We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful break away.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westwood House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Had a lovely 3 night stay in the Westwood. Will definitely be going again!!! There was a different debs there each of the 3 nights and I can say that you woldn't know there was anything on in the hotel.
I'm not sure when I have ever met staff that were so helpful and cheerful - a joy!!!

The last day we decided to get breakfast delivered to the room so we filled in the form the night before......thought we had filled in the form for 9:30, next morning no sign of brekkie....at 10 I called reception said she would look into it, at 10:20 we phoned again and said we were going down fo breakfast. We didn't mind we just didn't want to miss our breakfast. Anyway, it turned out we had filled in the form for it to be delivered from 10:30 - 11. I felt so bad......but they seemed to laugh of our mistake.....truly wonderful staff:-)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbolMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

831 - 837 of 937 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2009

stayed recently for a family wedding what can i say the biggest compliment i can give this amazing hotel from staff too rooms and food and how clean the hotel is my wife didnt complain once about anything and believe me that says alot thank you westwood staff for a great weekend again and hope too stay soon again

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Myself, my wife, wife's sister and her husband vacationed in Ireland from August 24th to September 1st .
None of us had ever visited Ireland before and I relied on Tripadvisor to help me choose and book the hotels we stayed in during our trip. My trust was not misplaced, the Westwood was our hotel in Galway and I booked 2 double rooms including full breakfast for E107 per room. Excellent hotel, excellent value.
These are the comments I submitted in response to an online customer satisfaction survey.....
" We only stayed one night but found it to be a very pleasant experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms and common areas were 1st class. We found the walk into town to be a little long and boring but the location was still probably better than booking into a hotel in the city centre as parking was no problem (and free) and we avoided the downtown traffic."

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leodensian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

stayed at the westwood for three nights with husband and children we found it a charming hotel the staff were great nothing too much trouble the iron wasnt working in the room within minutes it was sorted the food was lovely most breakfasts in irish hotels are terrible but the westwood breakfast was a grilled breakfast the hotel isnt modern lots of timber its charming and comfortable the only down side was the beds they were hard and was the pillows i requested a soft pillow and it was delivered in minutes the air condidtioning was great kept us cool at night overall a great hotel and we will be back

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Having been let down badly by another hotel , we arrived tired , wet and fed up to the Westwood. Where all our needs and requests were attended to by a very courteous , friendly and knowledgable staff . Rooms were beautiful, immaculate and very well appointed. We dined each morning in the lovelie bright dining room where all dietary needs were ably attended to and usually dined in the bar in the evening after our outings. All staff , we found to be very helpfull and excellent in their manner and execution of their various jobs. Without doubt our next trip to Galway will be to the Westwood.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAUSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Had our wedding reception here and although it was great and loads of guests commented on same I was very disappointed that the bridal suite had 2 single beds - HELLO! It was very late by the time we noticed this and I was annoyed at myself for not saying something the next day but what was the point?
If Westwood management read this please don't make newlyweds spend their first night as a married couple sleep in 2 single beds after spending so much money in your hotel.
Otherwise the hotel was faultless and a perfect wedding venue.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moncai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

we stayed with CIE and was very impressed with the regulars locals and we loved the room plan on staying again. it was Easter Sunday and the food was great

Stayed: April 2006
Thank pmpctc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangan
2.6 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
6.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,130 reviews
2.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
376 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,040 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Hotel

Address: | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Dangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Price Range: $74 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the University District of Galway and nestled amidst a rural landscape of greenery, the 4 star Westwood Hotel is ideally positioned only minutes from the city centre and Salthill while also being an ideal base to tour the beauty of Connemara.At the Westwood we seek to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing