We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic secret getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Idyllic secret getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights with our young family enjoying a peaceful and relaxing break in the Tuscan hills. As others have said, the views are breathtaking, and the staff have been courteous and helpful throughout. It still feels like the place is being slowly Marriott-ified, but everything we wanted we have had. Lovely food, stunning outdoor pool with terrace, and even a quirky local Pizzaria just outside the hotel gates. Will come back for more without doubt, and next time I'm fairly sure it will have been discovered by a lot more people!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    305
    81
    34
    21
See reviews for
205
490
23
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Went there with family (2 kids aged 11 and 8), and enjoyed it very much. The complex has been taken over by Marriott in feb12 and it is now being refurbished to comply with the intl chain standards. The main building appears however to be finished with restructuting, and is in line with other Rainassance I have been at.
There are other smaller buildings that feature small aprtments and suites, but they appear to be under work, however they are offered as possible accomodation as they are ready even if not in line with the rest in terms of layout and probably interior decoirations (could not tell as we have not slept there). Pets are welcomed and have a lot of space, the place i sbeautiful as it is basically an old "borgo" (small hill village) turned into a hotel of a main international chain.
There are 2 pools, the outdoor one is big and provides deck-chairs and all other facilities you might want to relax, the indoor one is linked to the Spa and is however spacious and with an outdoor veranda.
The Spa looks nice, but I have not enjoyed its services so cannot tell about service quality.
In general: very good and charming welcome by the extremely efficient ladies at the reception desk, got my upgrades as a Platinum member and was given lots of hints and tips about what to do in the area (they publish a small leafleat called Navigator with sites amenities and "not-to-miss" surrounding villages: I especially reccomend "Antica Osteria Vecchio Mulino in Castelnuovo di Garfagnana, a small, old and lively joint run by a lover of local, high quality foods, where cured meats and prosciutti are top quality).
The place is literally surrounded by small villages that are nice to walk in, as they fully show thei middle-age heritage.
If you like waliking in hill trails and woods, this is also a very good place to do it.
Only average note is about the restaurant, where Marriott training and standards are not yet, well, digested, service is slow and we have had a few mix-ups with orders. Nice pasta - tagliatella are home made. Room service (mostly hamburgers) is average. Breakfast is rich, though, as it features several kinds of cheese and cured meats other than traditional continental and anerican breakfast stuff.
In essence, a great place to enjoy between friends or with family, can be the base for nice escursions in a beautiful Tuscany area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A_family_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel is located on an isolated and beautiful spot with a lot of nature and traditional little Italian villages around. I was there for a conference, but could still enjoy the amazing views, the nice swimming pool and the excellent food. The only thing that almost ruined my stay was some of the hotel staff's behavior - namely at the reception. They were rude and grumpy. Besides not being very friendly from day 1, at the check-out they made me pay for the room internet that absolutely definitely I have not used (I did not even know what would the password be) and on top of that I was given wrong information about the location of the hotel shuttle to the train station and had to run with all my luggage down the hill to catch the shuttle in the last second. This was a real shame because the rest of the staff (e.g in the restaurant and the shuttle/taxi driver) were really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: View on the valley is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GioJu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

When we booked our two night stay at the Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, we figured that it would be an excellent hotel with tremendous accommodations and exemplary service. After our stay, I am happy to report that all of those things are true! It is truly a beautiful resort. Some of our favorite elements of the resort were the Wellness Center, free buffet breakfast, and of course our lovely room (with an incredible view of Italy's hill country). The service was excellent, as the front desk staff made several suggestions and even booked us a winery tour! We also checked out the nearby city of Barga, which had a festival one evening. Definitely worth the side trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdbarrere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Service was absolutely beautiful! Warm, inviting, helpful, delightful staff. Free wifi for Marriott Rewards customers, free cooked (delicious!) breakfast, etc. Could not have asked for a better place to stay in the beautiful Tuscan hills.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
366 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I can't comment on any of the rooms but I was at this hotel last week for a wedding and it was great! It is located up on the top of the hills so a car would definitely be necessary for getting about. The food we had at the wedding was fantastic and the service was really good. The hotel was spotless and has some brilliant views and terraces for sitting outside for drinks/food. Facilities in the hotel all seem to be very good and the pool looked decent as well. If I was going back to this part of Tuscany I would definitely stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belfastguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelvecchio Pascoli
8.6 mi away
Val di Luce Spa Resort
Val di Luce Spa Resort
#2 of 6 in Abetone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
18.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
17.9 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 52 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
7.8 mi away
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
#2 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
10.7 mi away
Residence Boscolungo
Residence Boscolungo
#6 of 6 in Abetone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Address: Via Giovanni Pascoli, 55051 Castelvecchio Pascoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Castelvecchio Pascoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castelvecchio Pascoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of Italian elegance and refined comfort at the Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa. Situated on 1,700 acres in the heart of the Serchio Valley, our luxury hotel offers the perfect destination for your Tuscan getaway. Enjoy ideal access to charming and historic attractions including Barga, Lucca and Pisa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Ciocco Hotel
Il Ciocco Barga
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa Italy/Province Of Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing