We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Imperial
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rab Town
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice location but...”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is location. It is situated very near the old town in a lovely park. Also they have a new swimming pool and lovely terrace. But unfortunately the staff was not pleasant. The hotels is quite old and the rooms are very small. The hotel in the other had has a special charm. The dinning room is nice,and the waiters are friendly. So the hotel has its cons and pros. But the most critic goes for the staff on the reception, nervous and unfriendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B0rna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    50
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
27
49
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
484 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed a nice two night stay at this property. The room was standard size, nice bed, large windows and a small, but functional bathroom. The hotel is in a great location with a few steps down through a park into old town and harbor. The patio area is very large, with nice, comfortable seating and a large, recently renovated pool area. There is also a spa and wellness center, but we did not utilize them. The breakfast buffet is very large with great choice and variety. The bar area was the only disappointment...small and limited staff/service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing old town, overlooking the pool area. The other side faces the parking lot and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustycat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night in early September and it's charming. The lobby is grand for this part of the world and has a nice terrace area for evening drinks. Our standard room was a good size while the bathroom was average.
The hotel has a great outdoor pool which also has a jacuzzi, a really nice way to spend an afternoon. There is also an indoor pool.

The hotel has a "wellness" centre where you can get a 50 minute massage for 230 kn (~£25).

The location is great as it's only a few minutes walk to the old town centre where there are lots of restaurants, bars and cafes.

The hotel is very popular with older German tourists, the average age was probably 70+, which was interesting for us as a couple in our mid thirties.

We were on half board and you are given a card at check in which you show when you enter the restaurant, the card then stays on the table and you have the same table for breakfast and dinner throughout your stay.
The evening meal resembled a scene out of Fawlty Towers...The meal is buffet style and when "Dragan", our waiter, asked for our drinks order we asked to see the wine list. He told us that wasn't necessary as he knew all of the drinks and asked us what we'd like - 'the drinks menu, please'. He protested but we wouldn't budge and asked to see the wine list. We've found wine in Croatia to be average at best so we wanted to pick something decent. There wasn't anything that we wanted a bottle of so we asked for a glass of white wine for my fiancée and a beer for me. Dragan dramatically slapped his forehead, cried mama mia and said we had to order a bottle. We pointed out that the menu clearly had wine by the glass to which he responded by saying he'd need to go down to the bar on the ground floor to "buy" one. Fine with us. He dramatised a bit more but we stood our ground and five minutes later our drinks arrived. So why dramatise such a simple request? You are unable to charge the drinks to your room so you are left fumbling around for cash to pay for the drinks at the table, all while the waiters around you are pouring the left over food from the plates into giant buckets. Nice.

The restaurant has little atmosphere with bright lights, huge curtains blocking out the natural light and a huge amount of tables packed in without space to breathe.

The food itself is dire and dining here for two weeks, like many of the Germans were doing, and sitting at the same table would be truly soul destroying. Breakfast was better with a good selection but at best average and I still can't fathom why they were serving up last night's pasta etc for breakfast.

Parking is free, wifi is 10 kn per 15 minutes.

The hotel is truly charming and if you can book room only or breakfast only then you'll have a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HA_SWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

On the face of it the hotel is fine, great location walking distance through great woodland direct to Rab old town and harbour. Rooms, service, food is all good. However, the place just lacks some inspiration and feels like an old institution. Examples everywhere from the central bar which has zero atmosphere and on two occasions a barman who looked like he had never been in a bar let alone run one. The wonderful pool-outside deck area has no atmosphere and the nightly entertainment (man with organ) is straight from the Yugoslavian days. The place just has a sort of gloomy feeling all over despite some excellent staff who seem to be suffocating too. Perhaps its the management or perhaps the guests are all over 60 and don't care (but our fellow guests were pretty mixed and noticeably spent little time in the hotel):

Room Tip: view of front is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is situated in very nice garden at very quiet place. On the other side, it is just 10 minutes walk from the crowd of the city center. It has nice, not too big pool. The food is very good and you can always ask for something that is not included and served. Half board is a very good option. Rooms are spacious. Hotel has its taxi boat that take its guests at the beach. My complaint is that there is no free wi-fi for guests and the hotel staff behave as they are just waiting to be retired, but this is one of the biggest problem of Croatian tourism.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dundula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Do not expect 5 star luxury and you will not be dissapointed with this hotel (it is a 4 star one, just for the reference). Food is very good, service is hospitable and rooms are clean - they could be a tad bigger but this depends on what you book. Location is perfect, 5 minutes by foot from the center of Rab and in its own nice park overlooking the bay. Keep in mind that this hotel is now almost 90 years old (but recently renovated) so there's a lot of history to it. I would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stancho051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbehjh
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel had a very nice location, walking distance to all points of interest. The internet was VERY expensive and not worth the cost. The room temperature was centrally regulated and the rooms felt very warm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbehjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rab Town
0.5 mi away
Arbiana Hotel
Arbiana Hotel
#1 of 15 in Rab Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Padova
Hotel Padova
#1 of 1 in Banjol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#5 of 15 in Rab Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Tourist Resort San Marino
4.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#3 of 3 in Lopar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
8.1 mi away
Luna Island Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Imperial

Property: Grand Hotel Imperial
Address: Shetalishte Markantuna Dominisa 9 | Hrvatska, Rab Town 51280, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Kvarner Bay Islands > Rab Island > Rab Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rab Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Rab
Grand Hotel Imperial Rab Island, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing