We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute tranquility”
Review of Oasis at Ayfilon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dipkarpaz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oasis at Ayfilon
Ranked #4 of 14 Dipkarpaz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Absolutely idyllic location on the low cliffs overlooking the beach and ancient harbour and next to the ruins of a Byzantine church and ancient city. The beach 250m west of the hotel is one of the best and quietest I saw, even by comparison to the rest of Karpaz. Nice rooms. By comparison the food is a bit of a let-down. Not bad, but a bit mundane and the bread really needs sorting out.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Usshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 123 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed for one night in November 2011 and was idyllic. The room was rustic with shower and toilet cubicles in the room but they were clean and comfortable. The staff were really friendly and helful and the food was stunning. We will defintely go back

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrissie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We visited for the day which was spent on the gorgeous Beach that the property was situated on.Had lunch in the Restaurant -a Tuna Salad which was very nice and reasonably priced.Hopefully we will visit N Cyprus again and will spend a night here or somewhere like it so that we can see a bit more of the area which is a long drive from Kyrenia where we were staying.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed here to allow us to visit the furthest reaches of the Karpaz without having to try and do a very long trek there and back from Girne (Kyrenia). We rerved an en-suite room before we left and reached Ayfilon around 2.30pm. We were going to leave bags, and carry on travelling, but the location here bowled us over, and we ended up spending time on the beach and in the water, since in the afternoon the sun is fully on the beach and the balcony and rooms above it. We later ate in the restaurant, and enjoyed a lovely meal of the local fish. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable, though we had difficulty getting the mosquito net fixed properly! Our co-travellers all retired early (there's nothing else to do!) so we got a very quiet night's sleep.
Breakfast in the morning was a quirky mix of fruits and yoghurt, grilled Hellim cheese on toast, and either boiled or scrambled eggs. No fruit juice, though, and we would have appreciated fresh coffee rather than the do-it-yourself arrangement with thermoses of hot water and 'instant' !! No fresh milk either. Future visitors might take note that the mixer taps in the rooms seem to work in reverse, i.e., hot to the right and cold to the left! We learnt this too late to enjoy a hot shower...... A great place for a single night, but we wouldn't have wanted to stay longer.

Room Tip: Choose an en-suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goodwinmacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I am actually evaluating the restaurant ...
great view on the sea and the old Roman harbour, unique sunsets
simple food, vegetables and fresh fish, just delicious, even if hopelessly unsophisticated
we went there during Ramadan, were told nothing when booking, but had to wait 1+h for the owners and staff to recover from that daily ordeal; no apologies; business as usual

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Silver_and_Fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Having spent a night a couple of miles away we thought we would try the oasis because of the location by the sea. We got one of the small rooms by the sea and had a very uncomfortable night. There is only 1 plug in the room which is needed for the fan, but wasn't enough to keep the midges away. A cot was provided for our little one but unlike our bed, there was no midgie net so she had to sleep with us. The communal loos were filthy and not cleaned whilst we were there and the shower ran out of (cold) water. The service was poor and despite the fantastic location to watch the sunset, the meal was average. Both ourselves and the 1 other table had to go inside when we wanted service as the waiter was content to watch TV.
Great location and worth a drink at sunset, but they have allowed themselves to slip and rely on their mention in guide books. Better places within a couple of miles.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Niggles75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Oasis as part of a longer holiday in N Cyprus - basic but clean rooms, very good breakfast, decent restaurant all at reasonable prices for this perfect "desert island" location. The location could hardly be more spectacular or closer to the beach. An ideal staging post for exploring the Karpaz with the added benefit that being on the North Coast (ie turn left rather than right at Dipkarpaz) it's even quieter than the south facing coast running towards the Monastery. Be prepared to be woken early by braying (wild) donkeys, the only other sound is the sea!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tewkesburytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dipkarpaz
6.9 mi away
Balci Plaza
Balci Plaza
#5 of 16 in Famagusta
85 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Lembos Hotel
Villa Lembos Hotel
#1 of 14 in Dipkarpaz
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Karpasia
Castle Karpasia
#7 of 14 in Dipkarpaz
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Glaro Garden Hotel
Glaro Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Dipkarpaz
88 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Oasis at Ayfilon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis at Ayfilon

Address: Mersin 10, Dipkarpaz, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Dipkarpaz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Dipkarpaz
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Oasis At Ayfilon Cyprus/Dipkarpaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing