We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rab Town
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed for 10 day with half board in a double room.
The hotel offers good quality in ever aspect: room, food, services.

Room and bath room are not the biggest, but OK.
We had a park side room with balcony, both of which are for a small surcharge, but we think they are worth it. Nice view on the park and the top of the church towers in the town.
We looked at couple of rooms, our favorite rooms are:

Food is good, too. You get a certain table at the beginning of your stay and this is your table during your stay. We actually liked this because we "bargained" a nice table at the beginning and then we did not have to look for a table each time.

Staff are generally very friendly and nice (except 1 or 2, but this can be everywhere).

WiFi is for a charge which you would expect free of charge. We went to town and used a free WiFi of one of the cafes there.

Overall, we can recommend this hotel and we would come back again.

Room Tip: Balcony and park side, 307, 305,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lszi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 128 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with a tour group in June 2012. It's located in the park a bit away from the tourist area, but it's a quick walk to everything you'd want to see in Rab town. The rooms were a bit tight for couples on the trip, but a solo traveler had plenty of space. Clean rooms and good breakfast with delicious hot food like eggs with veggies and crepe-like pancakes. The covered patio was a good spot to have a drink and relax.

"Beach" access is a bit of a walk - facing the front of the hotel, take the path that leads from the left corner of the large patio - up across the access road. A flat path leads you around the hilly park area to a cement patio beach and a very small sand beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oregongirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The hotel is nice and clean in a spectacular location. The rooms are a bit too small. The space around the bad is barely enough to leave your suitcase open. Ok if you leave in the morning and come back at night and only use the room for sleeping. The staff is ok but some rceptionists were annoyed by the mere fact that I wanted to ask something. The worst aspect is the cooking. Breakfast was OK but not a 4 star breakfast which the hotel claims to be. The dinner was terrible. It was a selection of 4 meals which was very repetitive and the meals were just bland. I'd stay again because as long as I want to stay in Rab There's not much choice and I'm worried that other hotels might be even worse.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hynekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Very well located close to the centre of Rab, mostly nice and helpful staff, and a good sized room but too many negatives that add up to this hotel not meriting four stars, by a long shot. The very worst point for us was the overly air-conditioned, overly bright, huge canteen (it cannot be called anything else, certainly not a restaurant) where you are attributed a specific table for the duration of your stay (ours was behind a column, right in front of the lift). It means that even if you are among the first ones for breakfast (which we often were) you cannot choose a table in a nicer part of the 'canteen' i.e: by the window. Know another four star hotel in the world that functions like that? Also quality of food was ok, but again, ok for a canteen, not for a restaurant in a four star hotel.
Other negatives: curtains not covering windows properly, thick traces of black damp in shower, shower handle loose, heavy wardrobe sliding door very difficult to open because too old and worn, french window leading to (tiny) balcony defective, thus difficult to open and close, and tiny bathroom. Also park in front of hotel needing serious attention as in a poor state. All this for 140 Euros a night for a normal room. Not good value for money therefore. Another thing to point out, hotel provided 'entertainment' every night....very good you might think, but it was in the form of the same keyboard and guitar playing duo singing a mixture of things such as Stevie Wonder, Austrian waltzes and some Croatian classics mixed in for good measure. Amused we most certainly were, entertained we most certainly were not!!!
All in all if you're into paying lots for a room but have little expectations, this could be an acceptable place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phebius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Good standards on all aspects. One young receptionist was friendly and very helpful. The others were rude and unhelpful; one of them even forgot to give my passport back at time of check-out. All in all, an excellent value for money hotel particularly for the rooms and the location (quiet in a beautiful park, great view and close to taxi-boats for the beaches). The problem of receptionists is mainly a generational issue. The senior receptionists have kept the old yugoslavian (communist) culture which is not customer-oriented. The young ones tend to be more friendly. Also to be noted that they issue reasonable bills adjusting prices to what is actually consumed and displaying all prices in line with Croatian legislation, unlike what some other hotels located in Dubrovnik refuse to do.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I have to agree with other reviewers. The staff at the front desk is not as friendly as it could be. We reserved a full board hotel in Rab that was 3-stars and it was abysmal. After one night we moved to Hotel Imperial. They gave us an enormous room complete with a bedroom and large, large living room with pull-out couch. The food was good, but could have been a bit more varied. Breakfast maybe better than dinner. The interesting thing is that you have to sit in the same seats for all meals. I think we put on one heck of a show for a neighbors (we have two small kids). The room was SUPER DARK with the shades closed - great for having your kids sleep in late. They gave us a voucher for a ride to one of the nearby islands.

Overall, the hotel is a good 4 star hotel, but it could have been better if the front staff was just a bit more friendly. That said, they sent us via mail my wife's jean's jacket that we left there. Really nice. Thanks!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
3  Thank shinjodenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Built in 1928, the pink washed walls of this expansive hotel with 134 rooms is set high above the ancient peninsular city of Rab overlooking pleasant parkland. Today the Hotel offers a trendy wellness centre along with the romantic atmosphere of a piano bar close to a comfortable and attractive terrace. Here one can enjoy a cool drink, listen to the soft explosive sound of tennis balls in flight and like a fellow Italian writer find a peaceful haven to note down new ideas for a story that needs to find the light of day.

The Imperial has a sense of royalty. It sports a glass encased ROYAL ROOM recording the time when the British uncrowned King Edward VIII came to have lunch in the summer of 1936 with the love of his life, the American Mrs Wallace Simpson. Local folklore is that they also found time to swim in the nude on a nearby beach which today is an acclaimed nudist beach. The hotel exhibition displays the towns invitation to the House of Windsor asking Prince William and his wife Kate Middleton to enjoy the pleasure's and kindness of an island the Romans called Felix Arba (Happy Town). Film world talk is of a sequal to the successful Oscar winning movie, "The King's Speech". That was the story of Edward's reluctant brother who became King George VI of Britain. The Hotel management has filming locations ready and are looking forward to giving any film director, actors, cameramen as well as any film buff a right royal welcome.

The hotel should expand the Royal Room and take the exhibition into the main foyer. Twenty Americans and several Germans were delighted that I pointed the way to this glass room that looks a little too private.

The food was enjoyabl, but could be of greater variety. Waiters and staff treat you with old fashion respect. The beds are comfortable. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kentishtownboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rab Town
0.5 mi away
Arbiana Hotel
Arbiana Hotel
#1 of 15 in Rab Island
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Padova Hotel
Padova Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banjol
126 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carolina Resort
Carolina Resort
#4 of 15 in Rab Island
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel International
Hotel International
#13 of 15 in Rab Island
102 reviews
4.6 mi away
San Marino Resort
San Marino Resort
#1 of 3 in Lopar
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pansion Tamaris
Pansion Tamaris
#9 of 15 in Rab Island
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Grand Hotel

Address: Markantuna Dominisa 9, Rab Town 51280, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Kvarner Bay Islands > Rab Island > Rab Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rab Town
Price Range: $95 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Grand Hotel is located next to the quiet and exotic Komrčar town park, and close to the beach and vibrant historic centre of the town of Rab and its cultural sites. The hotel was built in 1927 and was one of the first on the island. It has hosted many prominent guests, including King Edward VIII back in 1936. Today, the Imperial Grand Hotel offers great amenities, such as an elegant outdoor pool, a poolside cocktail bar and restaurant, the In Vino Veritas restaurant and wine bar, and a relaxing wellness centre with indoor pool. Wide-ranging breakfast and dinner buffets are served in the hotel restaurant. In the evening, you can enjoy live music on the hotel terrace. The hotel's stunning surroundings provide the perfect setting for a morning jog, romantic walks in the town park, relaxation on the town beach, or a bike ride along the well-tended cycling trails. There's also an affordable boat transfer to the romantic beaches in the coves on the Frkanj and Suha Punta peninsulas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Imperial Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Rab
Imperial Grand Hotel Rab Island, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing