We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westwood House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed here with my family for one night and we really enjoyed ourselves. The staff were very friendly and efficient, especially the nice lady on the front desk who checked us in. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. We didn't have dinner in the hotel but we did have some very tasty desserts and coffee in the hotel bar. The hotel itself is located a less than 10 minute journey by car from Galway's City Centre which is ideal. My sister and I took a taxi back from the city to the hotel and it only cost €8. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Jen S,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here with us at The Westwood.

I was delighted to read how you enjoyed your time here, in particular our deserts, and how our location suited you. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    282
    101
    35
    21
See reviews for
253
349
23
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I had bar food at the westwood bar on sept 14th. i ordered chicken goujons and chips. it was 8.95euro on the menu. I was shocked to see 3 yes 3 goujons on the plate with a small bucket of chips 12 in total!!!!!! there was no side salad either. in fairness the goujons were tasty but does the westwood think this little of their customers!!!! I left the place still very hungry. Come on whats next!!!!! i know this is a country in recession but 3 goujons is ridiculous!!!!!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear ShaneC,

Thank you for your recent review. The dish which you describe is listed in our "lite bites" section of the menu on which all items are offered at under €9.00 for 1 person. The Full Portion of Goujons and Chips is also available to order at the Full Portion price from the Evening Menu or upon request during daytime hours. Side Salad is not advertised or given with this "lite bite" option. The Fries that accompany this dish are "Homemade Chunky Fries" and thus larger than French Fries. This menu section id designed for those looking for a snack rather than main meal and the price reflects this at under €9.00 including VAT etc. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed them.

Kind regards,
Dave Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived tired and stressed from diving on the narrow roads of Dingle peninsula. After much searching for the Westwood- no fault of the Hotel- we were delighted for the quiet and calm of the Westwood. Not wanting to get out in the car again, we stayed and ate dinner in the bar. It was a good dinner with friendly and good service. The receptionist was extremely helpful in planning our time in the Galway area. The rooms were clean and spacious. My only criticism would be the lighting. The reading lights by the beds were not bright enough for us. But, that was minor with the wonderful service, room service breakfasts and friendly reception by the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfk4466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear wfk4466,

Thank you for your review of your stay in The Westwood.

I have taken on board your comments in relation to our reading lights in the bedrooms and we are now looking to have these upgraded.

Your comments in relation to the rest of your experience here are very kind indeed and I have passed them on to all the team here.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We booked for one night and when we arrived the computer system had just crashed. However when the very friendly girl at reception .. Amy was her name ...could not get us checked in immediately she brought us to the bar for drinks while the problem was solved . She soon returned with our room sorted .She even gave us an Upgrade!
We ate good food in the Bar that evening and again we were really impressed with the service
Breakfast was great and again the service was very friendly and efficient
This is a very good hotel giving excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Des L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Des L,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here with us at The Wstwood.

Yes indeed we did have some computer issues at the time of your checkin, however I was delighted to read how happy you were with our service and help while the issue was being resolved. Your comments regarding our bar and food are also very kind and have been passed on to all the team here.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here as a couple last weekend for one night, the first thing that impressed us was the kindness and the efficiency of the reception staff, our room was beautiful, clean and spacious, we had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent, generous portions at reasonable prices the staff again friendly and provided great service, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will definitely back again

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Martina H,

Thank you for your review of The Westwood.

I was delighted to read how you enjoyed our rooms and our food, and in particular how helpfull and friendly you found our staff. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We arrived to find we had to park in a disabled car park as the hotel was catering for a wedding and the guests had used all other available car parks. The wedding guests were also being served canapés in the lobby; booking in we felt like we were intruding on the private function, which I suppose we were to an extent.

The hotel is not within walking distance to town (about a 10 minute drive), so we ate dinner at the bistro. Great food, but quite pricey for what it was.

The room itself was a standard triple, and the bathroom was largish. But the carpet was in need of a good clean, with lots of stains on it. The water pressure in the shower was sporadic to say the least. The robe/towel hook on the back of the bathroom door was crooked and appeared to be falling off.

But the worst part of the stay was the fact that even though we were staying with a 2 year old, and were not part of the wedding guests, we were still placed in a room directly above the function area. This was fine until the band started to play at 10pm, and continued to be ok until it was after midnight with no chance of the music stopping or getting quieter. The acoustics must be good in the function room, because we were on level 2 and it sounded like we were at the wedding.

We didn't call down to reception to ask them to have the music turned down, partly because it was a band playing, and you can't really "turn down" drums. Yes the other instruments and mic may have been turned down, but not the drums. And partly because when we had tried to call reception about 6pm to get the wifi password, we rang 4 times over a period of 15 minutes, with no answer. We ended up going down stairs to get the access code, and waited in the hallway near the lifts while the wedding guests were still receiving canapés in the lobby, before finally getting sick of waiting and approaching the desk for the password.

The noise from the wedding finally stopped about 3:30am!! We know this because at 3:15am we were awake with our daughter, listening to the wedding guests talking/shouting on the microphone. Does this hotel not have an events/function manager that oversees the running of these events? Is it considered appropriate to allow this noise to continue at this time of the morning?

When we complained in the morning, the duty manager we spoke to, Amy, was polite and tried to be accommodating, but could do nothing to amend the situation. We could not be offered a complimentary breakfast, a discount on our room, nothing. Why? Because we had prepaid our account, something a lot of overseas travellers do. If we had not prepaid, we would have been given a complimentary breakfast. Yes, they are not receiving our cash today, but they will be receiving it from the booking agent. So why not refund us the price of breakfast in cash?

Very disappointing stay, with next to no sleep and a long drive to Belfast the following morning. Not worth the price tag for the location, or the service. We understand that the wedding party would have paid a hefty price, but they should not be given priority over other guests, especially at 3 am. This is still a hotel, that needs to cater for its over night guests as much as it does its wedding parties.

If you do stay, check your room location in proximity to any functions being held, and don't prepay the booking!

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the function centre if there is a function on
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTravellers8482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear AussieTravellers,

Thank you for your recent review of The Westwood. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your evening meal and was genuinely surprised to read that you found us quite pricey as the good value that we offer is often commented upon in these reviews.

I was of course dissapointed to read your comments in relation to the carpet in your room being stained. Carpet cleaning is scheduled for the coming week with our local contractor and the issue of the water pressure and robe hook will be addressed on foot of your comments also.

Your room (210) was allocated on the second floor and is not a room that is normally associated with noise disturbance and I apologise that this was the case on the night of your stay. We are always mindful of room allocations on the night of a Wedding Reception to avoid any such issues. The music and amplification finished just after 2.00am on the night.

Your room was booked through a travel agency and thus pre-paid which did limit the options in relation to recompense for your distrubed nights stay. Amy has explained to me that as you were visiting from Australia she did not feel that the offer of future credit with us was an option for her on the morning and indeed as Breakfast was included in your room booking neither was the offer of it being provided complimentary. It is not company policy to refund monies in advance of us being paid ourselves for goods and services.

Thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Dave Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curragh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed one night in the Westwood Hotel and we would have loved to have stayed longer. We requested to be moved from a room near the air conditioning fan and this was done without any trouble. The staff of the hotel were at all times friendly and efficient. Certainly excellent value for money and a good location for Shopping and Salthill

Room Tip: Look out for the rooms near air conditioning unit as I am sure they would be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 896marcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear 896marcella,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at The Westwood.

I was delighted to read how you enjoyed your stay, and how we were able to facilitate your room change. We look forward to being able to take care of you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Davuid Kelly.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangan
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
2.6 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,984 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.3 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Hotel

Property: Westwood House Hotel
Address: | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Dangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the University District of Galway and nestled amidst a rural landscape of greenery, the 4 star Westwood Hotel is ideally positioned only minutes from the city centre and Salthill while also being an ideal base to tour the beauty of Connemara.At the Westwood we seek to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Westwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing