We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous !!”
Review of Winford Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winford Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winford
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous !!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

have used the Winford Manor on a number of occasions now , and cannot fault it in any way , the rooms are spotless , the bar snacks and drinks very reasonably priced all served with a a smile . The airport transfers are spot on , I always think a night at the Winford as part of the holiday , not a necessary add-on !!! , thanks all , and a great location

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fil2-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyBeck, General Manager at Winford Manor, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Winford Manor. It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the fabulous hospitality, food and of course, our amazing staff.

We do hope you had a lovely holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back to Winford Manor in the very near future.

Kind regards
Tracey Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    133
    64
    33
    27
See reviews for
88
211
25
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here the night before a a flight to Barcelona.from Bristol airport.

Nice clean room,taken to it by a friendly lady who offered fresh milk for our tea and promptly went to get some from the kitchen.

The grounds are beautiful and the host dog Winnie is great fun.

We had a lovely meal in the restaurant,together with a good bottle of wine.

The shuttle service is very good,we were given instructions upon our return and after ringing the hotel we were picked up in less than 10 minutes.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madge48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyBeck, General Manager at Winford Manor, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Winford Manor and of course your encounter with Winnie, head of security.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the fabulous hospitality, food and of course, our amazing staff. We are very proud of every one of our colleagues.

We do hope you had a lovely holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back to Winford Manor in the very near future.

Kind regards
Tracey Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The day we went there, Bristol was holding a hot-air balloon festival close by and the traffic was horrendous. On arrival, the hotel and room was sparkling clean and extremely comfortable. I regret not having gone to the dining room; instead opted for lighter fare at the Atrium which must say was disappointing - Atrium suggests a garden setting but it was a sterile room with a few square tables scattered about. It could have been so much more. I was embarrased as I had brought my hosts over with the promise of a light snack before we said good-by, and the description implied a nicer atmosphere. Next time - will go to the dining room! Early continental breakfast was great.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cairns4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyBeck, General Manager at Winford Manor, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Winford Manor.

I am sorry that you did not find the Atrium an aesthetically pleasing environment for your snacks. If you had let us know you were unhappy at the time, we would happily have moved you to the restaurant, to save you feeling uncomfortable.

However, I do hope that you enjoyed the fabulous hospitality, food and of course, our amazing staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Winford Manor in the future.

Kind regards
Tracey Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Winford Manor is only a few minutes drive from Bristol Airport but is in the middle of the countryside. The grounds are very pretty and it is such a peaceful place. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, courteous and friendly. We enjoyed our meals in the restaurant and the continental breakfast was good. I don't know if there are rooms in the main house but ours were in an extension. They had everything we needed, including a comfortable bed, but were perhaps rather generic and characterless. I would highly recommend this place if you need to be near Bristol.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyBeck, General Manager at Winford Manor, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Winford Manor, I am pleased that you enjoyed the fabulous hospitality, food and of course, our amazing staff. We are so lucky to be placed in such a beautiful location surrounded by stunning countryside.

We do hope you had a safe journey home and we look forward to welcoming you back to Winford Manor in the future.

Kind regards
Tracey Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here before flying from Bristol airport.Staff very helpful,lovely clean luxurious rooms.Food fantastic and served in your room at no extra cost if preferred.

Drinks were expensive though.

Rooms very quiet and TV's limited to volume which was great

Would stay again.Just lovely

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boogaloo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyBeck, General Manager at Winford Manor, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Winford Manor, I am pleased that you enjoyed the fabulous hospitality, food and of course, our amazing staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Winford Manor in the very near future.

Kind regards
Tracey Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Last month my husband an I had a fantastic wedding reception at Winford Manor, I couldn't fault anything the grounds are beautiful, food was excellent and the staff are so professional and helpful they all made our day very special. All our guests had a wonderful day and mentioned to us how good the staff were and what a lovely day they had. Thank you to you all I would definitely recommend Winford Manor. Laura and Joe

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyBeck, General Manager at Winford Manor, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Reviewers

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Winford Manor for your wedding.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed the fabulous hospitality, food and of course, our amazing staff and that your whole day was a success.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Winford Manor in the very near future.

Kind regards
Tracey Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motueka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We arrived here somewhat by accident as we had been double booked at the nearby dundry inn and the owner there had bored and paid for us to stay at the manor. Arrived late but just had time for a meal at the restaurant. Risotto was excellent but menu a little uninspiring and the cheeses very sad - why not serve local cheese when you are so close to cheddar? The room was the biggest letdown - if you are staying in a historic manor you expect some character but our room was very bland and motel like. Bathroom was excellent. Maybe the rooms in the main house are better. Service and breakfast were fine.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyBeck, General Manager at Winford Manor, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Winford Manor.

I am dissapointed that you did not enjoy your stay, but wonder if perhaps you were looking forward to your stay in an 'old country inn' and then dissappointed when you were booked out into a modern contemporary hotel. Our website is explicit in stating that we are a modern hotel in sitting in a manor house, with many photos showing the style of the bedrooms.

I am sorry that you found our menu uninspiring when it has many choices, all cooked from locally sourced produce but am pleased that you enjoyed the risotto. We serve only local cheeses in the restaurant and serve a combination of local and continental cheese for breakfast. The cheddar we serve is a local cheddar and is made just a couple of miles from the hotel.

As we were aware that you had been overbooked in the pub and maybe a little distressed because of this, we made extra effort to ensure that your one night stay was as enjoyable
as possible. I am sorry you did not find this to be the case.

We hope you had a safe journey back to New Zealand.

Kind regards
Tracey Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winford
1.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol Airport
2.3 mi away
Redhill House
Redhill House
#1 of 2 in Redhill
309 reviews
5.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
3.2 mi away
The Town and Country Lodge
6.7 mi away
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winford Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winford Manor

Property: Winford Manor
Address: Old Hill, Winford BS40 8DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Winford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Winford Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 7 acres of beautiful grounds, Award winning Winford Manor has free Wi-Fi and superb eco rooms. Bristol International Airport is just 5 minutes’ away and a shuttle service is available for a small fee. The Labyrinth restaurant serves a superb traditional menu from locally sourced ingredients. Set in the beautiful Chew Valley, the hotel is just a 30-minute drive from the historic cities of Bristol and Bath, with spectacular countryside views. Conference and event facilities are available at Winford Manor.Award winning Winford Manor has free Wi-Fi and superb eco rooms. Bristol Airport is just 5 minutes’ away and a shuttle service is available for a small fee. The Labyrinth restaurant serves a superb traditional menu from locally sourced ingredients. The hotel is just a 30-minute drive from the historic cities of Bristol and Bath, with spectacular countryside views. There is free secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Winford Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winford Manor Hotel Winford
Winford Manor Bristol
Winford Manor Hotel Bristol
Winford Manor Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing