We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are so glad we found Il Ciocco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We are on our second visit to this hotel and were worried that it might not be as good as our first stay but it has exceeded our expectations. The views are just amazing, the staff are just superb and we really can find no fault with it. We ate in the Le Salette restaurant in the hotel, the meal was fantastic and the staff were great.

It is just so comfortable here and we are already planning our next visit.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We've stayed here for one night only, and during this short stay we've encountered nothing but superb facilities and service.
It's been part of our honeymoon trip and we were welcomed with a lovely fruit plate.
I can't see myself spending weeks here simply because it's in miles distance to the closest civilization, but that's part of it's charm.

Room Tip: Treat yourself with an upgrade to a room with a view. This amazing place is to be fully enjoyed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at this resort for a portion of our Italy trip and it was fantastic! The hotel is beautiful as well as the rooms and of course the views and mountain setting are amazing. The staff is so friendly and helped us plan out every outing and event while we were there. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 818travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

After coming from Bordeaux and Florence, it took us a day or so to adjust to life in Tuscany at the Renaissance. The pace is laid back, the views are spectacular (don't worry, even if you have a room without a valley view you can still enjoy the vista from the pool, restaurant or other locations). Indoors, there are lounges and lobbies with large fireplaces and ample comfortable seating.

In the room - The usual excellent Renaissance bedding and overall quality. Generous supply of bath products and nice thick towels. Rooms are spotless and well cared for, dark woodwork, marble floors and quality furnishings. Rooms have small refrigerators with space for your own food. Coffee in room, iron and blow dryer, robes and slippers. Some rooms are smaller yet have a terrace, and excellent for a solo guest (most 900 rooms for instance are better for solo than couples I think). We are now in 316 and this section has exceptional views as well as terraces. Not a lot of wind so you can actually enjoy sitting out even if it's a cool evening. We didn't have a much room to room noise, walls and windows are well insulated.

This location can be hard to find, I highly recommend GPS or contact the hotel for explicit directions rather than relying on maps. It's not hard once you understand the key milestones. The locals know it as il Ciocco (pronounced something like ill chocko) in case you need to ask directions.

The staff has been fantastic, from helping us find a perfect local restaurant in Barga, to advising on day trips, to covering every request we've had. Antonia and Achilles in particular were very guest focused and deserve a special note in making our anniversary trip special.

Breakfast buffet may be included, and is a nice, typical Marriott complete spread. If not included in your rate, it might seem a bit expensive and you can run into Barga for pastries and coffee. The dinners we had on site were good, not spectacular, and somewhere between reasonably and higher priced as you’d expect at a hotel.

The spa, if included in your rate, is a lot of fun - a very warm pool 31 C, sauna and steam, and a 'people car wash' called the wasser paradise where you walk through a series of cool, warm, hot, cold and aromatic sprays - see spectacular photos under DeanHSt Paul post. Indoor and outdoor pools both clean and well attended. My only complaint is that the hours are very limited which doesn't allow you to sight see and still visit the spa early or late in your day.

For the price, this is an exceptional value if you want to slow the pace down a bit. If you are looking for a central location with lots of action and sight seeing by foot or walking distance to restaurants and trains, then this might not be the best pick as you'll need to drive to that stuff. While this is also listed as an event center, that is not the primary focus, and the overall feel is that of a mountain resort for couples relaxing, not an event center, which is important to me when traveling for pleasure and not part of a conference. There was a journalist conference while we were there, but we’d never have guessed it because the entire facility was still quiet and well run.

We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: 900#s are more remote and generally smaller but quiet and great for solo travelers, rooms with valle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjhMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This place is marvelous. We're on our 25th wedding anniversary wine-tasting our way from Bordeaux France to Rome Italy. Lots of adventure both exciting and tiring, for which the remedy was this Renaissance resort. The views are stunning, overlooking mountains and valleys filled with little towns and villages. You could sit on your balcony and sing "The hills are alive... "

The highlight of the resort is a wonderful spa area. Huge indoor (yet open to the outside) heated pool with a rubberized, soft pool bottom. Floating around peacefully in the warm pool, I stumbled upon jets (like a hot tub but in the warm pool) and a shoulder massaging waterfall.

BETTER YET: In the next room was the real treat – a sort of spa circuit. A scented steam bath was heaven, followed by a sauna, and then this walk-through water spa (not sure what to call it) where, after exiting the sauna super-heated, you close your eyes and step through:

1) a cold menthol mist spray under a blue light,
2) then a cold rinse under red light,
3) then again into a warm rinse under orange light,
4) then a 6 side jets of hot water and massage your sides,
5) then another cold rinse with some other color light.
6) finally a floral scented neutral mist

I closed my eyes and let the lights guide me and I was in a zone for the next hour!

The rooms a very small, but very nice and stylish. Our first room had no window, just the balcony and we were stepping over each other a bit and since we booked 5 nights we asked for a bigger room and got one on a corner with a double window that opened and a balcony. Breathtaking view. Still, I would have been happy enough in the first smaller room because the room is not where you'll be.

We had a rental car and went wine tasting in the Luca region (found fabulous wines) and great food in the quaint walled town of Luca, where no cars can drive except the official bus. Fun fun fun.

Dinner was fabulous. There are two restaurants on the grounds (both wonderful) and you can drive down the mountainside to restaurants in the towns below. Breakfast was great and you had access to basics (ice, water, coffee/cappuccino) anytime. And they had a nice bar.

My only complaint at all was that the spa is designed as a standalone destination and so the spa hours are 10:30 am to 7:30 pm. I expected more like 6:00 am to 11:00. In fact, it should really be 24/7 spa time, but that's just not their format. Most people came to isolate themselves in the spa experience, but we were darting round via car and would have appreciated longer spa hours. Since it was our anniversary day, a kind hotel staff person agreed to stay open until 8:00 just to let us have spa time on our big day.

People here were wonderful. Loved it. Antonia went way out of her way to help us get the room we wanted, and she took our anniversary day photos in the courtyard. Achilles helped us out in the spa and made sure that we got everything we wanted on our anniversary.

Renaissance Tuscany II Ciocco Resort & Spa gave us a great relax before continuing on to Rome.

NOTE: If you happen to be renting a car, and you are renting from AVIS in Luca, get very clear on address and directions because 1) Avis is also the name of a blood donation organization, 2) the train station doesn't know of Avis and will tell you that there used to be one but they went out of business, and 3) bus drivers will not know what you're talking about and most do not understand English. We had a 15 minute walk to the Avis dealer, which was fine after a tourism/bike-rental shop told us how to walk there.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a view of the valley. Ask about room size but don't expect huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanHSaintPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Its wonderful - high in the hills in part if a bational oark called the living mountain - a typical marriott - beatuiful stylish decor - great service - reasonabke pruced hotel menu- rooms lovely

We used the gym everyday - the indoor pool is fantastic and had weather good enough to lounge by tge outdoor pool and take in tge views

Barga is 10 mins by cab for sightseeing etc

Not the oerfect base for thise wanting to " do" tuscany in 3 days - the americans here were exoecting a different tuscany !!!

Room Tip: Facing the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Going to start off by putting some peoples fears to rest! When I first saw this hotel on TripAdvisor some photos of the rooms looked appalling. The rooms looked old and dated however the hotel is almost fully restyled and the only rooms left looking dated are the large family rooms. However the couples rooms are lovely, kinda small but very clean modern and comfortable.

The hotel itself is huge and there are loads of amenities. Two restaurants, a bar, two pools, a spa and a confrence centre!

The rooms are not large I would say they're adequate. They are very modern and the beds are very comfortable. Bathrooms are fabulous very nicely styled with a huge shower. Also we had a small balcony with an incredible view of the valley! Tv in the room is fine comes with 4 english channels which are skynews bbc cnn and aljazera if I remember correctly. there is also a movie rental system where you rent.movies through the tv. They're 11euro a movie but they are fairly recent releases. I dont go on holidays to watch tv so this wasnt really used. Wifi is expensive, however I had it included with the room. Its very slow but fine for emails and a little browsing dont bother trying to watch videos it wont happen.

Breakfast!! My favorite part of the day! Its quiet good here there is alot to chose from! There are cold meats, fuits, cheeses, cerials, breads, freshly made pastries, juices and coffee. There is also a hot selection which usually had sauages, rashers and eggs. There was also a fourth hot food which alternated between hot tomatoes and roast potatoes. Sausages were crap... which was the only let however the view from the breakfast area balcony was incredible!!

Location location location. ... a car is a must, dont bother going without renting a car. If you really dont want to rent I suppose you could get a train to the local town of barga and then get a taxi from barga to the hotel! However if you want to go anywhere a car will make it so much easier and theres ample space for parking at the hotel! The local town of barga is about 5-10km away and is gorgeous! Very rustic and some nice restaurants but nothing worth writing about. If you want to go for great food you need to travel to Lucca which is about a 25 min drive away. But an absolute must incredible place. Apart from that florence is about 1 hour and the beach is about an hour too. These times however are driver dependant I had full insurance on the car so I was driving like Schumacher..... that been said the roads around the hotel will make the most confident driver feel like a learner...... especially the roads to barga. Also to be noted if using gps it will try bring you through barga and then up a mountain!! Going through barga is fine but dont go up the mountain you'll know what I mean as soon as you start driving up the mountain. ...

On a final note the staff are wonderful the hotel is very nice and incredibly well set up however a bit remote!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmetm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelvecchio Pascoli
20.7 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
1,156 reviews
8.6 mi away
Val di Luce SPA Resort
Val di Luce SPA Resort
#2 of 6 in Abetone
538 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
#2 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
1,195 reviews
18.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
7.9 mi away
Hotel Bridge
Hotel Bridge
#5 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa

Address: Via Giovanni Pascoli, 55051 Castelvecchio Pascoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Castelvecchio Pascoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castelvecchio Pascoli
Price Range: $143 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of Italian elegance and refined comfort at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa. Situated on 1,700 acres in the heart of the Serchio Valley, our luxury hotel in Tuscany offers the perfect destination for your Italian getaway. Enjoy ideal access to charming and historic attractions including Barga and Pisa from our hotel in Lucca, Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Ciocco Hotel
Il Ciocco Barga
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa Italy/Province Of Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing