We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Il Ciocco Hotel: Excellent Scenery + Good Service + Isolated Location = Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Il Ciocco Hotel: Excellent Scenery + Good Service + Isolated Location = Ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed with my husband who was there attending a conference. I will base this review as if I was attending the conference. (I do not recommend this hotel if you are not attending a conference, in that case I would give it a 3 rating.)

Excellent Points:
Il Ciocco has amazing scenery. It is surrounded by mountains and trees, hiking trails. You can see small towns in the distance. In the morning you can hear roosters crowing and throughout the day church bells ringing.
Il Ciocco also has great staff. The maid was very kind. The people serving the conference food were also very attentive and kind. The staff at the restaurant were also very good. The bartender also was very helpful. We were quite please with the service.
Il Ciocco restaurant food is excellent! We had one of the best meals of our trip at this restaurant, and we've eaten at many expensive steakhouses in the US. We had steak cooked perfectly with a gravy made with peppercorns and capers, soup, ravioli, and tiramissu for dessert. Not to mention the conference organizers were able to get singers from the Puccini Opera festival to come perform at the hotel. We were able to see them from the balcony while enjoying our dinner.
The conference room was beautiful. It came serviced with water for the participants, there were enough room for posters on the side.

Very Good Points:
Our room was very clean. We had the opera room with Verdi on our walls. The decorations were very cute, like we were in a cabin. The bathroom was also very clean and spacious. The views from our room were good also.
The pool was beautiful. It was nice to lay out by the pool and enjoy the scenery.

Terrible - Poor Points:
No air conditioning in our room. I think since Il Ciocco is a 4 star hotel it should have air conditioning in every room.
Have to pay extra for internet in room. If attending for a conference internet should be included in the price of the conference for business.
No free shuttle service to and from the train station. It costs 25 Euro to go to and 25 Euro to come from the train station by taxi. I do not think it would be that hard for Il Ciocco or Marriott to have a hotel owned shuttle bus that would run to and from the train station 2-3 times a day. If Marriott decided to do this for this hotel, it would really help bring business to this area. It would also bring in more tourists wishing to vacation at Il Ciocco.
If Il Ciocco fixed these issues I think they would be well on their way to a 5 star hotel.

Overall I give Il Ciocco Hotel a Very Good - TripAdvisor 4 rating for business. We did enjoy our stay, but probably wouldn't come back unless we needed to for another conference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingJellyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    307
    83
    34
    21
See reviews for
206
496
23
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

The place is situated on top of a hill about 1500 meters beyond the security gate ... very private. I stayed two nights - the first night they had 2 weddings and the second night they hosted a drug company conference.... both added some life, so not a problem. The rooms and all the decor are rather aged...2 elevators are 3' x 4' and the 'big' one is about 3' x 6'. Its classy but kind of old - inside and out.

The outside pool is the highlight as it has a tremendous view of the valley below and the mountains across the way. Not far from Lucca, i think it is great spot to relax in tuscan style.

Room Tip: There are two wings - i think the main front wing is preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kpvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

The location is very beautiful high on a mountain however it is very remote and isolated. I am sure there are lovely rooms in this hotel however I was not in one. There is a main building where the lobby is located and then other buildings which are close by and/or connected. I was in the 'Rock' portion of the hotel which was connected by an enclosed bridge to the main building. It was dedicated to Rock Stars and performers and each room had a rock performer dedicated to it. The room was very small and stark but functional. The bathroom was also small but was marble and seemed clean. The room I was in had no view at all. Some rooms looked out over the mountains and valley below but I don't know how one would book one of those rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid the Rock building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snoopymaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed at Il Ciocco during a conference. Excellent location, with fantastic views. A bit difficult to get there without a car (I took train from Pisa). Some what isolated while, again if you do not have a car. Pleasant walk to Barga and back. Food at hotel restaurant okay. Staff very helpful. Nice gym and spa.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkpkrdvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Spectacular position on hillside. Staff friendly. Internet connection spotty. Food good. Nice pool. Charming little villages in vicinity. I was expecting a quaint Italian room but got stuck in this annex which apparently is a homage to rock and roll. Imagine waking up in the middle of the night with a 10 foot Jimmy Hendricks staring down at you. Very weird, and completely spoiled the ambiance.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Very poor evening meals. Food cold and overcooked. Staff unfriendly and occasionally rude. Breakfast juices diluted. Drinks exhorbitantly priced.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ian4243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Saga "Splendours of Italy" Tour. The location was spectacular with wonderful views from the terrace. There was a large Mercedes conference and other conference business taking place whilst we were staying there and they definitely took priority. We were banished to a gloomy dining room for dinner on our first two nights whilst staying there. The food which was a buffet was of very poor quality and quantity. The first night the food ran out but there was no interest on the part of the staff or management of the hotel in ascertaining whether everything was satisfactory. The rather antiquated system of keeping food warm (one could never say hot) was inadequate. On one evening when the food was looking distinctly unappetising I wandered round the other side of the buffet to see what was there only to be chased round the dining room by a waiter and the chef shouting "not Saga, not Saga." Apparently the food on the other side was for another group although this was not apparent. The friend with whom I was travelling helped herself to some anyway as the meat had run out on the "Saga" side. By contrast the breakfast fare was commensurate with many other four star hotels in which I have stayed. The drinks were expensive but due to the location of the hotel you either paid the price or did without. We chose to pay the price and the girl behind the bar did do a very nice Campari and Orange Juice. I would never give this hotel any repeat business due to the poor quality of the food and the lack of consideration for guests from management and staff. We won't be a nuisance to them again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kristina254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelvecchio Pascoli
18.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
8.6 mi away
Val di Luce Spa Resort
Val di Luce Spa Resort
#1 of 6 in Abetone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
17.8 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 52 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Vignola
La Vignola
#1 of 1 in Barga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
17.1 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
7.8 mi away
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
#2 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Address: Via Giovanni Pascoli, 55051 Castelvecchio Pascoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Castelvecchio Pascoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castelvecchio Pascoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of Italian elegance and refined comfort at the Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa. Situated on 1,700 acres in the heart of the Serchio Valley, our luxury hotel offers the perfect destination for your Tuscan getaway. Enjoy ideal access to charming and historic attractions including Barga, Lucca and Pisa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Ciocco Hotel
Il Ciocco Barga
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa Italy/Province Of Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing