We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Pub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westwood House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Certificate of Excellence
Flordia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pub”
Reviewed August 12, 2009

we stayed with CIE and was very impressed with the regulars locals and we loved the room plan on staying again. it was Easter Sunday and the food was great

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
Thank pmpctc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    280
    96
    35
    21
See reviews for
247
346
23
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Really nice hotel, got upgraded to a superior suite on arrival, and the staff couldn't be more helpful, even charged my phone when it died as I had forgotten my charger.

The room was huge, massive bed, flatscreen tv, large bathroom with power shower, everything you wanted. Breakfast the following morning was brilliant, continental or irish as the choice, with plenty of the plate, and freshly cooked

All in all a really top hotel in a lovely part of Ireland, small bit out from the city centre, but its literally a 10 min drive to Eyre Sq, or the buses run right beside the hotel - Highly Recommended

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irljs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our property. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westwood on your next trip to Galway.

Kind regards,
Dave Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Went with my husband, 3 kids between 7 and 3 & parents in law. They gave us ajoining rooms which was great (although I know the grandparents could hear the kids through the 2 doors!). We dragged in a fold up bed from the 2nd room, so all 5 of us fitted in one room whch was fun!
Dinner & breakfasts in the restaurant were great - other families there too. Kids loved the pancakes!
Didn't spend much time hanging round - only disadvantage was there is no grassy area / space to play outside for kids. Besides that, loved it!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank aseast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. I am delighted that you and your extended family enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the chefs pancakes! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on some future date.

Kind regards,
Dave Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This is a very good hotel and certainly lives up to its 4 star rating. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food excellent. Couldn't find a fault.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

My wife and I stayed in the Westwood House hotel from3/8/09 till the 6/8/09 and everything was brill. Nice surroundings, good staff very helpful, and a 20 minute walk to the centre of Galway. Bedroom was nice, bed was amazing you could have slept four on it. My wife and I will use this hotel when in Galway again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glynnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

The hotel was absolutely gorgeous..definitely the nicest place I've ever stayed.lovely decor, spacious rooms and bathroom and the breakfast was brilliant - great choice on breakfast menu - big fried breakfast, pancakes or even grilled fish! and the buffet was well stocked with dfferent juices and fruits. The staff were welcoming and friendly, and there was plenty of parking. Only negative thing I can say is that it was a good walk from the city but you can get taxi's booked from reception and they come very promptly - wihin 5 minutes. Doesn't have a leisure centre on site, but there is a leisure centre within walking distance - about 15 mins walk away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blathin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

We had a family gathering at the Westwood last weekend (a surprise 40th wedding anniversary). Family dinner for 14 in the main restaurant followed by a private party for 50 people in the upstairs bar later on.

Dinner in the restaurant was perfect and without doubt the best value for money (Summer Special) I have ever experienced in Ireland !! The food was excellent (especially the chowder and the steak!) and the service staff were very friendly, unobtrusive and very professional.

The party later on was a total success. Again, the staff were most helpful and many of the guests commented especially on the friendliness of the barman. The finger food was plentiful and very tasty and the party-room itself was perfect.

A few of our guests also stayed in the hotel. The rooms that I saw were beautifully decorated and had lots of space. The breakfast was also highly praised afterwards.

Excellent all around ! We can’t recommend this hotel more ! I have worked in the hotel industry (in Germany) all my life - so can very much appreciate the hard work it takes to make a client so happy. Therefore, a very big "well done" to the management and all the staff here !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenandaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangan
2.6 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
2.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Hotel

Property: Westwood House Hotel
Address: | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Dangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the University District of Galway and nestled amidst a rural landscape of greenery, the 4 star Westwood Hotel is ideally positioned only minutes from the city centre and Salthill while also being an ideal base to tour the beauty of Connemara.At the Westwood we seek to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Westwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing