We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I spent five days last May 2012 at Corijo La Canada de Sacristan with my wife who was pregnant. It was wonderful : nice area (Andalusia), the house is ideally placed do discover the beauty of this region (at the intersection of both motorways Sevilla-Granada and Cordoba-Malaga: very practical).
The atmosphere is calm, with a swimming pool having a beautiful view to mountains and olive trees. The house is great and, last but not least, if you want to have your breakfast or dinner at the terrace, the owner is an amazing 5***** chef !
I highly recommend this place to relax in the pool, to eat excellent food and to enjoy visiting the area with in particular Granada (the best), Cordoba or the small city Ronda (magic !)
All the best from Paris, France
Jean-François and Myriam

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFROQUEFEUIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 72 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great country estate rents 4 rooms, we had a Jr Suite, awesome room, really great bathroom, balcony overlooking olive groves, pool, etc. The owners are extremely nice people, very cultured, they have moved form the North of Spain (San Sebastian) and have completely remodeled the property.

e aware, the road there is about 3 miles from the highway, but not a big deal when you make it twice or so.

Room Tip: Jr suite :)
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RostG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioOjedaS, Propietario at Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thanks a lot for your opinión. You are very kind even after the heavy rain we suffered during your stay. At last the optimism won and you enjoyed some days here with another point of view. Even, at last the sun appeared. We hope to see you again. We promise: with better weather and we will invite you to drink a lemonade in the terrace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Pros:

Very attractive cortijo. Location is the most quiet and relaxing you can imagine. Olive trees, mountains and animals. You hear nothing else but the wind, birds, dogs and horses. This is truly the country side.

Small and very charming place. Only 4 rooms. Great location for visiting the Torcal and Antequera.

Very attractive pool area with a small salt water pool. Luxurious sun beds and umbrellas. Olive trees, figues trees and flowers cover the garden.

Rooms are spacious, arounf 40 sqm, simply furnished. Bathroom is wonderful. No minibar or safe.

Breakfast is of very good quality although the quantities offered are small (i.e a couple of slices of cheese and ham). No eggs were offered.

Pool table and several books are offered.


Cons:

They charge you for everyhting here. Bread for dinner? Be prepared to pay 5 Euros per couple. Want an extra key card? They will charge you.

Dinner is good but portions are small. Prices are pretty high.

In the welcome broschure, the hotel owners list all of the things you are not allowed to do. Although they probably have good reasons, this gives sort of a unfriendly impression. Owners come across as correct and professional.

You have to decide exactly what you want for dinner before 12.00 the same day. If you missed to order anyhting (even if it's a starter or a dessert) or just changed your mind, tough luck - you won't be getting it for dinner. Although understandable that the owners which to cut their costs, this is not a very flexible approach. Also, they serve no lunch here.

This place is truly in the middle of nowhere. Be prepared to drive a lot. It's 10 minutes until you reach the highway. Villanueva del Rosario and del Trabuco are close but are small sleepy villages with hardly any restaurants or stores. The nearest decent restaurant is in Antequera (lovely city) 30 min drive away.

Pool area although great, will get too crowded and much less cosy if the hotel is full. If 1-2 rooms are occupied, then it's fine.

Pretty difficult to find, even with the instructions of the owners. Hardly any signs. Be prepared to give the owners a call.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biff-Maja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioOjedaS, Propietario at Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your review of our rural retreat, and apologies for any parts of your stay that were not to your liking.
Please allow us to reply to some of your points to give a fuller picture.
  Our menu is always posted to view and is sent to visitors before their trip so they can make their selections among the many choices, including bread (which is not sold at the price you noted).  Excellent nearby restaurants are also available to our visitors, about which we also inform them in advance.
It is worth noting that our keys are digitized cards and facilitate lower electricity consumption by turning off lights when no one is in the room; responsible use of natural resources is something we value highly.
Thank you for noting the simplicity of our rural retreat that guides us in how we live, and we reflect this in our decor, using antiques and works from some of the best artisans and artists in our country.
We always strive to have our guests feel like they are at home, and if they do not find something they desire, we always ask that they request it.  We are sorry if this was not your experience.
We are also sorry that you found the breakfast buffet wanting; we take great care to offer a wide variety of options on the breakfast table.  In fact, an American visitor recently posted a selection of photos of the buffet in Tripadvisor in order to capture the range and color of the fruit, pastries, cereals, cheeses, meats, biscuits, hand-made mermelades and cakes, butters, our organic olive oil, and other products.
Upon arrival, guests are offered access to an "honesty bar" stocked with a number of different snacks and beverages instead of individual room-based minibars.
We run a small, family-style inn.  There are four rooms, along with other amentities (pool, gardens, etc.) and a menu with twenty different entrees (rather unusual for this scale of accomodation).  The restaurant is only avaiable to guests of the rural retreat and we strive to take great care in preparing and presenting each meal.  The variety and quality of our menu is something that our visitors frequently note with appreciation.
We have traveled frequently ourselves and understand the value of what we offer; we strive to offer the same experience that we expect when travelling (and we have high expectations).  We are always open to new ideas and suggestion and hope that our guests will fill out our visitor suggestions card in order to help us continue to improve service.
We appreciate your comments and hope you will return soon for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I cannot rate this cortijo highly enough and I say "ditto" to all the compliments given by other guests. The views, accomodations, friendly service, and meals can be summed up with one word "exquisito." After sightseeing in tourist crowded cities, it is here that my body and spirit were restored. Definitely the highlight in my trip to Andalucia! Thank you, Maria Carmen & Antonio, for generously sharing your lovely home.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank travelbuddy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioOjedaS, Propietario at Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely words. Sharing the time with people like you makes our hard job easier and really nice. We are looking forward to seeing you soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A friend and I are at our last night here and can't say enough great things about this beautiful home, the owners, the wonderful care and first class dinners prepared by Antonio. It far exceeded my expectations and is a highlight of my trip to Andalucia. Carmen gives good directions and you will not want to leave these two very special people and the surrounding area that will do wonders for your spirit.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExploringCultures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioOjedaS, Propietario at Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you very much for your opinion. It was a pleasure to share our accommodation with you. We will always remember that good time we spent in our first BBQ. We think it will be a success for our future guests. We are looking forward to hearing from you soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Gorgeously restored farmhouse nestled amid olive and fruit trees -- the cortijo is situated in the stunningly beautiful countryside of Andalucía. MariCarmen & Antonio's lovely touches and excellent taste ensure that every detail counts. But all is very comfortable and welcoming, too, whether lounging poolside with distant views of the stunning "El Torcal" park, strolling the property, or sampling treats each morning from their ample breakfast spread on the terrace. Loads of great daytrip options and adventures are nearby. Worth booking a dinner for at least one night of the stay; each is prepared by Antonio with great care and skill.

Room Tip: viewed all four -- each is really charming and nicely proportioned, with its own ensuite bathrooms o...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RevaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canadadelsacristan, Propietario at Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your opinion.
It was really a pleasure for us to share some days with you.
Your illusion to take part in any activity and your interest in our costumes, traditions, gastronomy and environment made us enjoy every moment.
We always keep a good memory of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Beautiful house, stunning location and lovely hosts. Cortijo la Canada is a fantastic place to get away from it all. It is blissfully quiet and peaceful. The surrounding area is just gorgeous. It's amazing to think that you are so close to the highway and the convenience of Malaga city & airport. The food and wine are first class. In fact we assumed that Antonio was a trained chef but when we asked him he simply said that cooking is his passion. Can't argue with that - it is! Fabulous. A very special place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask Antonio - all have amazing views
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villanueva del Rosario
11.1 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
6.3 mi away
Hotel Los Dolmenes
Hotel Los Dolmenes
#6 of 15 in Antequera
179 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
8.4 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
782 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cortijo Sabila
Cortijo Sabila
#1 of 4 in Villanueva del Rosario
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan

Address: Paraje El Brosque | Bateria 3 Buzón 13, 29312 Villanueva del Rosario, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Villanueva del Rosario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Villanueva del Rosario
Price Range: $135 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Romantic restoration from a XIX century cortijo -traditional andalusian farmhouse- situated in the heart of Andalusia, region of Antequera (Málaga) and perfectly placed for access to the most beautiful places in the south of Spain. A charming rural house located in a property of 18 acres of organic olive trees culture and Mediterranean forest, for people who yearn the silence and comfort of the country life; an intimate, elegant and informal rural accommodation; a traditional and well looked after cuisine; activities, excursions, and a warm, discreet and professional service.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing