fi and superb eco rooms. Bristol International Airport is just 5 minutes’ away and a shuttle service is available for a small fee. The Labyrinth restaurant serves a superb traditional menu from locally sourced ingredients. Set in the beautiful Chew Valley, the hotel is just a 30-minute drive from the historic cities of Bristol and Bath, with spectacular countryside views. Conference and event facilities are available at Winford Manor.Award winning Winford Manor has free Wi-Fi and superb eco rooms. Bristol Airport is just 5 minutes’ away and a shuttle service is available for a small fee. The Labyrinth restaurant serves a superb traditional menu from locally sourced ingredients. The hotel is just a 30-minute drive from the historic cities of Bristol and Bath, with spectacular countryside views. There is free secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winford Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winford Manor Hotel Winford
Winford Manor Bristol
Winford Manor Hotel Bristol
Winford Manor Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing