We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best campground and great people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Glasgow Highlands Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Glasgow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Glasgow Highlands Campgrounds
Certificate of Excellence
Driebergen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best campground and great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a great stay around Canada Day with Les and Marlene. Spend a week camping with our 3 months old daughter. Great campground and lovely people, checking in everyday on the little one. Loved every minute of it :-).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OGeveke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    9
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
54
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My friend and I recdently took a bike trip around PEI. We were challeneged beyond our ability so by our third night we were very sore and hopeless. We were scheduled to arrive at the Highland Campgrounds and spend a night in the cabins. It was raining and we were exhausted so we phoned ahead (spoke with Marlene) to let them know we would be late as we had a few hills to climb in the lovely pitcuresque village of Hunter River. Not long after dark as we were about to climb our secondf hill, a truck pulled up (owner Les). He loaded our bikes in the back and allowed our soaking wet selves into his truck and drove us to our cabin. They said they were worried about us and wanted to know we were safe. When they realized we had no bedding (you must bring your own for the cabins) they insisted they loan us some. Such kind, welcoming and thoughtfull folks.
The grounds were beautiful, the cabins, washrooms and showers spotless. We listened to the rain on the roof, dry in our beds, and had a mavervelous sleep.The pool, a full kitchen lounge and canoe rentals all looked very inviting. I was only sad we couldnt say longer!!! It was certainly a turning point in our trip and we enjoyed it immensely!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3966John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramichi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We camped here in 2010 and 2011 and it is the cleanest, quietest and most beautiful campground on the island. It is so wonderful to have peace and quiet when you are tired after taking the kids to all of the wonderful attractions. Everything is spotlessly clean and the pool is wonderful and warm. I really appreciate all of the hard work the owners do to keep this campground safe from the party crowd. We won't camp anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiramichiFamilymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We loved this place on Prince Edward Island. We camped here in a motorhome. Everything was well maintained and spotless. The whole facility was well thought out. Most sites had shade and were separated by trees. There was a camp store, pool, and a common room. The campground was truly quiet during quiet hours. The host was very welcoming and directed us to local events and points of interest that made our stay even more special. The campground is close to the national park on PEI, and it is easy to get where you want to go. We definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 76Gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

First off, I will agree that it is a very nice campground, nice sites and very clean. However, the owner (Les Andrews) needs to state clearly that this campground is for couples and/or single family stays. Anyone planning to meet friends and socialize a little bit is in for a rude awakening. There are more rules at this campground than I have ever seen and they are strictly enforced in a very heavy-handed way by Mr. Andrews. Whether he is addressing kids or adults his manner is demeaning and insulting. The pool closes too early (7:30pm). Mr. Andrews skulks around the campground searching out any breach of some of his outlandish rules, without a bit of logic or common sense - strictly your "A" type personality. If you are visiting with friends or family at their site, he will be around at 11:00 pm to personally escort back to your own site. This campground is no place for socializing in the evening and Mr. Andrews would be well-advised to make that very clear on his web site.Our group rented 3 sites for 3 nights at a cost of almost $500.00 and the owner, Mr. Andrews did everything he could possibly do to ruin what was supposed to be a nice, fun-filled family trip. We will not be returning to this camground again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you are travelling in a group or meeting friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was our 4th time staying at New Glasgow. We wouldn't camp any other place on the Island. The hosts are fabulous and make sure you are feeling right at home. The grounds are immaculate, not even a piece of paper floating around. The pool is salt water and pure heaven to go into on a hot summer day. A friend came to visit while we were there and was heard to say......"this is the most beautiful camp ground I have ever seen." We totally agree. We wouldn't stay any other place. Its one of the reasons we travel to PEI every July. Just a note to add, it is centrally located on the Island, so touring is very, very easy wherever you decide to go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bevandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

This was one of the cleanest, most civilized, welcoming campgrounds I've ever been too. Off season cabin rentals are a steal!

The commonly shared lodge with ample wood for the wood stove and cooking facilities makes tent camping very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaraMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Glasgow
6.5 mi away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
12.5 mi away
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
15.1 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
4.3 mi away
North Rustico Motel Cottages & Inn
6.9 mi away
Cavendish Maples Cottages
Cavendish Maples Cottages
#1 of 22 in Cavendish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Glasgow Highlands Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Glasgow Highlands Campgrounds

Property: New Glasgow Highlands Campgrounds
Address: Hunter River RR#3, New Glasgow, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > New Glasgow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in New Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing