We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have just had a fantastic break with Carmen and Antonio. This is a beautiful place to stay set in olive groves, with a spectacular mountain backdrop. The breakfast was great, fresh and homemade, and we ate two dinners which were delicious. There was plenty of space for us to laze about and also interesting towns to visit nearby, including Granada an hour away. We highly recommend!

Tim & Caroline

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdlavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioOjedaS, Propietario at Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Sharing some days of relaxing holidays here with us has been a pleasure. We like you have enjoyed our traditional gastronomy, the towns and villages, the nice weather, the countryside with the olive groves we take care soo much to make our own organic oil. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 74 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Thank you Carmen and Antonio we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your outstanding property.
We enjoyed the care and attention you gave us during our recent visit. The tour of your property its olive groves, gardens, swimming pool and the historical information on Cortijo la Canada del Sacristan imparted your love for the area and the pride in what you have established. The breathtaking views of the the countryside offered the peace and relaxation we were looking for on our activity packed visit to Spain.

We stayed here for three days with other members of our family while on a two and a half week road trip around Spain. The accommodations were wonderful, with comfortable beds and all the amenities you could ask for. The food was excellent, either fresh from the garden or locally grown. We really enjoyed the organic olive oil from their own olive groves. We stayed for dinner at the cortijo and Antonio provided us with some absolutely delicious meals.

We hiked in El Torcal park, and visited Antequera and on Antonio's suggestion toured Villanueva del Rosario, Villanueva de Trabuco and Archidona. All of which were close by, in Archidona we were able to get up to the castle which was breath-taking. .

Thank you Carmen and Antonio,
We had a wonderful stay at your home and will remember it fondly for years to come.

We highly recommend that if you are in this area that you make it a must see and stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StampedeGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioOjedaS, Propietario at Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. You explain in it many of the activities and places it is possible to do and visit in the surroundings and you enjoyed so much. But next time, don´t forget the Alhambra, Maybe, it is a excuse to come back. We hope to see you again. We will always have a good memory of your stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Carmen and Antonio are superb hosts with an outstanding property. They have a well deserved pride of the Andalucía area that they live in. This Cortijo comprises a marvelous farmhouse with rooms to relax in with antiques in every niche. The property is surrounded by olive groves, gardens, swimming pool and breathtaking views of the the countryside.

We stayed here two days with our cousins and their spouses while on a two week road trip around Spain. The beds were wonderful, which we came to appreciate later in our travels. The food was always fresh and organic. Really enjoyed the organic olive oil from their own olive groves. We stayed for dinner at the cortijo and Antonio provided us with absolutely delicious meals. We were able to do some hiking in El Torcal park and touring some local towns in the area. All within easy reach of this home.

Thank you Carmen and Antonio,
We had a wonderful stay at your home which was the highlight of our trip.

Highly recommend this property.

Ed and Sharon, Calgary, Alberta, Can

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Can2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioOjedaS, Propietario at Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you so much. When we receive a review like yours we feel really proud of the work we do everyday to please our guests.
It makes us happy to know that you keep a good memory of your stay with us sharing intensely our traditions, our food, our music and our olive grove environment. We wish to see you
again here or in any other corner of the world,. We will always remember your stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I couldn't give a better recommendation to anyone wishing to take a break in Spain in the rural area of Andalucia. Antonio and Carmen were the perfect hosts and have an ideal getaway for a holiday where you can get away from it all. Peace and quiet of the rural setting of the Cortijo only matched by the quality of the accomodation and service. The hosts were warm and friendly and welcoming, they made us feel at home whilst staying there. We will definately return in the near future as these types of quality holidays make us more determined to come back.

We travelled around the are quite a bit whilst there and found its relatively central position to the area to be ideal for daily trips to the local tourist attractions. Plenty of things to see and do within easy travelling of the Cortijo.

Thanks Carmen and Antonio for making our holiday so nice.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room at this Coprtijo, its the host that makes your stay most enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioOjedaS, Propietario at Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your words. It has been really a plaisure to share some days with you in this small corner in the heart of Andalucia. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I spent five days last May 2012 at Corijo La Canada de Sacristan with my wife who was pregnant. It was wonderful : nice area (Andalusia), the house is ideally placed do discover the beauty of this region (at the intersection of both motorways Sevilla-Granada and Cordoba-Malaga: very practical).
The atmosphere is calm, with a swimming pool having a beautiful view to mountains and olive trees. The house is great and, last but not least, if you want to have your breakfast or dinner at the terrace, the owner is an amazing 5***** chef !
I highly recommend this place to relax in the pool, to eat excellent food and to enjoy visiting the area with in particular Granada (the best), Cordoba or the small city Ronda (magic !)
All the best from Paris, France
Jean-François and Myriam

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFROQUEFEUIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great country estate rents 4 rooms, we had a Jr Suite, awesome room, really great bathroom, balcony overlooking olive groves, pool, etc. The owners are extremely nice people, very cultured, they have moved form the North of Spain (San Sebastian) and have completely remodeled the property.

e aware, the road there is about 3 miles from the highway, but not a big deal when you make it twice or so.

Room Tip: Jr suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RostG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioOjedaS, Propietario at Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thanks a lot for your opinión. You are very kind even after the heavy rain we suffered during your stay. At last the optimism won and you enjoyed some days here with another point of view. Even, at last the sun appeared. We hope to see you again. We promise: with better weather and we will invite you to drink a lemonade in the terrace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Pros:

Very attractive cortijo. Location is the most quiet and relaxing you can imagine. Olive trees, mountains and animals. You hear nothing else but the wind, birds, dogs and horses. This is truly the country side.

Small and very charming place. Only 4 rooms. Great location for visiting the Torcal and Antequera.

Very attractive pool area with a small salt water pool. Luxurious sun beds and umbrellas. Olive trees, figues trees and flowers cover the garden.

Rooms are spacious, arounf 40 sqm, simply furnished. Bathroom is wonderful. No minibar or safe.

Breakfast is of very good quality although the quantities offered are small (i.e a couple of slices of cheese and ham). No eggs were offered.

Pool table and several books are offered.


Cons:

They charge you for everyhting here. Bread for dinner? Be prepared to pay 5 Euros per couple. Want an extra key card? They will charge you.

Dinner is good but portions are small. Prices are pretty high.

In the welcome broschure, the hotel owners list all of the things you are not allowed to do. Although they probably have good reasons, this gives sort of a unfriendly impression. Owners come across as correct and professional.

You have to decide exactly what you want for dinner before 12.00 the same day. If you missed to order anyhting (even if it's a starter or a dessert) or just changed your mind, tough luck - you won't be getting it for dinner. Although understandable that the owners which to cut their costs, this is not a very flexible approach. Also, they serve no lunch here.

This place is truly in the middle of nowhere. Be prepared to drive a lot. It's 10 minutes until you reach the highway. Villanueva del Rosario and del Trabuco are close but are small sleepy villages with hardly any restaurants or stores. The nearest decent restaurant is in Antequera (lovely city) 30 min drive away.

Pool area although great, will get too crowded and much less cosy if the hotel is full. If 1-2 rooms are occupied, then it's fine.

Pretty difficult to find, even with the instructions of the owners. Hardly any signs. Be prepared to give the owners a call.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biff-Maja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioOjedaS, Propietario at Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your review of our rural retreat, and apologies for any parts of your stay that were not to your liking.
Please allow us to reply to some of your points to give a fuller picture.
  Our menu is always posted to view and is sent to visitors before their trip so they can make their selections among the many choices, including bread (which is not sold at the price you noted).  Excellent nearby restaurants are also available to our visitors, about which we also inform them in advance.
It is worth noting that our keys are digitized cards and facilitate lower electricity consumption by turning off lights when no one is in the room; responsible use of natural resources is something we value highly.
Thank you for noting the simplicity of our rural retreat that guides us in how we live, and we reflect this in our decor, using antiques and works from some of the best artisans and artists in our country.
We always strive to have our guests feel like they are at home, and if they do not find something they desire, we always ask that they request it.  We are sorry if this was not your experience.
We are also sorry that you found the breakfast buffet wanting; we take great care to offer a wide variety of options on the breakfast table.  In fact, an American visitor recently posted a selection of photos of the buffet in Tripadvisor in order to capture the range and color of the fruit, pastries, cereals, cheeses, meats, biscuits, hand-made mermelades and cakes, butters, our organic olive oil, and other products.
Upon arrival, guests are offered access to an "honesty bar" stocked with a number of different snacks and beverages instead of individual room-based minibars.
We run a small, family-style inn.  There are four rooms, along with other amentities (pool, gardens, etc.) and a menu with twenty different entrees (rather unusual for this scale of accomodation).  The restaurant is only avaiable to guests of the rural retreat and we strive to take great care in preparing and presenting each meal.  The variety and quality of our menu is something that our visitors frequently note with appreciation.
We have traveled frequently ourselves and understand the value of what we offer; we strive to offer the same experience that we expect when travelling (and we have high expectations).  We are always open to new ideas and suggestion and hope that our guests will fill out our visitor suggestions card in order to help us continue to improve service.
We appreciate your comments and hope you will return soon for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villanueva del Rosario
11.1 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
9.0 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
867 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cortijo Sabila
Cortijo Sabila
#1 of 4 in Villanueva del Rosario
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Finca Los Pinos Guesthouse
Finca Los Pinos Guesthouse
#2 of 4 in Villanueva del Rosario
149 reviews
4.3 mi away
Almohalla 51
Almohalla 51
#1 of 6 in Archidona
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan

Address: Paraje El Brosque | Bateria 3 Buzón 13, 29312 Villanueva del Rosario, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Villanueva del Rosario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Villanueva del Rosario
Price Range: $86 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Romantic restoration from a XIX century cortijo -traditional andalusian farmhouse- situated in the heart of Andalusia, region of Antequera (Málaga) and perfectly placed for access to the most beautiful places in the south of Spain. A charming rural house located in a property of 18 acres of organic olive trees culture and Mediterranean forest, for people who yearn the silence and comfort of the country life; an intimate, elegant and informal rural accommodation; a traditional and well looked after cuisine; activities, excursions, and a warm, discreet and professional service.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing