We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westwood House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Certificate of Excellence
Ennis, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here a few times and it has been 100% consistant. Fantastic staff with great food. The rooms are perfect and immacuate. I have stayed here for weddings and business and on both sides of the scale I can not recommend this place highly enough. It may be a little walk into the city...but its more than worth it!

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurrayEdwina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    287
    103
    38
    22
See reviews for
259
356
23
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My family stayed three nights and found the hotel to be clean, comfortable, meeting all our needs. We arrived after a transatlantic flight and nervous rookie drive on the left side of the road. There was a wedding reception going on, but we found peace and quiet in one of the Family rooms. The room was clean, stocked and ready for my family of 4 (2 teens). We were expecting a tight fit, but the room was spacious and there was plenty of navigating space. The hotel restaurant was good and we found the entire staff to be helpful and friendly, eager to please. The location was slightly out of the city, but was a great launching point to go up to Connemara for the day. City was very short drive or less than 10 euro taxi. Parking was limited the night of the wedding, but available. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buck5465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashel
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We recently stayed once again at the Westwood Hotel in Galway. This is a really nice and relaxing place to stay our room was very comfortable and unlike a lot of hotels beds we have slept on it was huge and so cosy!
The staff are fantastic here each one nicer than the other and couldn't do enough to help you. The food in the bar is really good and a nice selection. The only negative was the breakfast and as every thing else about the hotel is so good this was so bad so much so that we cancelled the remaining breakfasts we had ordered for our other 2 days. There was no excuse for it as there were only four other people in the dining room. I ordered a vegetarian breakfast and after a long wait out came a full Irish then after another very long long wait out came the burnt offering I had expected sauteed potatoes, tomatoes, mushrooms et al well it seems like everything was lopped into the deep fat fryer and what should have been sauteed potatoes was economy wedges for want of a better description which were burnt as was every thing else I it was inedible so I sent it back "would you like anything else came the reply" mmm not likely !!! I did complain at the desk but naturally heard no more. I would stay again but definately without breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Having had a fantastic experience for our wedding reception in Nov 2010, we decided to return to the Westwood for our baby's christening in Feb 2014...we had high expectations and yet again these were exceeded! All staff we encountered were again efficient, friendly and helpful. They provided finger food and tea and coffee free of charge! The quality and quantity of the food was very impressive, this included sandwiches, chicken goujons, potato wedges and samosas. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Edel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

we stayed with a 2 & 5 yr old in oct 13 as part of a Halloween package, we got a bargain the hotel staff we so nice and so so helpful with everything, very kid orientated.

I couldn't say anything bad about the hotel it self and will for sure visit again!maybe only downfall is its quite a pain to get in and out to the city center! I didn't visit the pool or gym so i cant comment but i think they were away from the hotel in a different building

ps beds were so comfy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scunnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Very impressed at location and great value. Checked in late and getting room service for food no problem from friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was top class with great service. Superiour rooms very nice with lots of room. Will stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Oisin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at the Westwood for a wedding and had an amazing experience. The meal on the eve of the wedding was very good but have to say the wedding meal was terrific we were amazed to be offered more Sea Bass if we wanted.
The staff were very helpful ,courteous and friendly could not have wished for more. Loved the open fire in the dining room on a cold winters day it created a special atmosphere

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaiseyMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangan
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,701 reviews
2.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,121 reviews
2.6 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,094 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,921 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Hotel

Property: Westwood House Hotel
Address: | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Dangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the University District of Galway and nestled amidst a rural landscape of greenery, the 4 star Westwood Hotel is ideally positioned only minutes from the city centre and Salthill while also being an ideal base to tour the beauty of Connemara.At the Westwood we seek to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing