We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FINALLY... A Marriott "Retreat" in Tuscany!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel and resort. It is being run by a General Manager, Georges Midleje, a very charming and experienced man who takes his time with every guest, runs this hotel like it is his home and in this regard is there very long hours. He is doing an excellent job and it is because of his expertise that we see a hotel that in the future will be popular not just for Americans visiting Italy but for Italians and Europeans who wish to visit a remarkable place that although away from things, is in fact only l hour from Lucca and really not that hard to drive. Okay, the area.....where to begin! Barga, an ancient city that you can view from the mist coming out of the sky in the early mornings, a joy to visit and you can hike there directly from the hotel in one hour! The hotel has absolutely everything you could want in a resort....two swimming pools, tennis courts, spa, hair dresser, massages, extremely casual attire needed, delicious food and a great pizza place right outside of the restaurant if you wish to not eat too much one evening. You can order and dine in the lounge, outside, in the restaurant, endless places, anywhere you are comfortable. The staff is so well trained because of the manager and it is very pleasant to deal with any one at the front desk. We booked this trip on a day's notice. We live in the city of Florence and wanted...no needed....to get out for a few days to relax. We had been reading about Il Ciocco for sometime and took this opportunity to try it. To arrive there WITHOUT a car you need to take the train from Florence to Lucca or there is a stop close to the hotel (and also a shuttle or taxi that will take you to the property)....from there you can take a bus again to the station and again the bus or shuttle. HOWEVER, to fully explore this area, you benefit greatly from the car. There are so many things to see and do and frankly unless you are looking for a respite after touring through Italy...or need to just 'chill' as we did and are content to stay and enjoy the hotel's facilities, then a car is the way to go. I also think that family reunions would be wonderful there and an American Thanksgiving if perhaps you have a child going to university in Pisa or Florernce and are flying in for the holidays. It is simply perfect for this. The manager also will work with guests to make anything reasonable happen for them if he can do it. The beds are all comfortable and in keeping with the standards set by Marriott...in many ways surpass these guidelines. The staff is fully trained and so professional. It is decorated very beautifully and no expense seems to have been spared. We went to visit a wonderfully unique restaurant called La Ceragetta, IsolaSanta, way up in the mountains with friends who picked us up for the return to the city. You simply cannot do this without a car. We had one lunch in Barga and all the others in the various venues at the Il Ciocco where we stayed for 4 days. We are planning a return visit and are telling all of our friends both here and in the states about this resort. We loved it.

Room Tip: Of course the rooms in the refurbished section facing the valley are pristine as others have stated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rtdFirenze_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel was the highlight of our 17 day trip to Italy. We stayed in several very nice hotels, but this one made the experience fantastic. The location is remote, offering great privacy, and the views are simply unbeatable. Our room had a balcony view of the mountains and the town of Barga, and it was the perfect way to wake up each morning. We ate in the hotel on a few occasions, and the food at the hotel was spectacular. Eating on the outside balcony on a sunny day was such a great experience. Lastly, the staff could not have been better. Specifically, Elena and Daniella, were so helpful and really helped to make our stay a total experience. Could not give a better endorsement for a hotel choice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of Barga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jared L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Although a little difficult to get to, once I arrived I changed my itinerary to include more hotel time! Great service, friendly, and the vibe was great. Reading through some of the reviews I was weary of the "new to Marriott issues" but I can safely say I saw none of that. If you expect parades and a backflip from the employees you will be disappointed :) I don't think anyone expects that...do they?

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antmedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is in a stunningly beautiful location. It’s up in the hills and you look down into the beautiful valley and across you see the town of Barga perched on another hilltop. Truly one of the most beautiful locations we’ve ever been to. The hotel itself is very nice and very well appointed. The rooms are very large and well furnished in a modern style. They have attended to all the details. The staff is extremely attentive and caring to their guests. They are willing to help with reservations, special requests, suggestions of things to do etc. The breakfast provided lots of selections and everything was fresh and well prepared. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent – the staff was very helpful, the food was excellent and like everywhere we ate in Tuscany, it was never rushed. Although the location is beautiful, this is not a place to use as a base for visiting Tuscany if you plan to travel around and see the many hill towns, etc. It’s very much out of the way to be used as a base. Here are some of the pluses & minuses:

Pros: beautiful location, very nice hotel, great spa, large well equipped rooms, very comfortable beds, very good restaurant, exceptional staff. Great place to relax and enjoy a very nice hotel with stunning views.

Cons: a bit difficult to get to, very out of the way for visiting the rest of Tuscany.

Recommendations: request a room on a high floor facing the town of Barga. Be prepared for a drive up very hilly, winding roads to get to the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a high floor facing the town of Barga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brianb210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have recently spent a week at this hotel, which has just gone through extensive renovations and has been rebranded to Reneissance. At the time of my stay 2 thirds of the rooms and most of the building have been refurbished. The hotel staff has showed me around the facility and I've had a chance to see both the new rooms and the old suites and unrefurbished rooms.

The new rooms are amazing, beautifully furbished, but I also liked the older suites with remined me of the style of a Tuscan castle. The remaining rooms are rather 4-star standard but will also be refurbished in the coming months, together with the ellevators and the remaing parts of the building.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I think it will take a few months until they're trained to Renaissance standards but they were nice and lovable. They made me feel as part of their family which was much nicer than when I stay at city hotels. I also met the GM who has helped me with some of my special requests - there wasn't a single problem he wouldn't have solved! He was great.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay there. It is a wonderful environment, amazing view, Tuscan athmosphere, great place to rest, and amazing food. If you are there, make sure you also visit I Cedri, a family managed "Agriturismo" nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room with a view of for suite 609.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is well worth the trip up the winding mountain to experience its seclusion in the Tuscan hills. Approached through a charming courtyard with smart regional boutiques it also had an excellent spa with a sumptuous 'chill out' room overlooking the spectacular view towards Barga. The hotel has been recently undergoing an extensive refurbishment and there is an eclectic mix of new meeting the old whilst retaining its original charm. The service was wonderfully attentive from reception through to the restaurant where staff remembered your name and even the way you took your coffee - impressive wherever you go. All the food I had was authentic and freshly prepared and to me taking longer over a meal than is usual in the UK where tables are turned around quickly for two or three sittings, was all part of the pleasure of relaxing and being there. Its a great place to combine a conference with pleasure as you don't need to go anywhere else unless you want to but should you wish to venture out, Lucca, Florence and Pisa are all nearby. I wish is was there now!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the terrace with a view towards Barga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SquirrelOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Very friendly staff. Best view in all of tuscany. Pool staff very attentive. On the downside the elevators were slow and small. The access road to parking was not well marked and appeared only wide enough for golf carts. Parking was limited. Overall we loved it here. It was only part of a trip that included London, France , Italy and Switzerland. If we were to go back this would be our only stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimterryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelvecchio Pascoli
8.6 mi away
Val di Luce SPA Resort
Val di Luce SPA Resort
#2 of 6 in Abetone
558 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Val del Rio
Hotel Val del Rio
#3 of 3 in Dogana Nuova
51 reviews
18.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Tre Castelli
Hotel Tre Castelli
#2 of 2 in Gallicano
10 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
1,183 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#4 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa

Address: Via Giovanni Pascoli, 55051 Castelvecchio Pascoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Castelvecchio Pascoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castelvecchio Pascoli
Price Range: $141 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of Italian elegance and refined comfort at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa. Situated on 1,700 acres in the heart of the Serchio Valley, our luxury hotel in Tuscany offers the perfect destination for your Italian getaway. Enjoy ideal access to charming and historic attractions including Barga and Pisa from our hotel in Lucca, Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Ciocco Hotel
Il Ciocco Barga
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa Italy/Province Of Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing