We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice pub at the end of an enchanting walk”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Noss Mayo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $63 - $63
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A nice pub at the end of an enchanting walk”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Our second visit with a four year break in between. Sadly there was no seafood chowder on the menu which we were drooling for after our walk but the winter veg soup almost matched it. We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnHHertfprdshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    207
    48
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Standards Still Top Class”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We have friends who live in Noss Mayo, a stunning village surrounding a creek. We've been to the Ship on several occasions but this is my first review of it. It sits at the water's edge with plenty of outdoor seating for sunny days. A real pub bar downstairs and a restaurant up the stairs or at the room adjacent to the bar. Log fires, newspapers and a friendly buzz complete the picture. A very good menu with meat, fish, vegetables and delicious desserts. Good wine list too.
Lisa, the very busy and committed owner is very welcoming and takes time to chat and advise on any choices. Other staff are friendly and attentive. The fish pie is out of this world as are the steaks, sea bass and duck dishes. For lunch you could go for the soups and crusty bread or the bar menu. Puds include bread pudding sticky toffee, crumbles or Salcombe ice cream or cheese.
My only observation is that the menu is the same (or very similar) to the last time we came. It would be nice to have a few "specials" to add variety. That said, we still love The Ship.
Warning! Do not park your car on the beach at the end of the creek. It's tidal and comes in fast!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KAPercival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Poor roast beef very disappointed”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Visiting the Ship Inn Noss Mayo yesterday for a Sunday lunch was such a disappointment, we have visited this pub many times and had a variety of lovely meals the Sunday roast was always delicious BUT yesterday what a bitter disappointment the beef was so thinly sliced it had no taste and resembled something you would buy at a cheap deli counter from the cheapest supermarket, the Yorkshire pudding was obviously frozen and tasteless, the roast potatoes were soggy and might well have been microwaved. My friends meals were ok they said but not up to the usual standard. Then when asked if we wanted dessert after ordering we were told that what we wanted would take 40 minutes to cook as they'd run out and the waiter then told us we wouldn't want to wait that long needless to say we didn't wait to have anything else. A real disappointment what has gone wrong there!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey123223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Food with a view”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stopped in for a pub lunch and were delighted with the swift service and splendid traditional food that came in generous portions, including sizeable 'ploughmans'. The was a cheerful atmosphere and outstanding views from the upper floor, it being too chilly to eat outside. The friends we were with have eaten at the Ship on several occasions and reckon never to have been disappointed. Praise indeed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidFOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Soooo Picturesque and Great Food”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I dare not say how many years I have been visiting this pub, suffice to say it is since my youth, and it has always maintained high standards! The Ship Inn has to be situated in one of the most picturesque settings in Devon, being at the top of the estuary of the River Yealm. On one side you have the village of Newton Ferrers and the other Noss Mayo. It is very close to the South West Coastal footpath (the views are stunning along this bit!) so is and ideal place to stop off for a meal or just a drink - it is also possible to do a shorter circular walk of about 4 miles, which incorporates a bit of the SWC path. If you visit by car, you do need to be very aware of High tide times as the pub gets very busy and people have to park on the estuary slipway - last thing you want is to come out of the pub to see your car floating away down the river! Likewise, if you arrive by boat, you do not want to get stranded high and dry! It is essential to book if you want to be guaranteed a seat, although we visited on this occasion, late Sunday afternoon, and we were able to get a seat upstairs with views overlooking the estuary, without a reservation. The pub has bags of character and the food which is served from midday to 21.30pm daily is oustanding too. You might think that the food could not be that good if they are serving for that long, but it is. On this visit we opted for the Sunday Roast Pork and it came with a lovely mixture of vegetables and crispy crackling and roast potatoes. For dessert, I had the chocolate fondant which was light, chocolatey and full of lovely runny chocolate sauce in the middle. Other family members had the berry crumble and the sticky toffee pudding - all are made on the premises and tasted delicious. Service was friendly and helpful, and the wine list is reasonably priced - we had a particularly good New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc to drink. Sadly, I no longer live in Devon but visit often and always look forward to a return visit to the Ship Inn.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Newton Ferrers, Devon
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing