We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Noss Mayo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Worswell Barton Farmhouse
Southampton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a group of 10 staying for one night while walking the Coast Path and Worswell proved to be an inspired find. It wasn't possible to get pub-based accommodation in Noss Mayo as we had throughout our week of walking however this didn't prove a problem as Jackie & Phil provided shuttles to & from the village for a, very reasonable, fiver. The rooms were great and the breakfast was absolutely delicious, with lots of home-made produce. Loved it!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Trenchdiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
19
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed here while walking the South West Coast Path in September 2013. The farm is within easy reach of the coast path. The room was immaculate with pleasant views of the fields beyond the farm, there was a spacious guest lounge, and most importantly I was made to feel very welcome by Jackie. She had booked a table for me at the Ship Inn and drove down to pick me up when I had finished, as it was getting dark by then. Breakfast was excellent - mainly farm produce. Jackie is very knowledgeable about the coast path in that area of Devon, where reliance on ferries is essential, as is knowledge of the tide at the Erme, where it is necessary to wade across the estuary. All in all, one of the best B&Bs I have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter4lc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

During our week of walking on the Coast Path, this was our most interesting and enjoyable stay. Our hosts were a mine of information and willingly told us all about the farm, its history and how it is now working - we left with a considerably better understanding of it all than when we arrived. The room was lovely, the breakfast delicious, the transportation pleasing, unusual and unexpected - we only regret that we could not have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

A bit like the amps in Spinal Tap, on a scale of 1 to 10, this was definitely an 11. Excellent welcome, lovely accomodation, great food and a fabulous setting. If - like us - you are walking the Coastal Path be aware that it's not directly on the path and requires a bit of a detour to get there. But it's worth it. It's also about 15 mins walk to Noss Mayo and pubs for dinner, but for a donation to their contribution pot Phil very kindly picked us up afterwards, the pub having rung to say we had finished eating. If we're back in the area would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisfsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Phil and Jackie ( the owners) made us feel extremely welcome from the moment we arrived and took care of us very well, very accommodating people and there's nothing they won't do for you.

The rooms are very comfortable and perfectly clean, the breakfast is superb and the views from the rooms and garden on the farm are spectacular. Phil took us on a farm tour which was great fun and a great way to start the morning, definately something to do when you're there!

Overall Worswell Barton is to be recommended and we will certainly look to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here at the weekend when attending a friends wedding we arrived very late on the Friday evening after getting rather lost. We had a very nice room with shower tea and coffee making facilities. We asked for breakfast at 910 sat morning and has fresh fruit home made yogurt waiting with a fantastic full English to follow and plenty of coffee

Phil and Jackie are such nice people we sat drinking in there kitchen untill gone one in the morning And they were still up at the crack of dawn doing breakfast for other guests.

After breakfast on Sunday morning before we left Phil gave us a tour of the farm. What an amazing place we will 100% be returning. Thanks so much for making us so welcome!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maydavid1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

It was lovely to met by Jackie and greeted like old friends. The rooms were just as comfortable as we remembered, with everything that we needed and more provided. Breakfast was first class, the homemade gooseberry jam perfect! and of course new laid eggs from the farms chickens. Jackie always has time to chat and really looked after my elderly Mum and Dad.
The farm is in a perfect spot with wonderful views from the bedroom windows and from the beautiful placed patio in the garden. We look forward to our next visit to Noss Mayo and Newton Ferrers and our stay at the farm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noss Mayo
2.1 mi away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Hope and Anchor
The Hope and Anchor
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins
5.2 mi away
The Ivy Barn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worswell Barton Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worswell Barton Farmhouse

Property: Worswell Barton Farmhouse
Address: Worswell Barton, Noss Mayo, Plymouth | Devon, Noss Mayo PL8 1HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Noss Mayo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Noss Mayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Worswell Barton is a hidden gem,on a working National Trust Farm, situated the peninsula of Noss Mayo, surrounded by the South Devon Coastal Path, 10 Minutes walk from the National Trust Warren Car Park, and 20 minutes walk from Village of Noss Mayo, Via Hannaford Lane , which is only a footpath NOT a road.With 4 rooms over looking lush fields often with livestock, GARA - Double en-suite, GUNROW - Double en-suite, BLACKSTONE - Twin/Double with private shower and shared toilet, CELLARS - Small double with private in room shower and shared toilet.Breakfast is mainly home produced, with Sausages and Bacon, from the farm Pigs, which are kept over the winter and feed on our veggies, and Eggs from Hens just doing as they please, Home-made Yoghurt and Fresh fruit are always on the Menu,we will also accommodate any special diets, with prior notice and always have a vegetarian option. Higher Shippen Cottage sleeps 6-8 ideal for groups, available on short breaks self catering or Bed and Breakfast.We have many hidden coves and beaches, close by and a little further on, with Dartmoor about 12 miles away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing