We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Entertaining but would pay not to eat.”

Bar J Chuckwagon Supper & Western Music Show
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Entertaining but would pay not to eat.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The show is entertaining, but the food is not good. I really hated having to walk in a long line to be served mediocre food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Imagine7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    24
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Western Singing and Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Authentic chuckwagon style dinner with excellent food followed by some of the best music in the west. This is a stop not to be missed when in the Jackson area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The entertainment was outstanding, we had a great evening. The food service was as fast as other reviews stated. We had the BBQ Beef and it was not very tasty, but overall the meal was edible. Food could be overlooked because for the price of the evening the entertainment itself was well worth the cost.We left with a DVD, CD and Book, all of which we have enjoyed at home.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shu107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Horrible food but the show was pretty good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We went as a group because we heard the food and show were top notch after reading reviews here on tripadvisor. The meal was extremely disappointing, I'm sad to say. One of the worst meals my wife and I have ever eaten. The beef tips were smothered in BBQ sauce that tasted like chalk. The chicken breast was dry and and smothered with the same sauce. The pinto beans were hard and undercooked. My friends who ordered the ribeye at $32.00 received a thin steak that was tough and tough to eat. Shall I go on? Most of us pushed our plates away and simply couldn't finish any of the food except for the small baked potato.
The show was very polished. The group had it down with great singing and playing. Jokes were hokey and could have cut the show down by 30 minutes but at least the performance got the bad taste of the food out of my mouth.
If you're used to even decent BBQ, you simply wont like the meal here. But I will say the show was pretty good. However, not good enough to go back again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RonOAustin_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The food was good. Couldn't believe how easy it was for them to serve 500+ folks in less than 15 minutes. Really wasn't sure what to expect when it came to the show, but it was great. They could in fact have their own show anywhere they want, and I guess that is at the Bar J. He humor was spot on and geared for all ages. It was refreshing to see a very successful place that didn't need alcohol and smoking to be successful. Would go again, if ever in Jackson Hole. It was a super night out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rnkcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar J Chuckwagon Supper & Western Music Show also viewed

 

Been to Bar J Chuckwagon Supper & Western Music Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing