We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy days” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westwood House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Westwood House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Certificate of Excellence
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Happy days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Four of us oldies had a great couple of days in this hotel, we found the staff efficient and very pleasant, the rooms and the bed in particular very comfortable, and the room staff excellent. We will be back later in the year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AineN34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear AineN34,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I was delighted you picked up on the Accommodation team here. Some of our unsung heroes that help in giving the warm welcome that we try to give everyone.

I look forward to your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    269
    95
    35
    21
See reviews for
242
341
23
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Traveling with a group of 30 from my church, we made the rounds through Ireland in 10 days. Our stop in Galway was made especially special because we had hotel accommodations at the Westwood House Hotel. Very comfortable rooms with all the nice toiletries one could wish for. Spacious rooms, very good television, etc. Dinner was provided at the hotel for our tour group. We were not disappointed. Very nice selection. Good service; good people; good night's sleep. What more can we ask for?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisAnderson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Krisanderson60,

I was trilled to read your wonderful review. As you said with the great team we have hear and the excellent facilities and food, what more could you ask for. I remember your group very well and I am delighted and grateful you took the time to write your review. I hope we will see you and your group soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and myself stayed here for a weekend. We also stayed recently in a 5star hotel. And I have to admit The Westwood is far superior. The quality of service was by far better. The room was of a very high standard. The food was outstanding. Yes it only holds 4star status but it was so much better than the 5star hotel we stayed in. I would heartily recommend it to anyone and I'm looking forward to staying at The Westwood again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My boyfriend & I recently stayed in the Westwood for a night. We have stayed here previously and find the amenities to be good for the price and the staff have always been very efficient and helpful.

There was no room service menu in our room so we called down to reception to get one. A while later we got a call from reception to say there was a Menu in our room information folder. We explained that we had checked there before calling down to reception so she said she'd get a porter to drop a menu up to us as soon as possible. We were left waiting so long we had to phone down again to see if they'd forgotten about us! The receptionist apologised and said that she was new and they were run off their feet. This was a Sunday evening and as far as I was aware there was no function being held so that wasn't a very satisfactory excuse. When the menu finally arrived we placed our order and got a call some time later to say that one of the items we ordered wasn't available. At this stage I just wanted to phone dominos and order a pizza!

The food took ages to arrive and the quality really wasn't great.

All members of staff we encountered were genuinely apologetic and it obviously wasn't the end of the world but it did leave a sour taste in our mouths which is a pity as we had booked the Westwood based on previous good experience and I really doubt we will stay here again.

I thought it would have been a nice gesture to offer us a discount on our final bill (we spent €52 on room service which I would consider to be a significant amount for a one night stay) but we just got another apology.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmacDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear cmacDublin,

I would firstly like to once again sincerely apologise for what is a very simple procedure and one we do well every other day. I have no excuses but to insist that it was a once off and that as your past experience has proven that your experience is not the norm.

I am glad that the team here were genuinely apologetic. I would like to ask you to email me privately on generalmanager@westwoodhousehotel.com and allow me to apologise in person as well as compensating you in some way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Wexford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

My Mother and i stayed here over the Easter weekend and overall had a very pleasant stay. The staff were very friendly & efficient, the food in the restaurant was very good as was the breakfast. The only complaint was the air conditioning was not working properly in the room making it hot & stuffy. When we came back in the evening we had to put in on full blast which was noisy and had to keep it on low all night, other than that the room was large, as was the bathroom and spotless.
I would recommend this hotel but I hope they get their air conditioning sorted out!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyCoWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed for two nights over Easter for a family wedding. The outside was a bit off-putting (in a delicate shade of tangerine!) but inside was lovely and the staff were very friendly. We had a deluxe double room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet. The room was clean and the bed was very comfy. The heat in both the hotel room and the public areas of the hotel was verging on sauna-like while we were there. The room air conditioning was noisy and inefficient. The meal at the wedding reception was lovely. Considering it was mass catering it was served warm by efficient and friendly wait staff and was very tasty. Breakfast was also a big plus with a good range of hot food that could be prepared to order as well as some very nice buffet options (and fabulous pastries!). Key Cards kept losing their programming which was a bit frustrating but all in all it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Angelnet,

Thank you for sending in such a lovely and honest review. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience while attending a wedding. We take great pride in providing a warm and friendly service as well as one of the best wedding this side of the River Shannon.
I have passed on your review to all the team here with my thanks and I hope the next time you are in Galway you will consider staying with us again.
Thank you again for your review and I look forward to meeting you the next time you are back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Westwood House Hotel on May Bank Holiday weekend. I was really looking forward to our stay. On arrival I thought the hotel looked nice. However, our greeting was underwhelming and the lady at reception was by no means overly welcoming. I thought this was poor behaviour for a 4 star hotel. Our room was very nice and had been well cleaned by the accommodation staff. It was spacious and bright and had all the facilities of a 4 star hotel.
On the first night we ate in the Westwood Bar, the service and food were great and the waitress with the blonde hair was fantastic. One major problem we encountered was when we went to our room that night we were greeted by extremely loud music from the wedding downstairs. Our room was over the functions area so it was hard to hear anything else. We were not part of the wedding party so it was very annoying. At half 11 at night I rang reception to enquire about the noise level and I was told the band would be playing until half 1 that night. The receptionist told me that there was no other room available and that people who are not part of the wedding are placed on the second floor, however we were on the first floor. The lady at reception was not very helpful at all. Eventually the noise died down.
On departure, once again, the service at reception was not what we were expecting. We got an "okay, thank you" no apology for the noise, or if we enjoyed our stay.

Overall the hotel itself is lovely and relaxing, the bar is great (drink prices a bit dear), but the service at reception does not meet that of a four star hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor if there is a function.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Aine O,

i would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I would also like to apologise for experience you had with us here in the Westwood. As seen from other reviews we take great pride in providing a welcoming and friendly service. There is no excuse for how my receptionist acted and I have spoken to the front office team in relation to this.
I would also like to apologise for the loud music. While it is always our intention to but non wedding guests to a quieter area of the hotel there are times we miss some rooms. This is by no means an excuse and I am deeply sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced.
I am also happy that you had some good experiences here in the Westwood. I have passed on the compliments to the Kitchen and the Bar team in relation to your review also. Thank you
If you are ever back in Galway please feel free to contact me personally at generalmanager@westwoodhousehotel.com and I would be delighted to look after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangan
1.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
2.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
4.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Hotel

Property: Westwood House Hotel
Address: | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Dangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the University District of Galway and nestled amidst a rural landscape of greenery, the 4 star Westwood Hotel is ideally positioned only minutes from the city centre and Salthill while also being an ideal base to tour the beauty of Connemara.At the Westwood we seek to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Westwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing