We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very fun evening”

Bar J Chuckwagon Supper & Western Music Show
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very fun evening”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a really fun night here. I enjoyed it more than I thought I would, since western music is not really my thing. But I can recognize exceptional talent, and these guys are fantastic showmen and musicians. I was surprised when I checked the time at the end of the show and realized that they had played for almost 90 minutes. The show never dragged and I enjoyed it very much. The dinner prior to the show was better than I expected, considering they are serving several hundred people. This is a great attraction if you are looking for something to get you in the "western" mood.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    24
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Olomouc, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Tradition of Western Music, Food, and Fun”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have been going to this since 1980, and it is almost the very same - good food, good entertainment, fun family time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank donald r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemingsburg, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chuckwagon Supper and Music Show”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A business owned by the same family for several generations. We took a city bus and walked several blocks to get there. Were welcomed by the host and transferred to wagons for about a mile long road beside a lovely, scenic creek. We were entertained by cowboys and Indians riding around us along the way. The food was meant to be typical chuck wagon fare with barbeque, baked beans, salad, corn on the cob, bread, lemonade and brownies. The music was typical cowboy songs. The "fiddle" player was exceptional and the jokes were a little corny but cute. There was audience participation which everone seemed to enjoy. Nice evening. Kids would love it. The owners even drove us back to our hotel in their own vehicles because it was so long a walk back to the bus and we were a rather elderly group. Couldn't have been nicer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must go!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My parents went here years ago and raved about their experience! They love it when i tell them "they were right!" The ribeye was the best steak we have had in years and the applesauce was perfection (our entire table got three helpings:). But this great food didnt even hold a candle to the fantastic performance. These men are witty and incredibly talented. Now my 11year old wants to learn to play the fiddle. Fun for the entire family! GO!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jwbrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Show was good, food could be better.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was some of what we expected. My niece and her family had attended, and I was warned that the food was not great. They were right. We had the beef bbq, and it was just ok. The portions were very large, but I would have done with smaller portions and better taste. The line did move quickly. They definitely have crowd control down to a science. The jokes were quite corny, but the show was enjoyable. The best part was meeting people from other places whom you were seated with. We might have enjoyed it a tad more had we not put in such a long day previous to arrival. Would not go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Junusebopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar J Chuckwagon Supper & Western Music Show also viewed

 

Been to Bar J Chuckwagon Supper & Western Music Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing