We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chuckwagon Supper and Music Show”

Bar J Chuckwagon Supper & Western Music Show
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Flemingsburg, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chuckwagon Supper and Music Show”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A business owned by the same family for several generations. We took a city bus and walked several blocks to get there. Were welcomed by the host and transferred to wagons for about a mile long road beside a lovely, scenic creek. We were entertained by cowboys and Indians riding around us along the way. The food was meant to be typical chuck wagon fare with barbeque, baked beans, salad, corn on the cob, bread, lemonade and brownies. The music was typical cowboy songs. The "fiddle" player was exceptional and the jokes were a little corny but cute. There was audience participation which everone seemed to enjoy. Nice evening. Kids would love it. The owners even drove us back to our hotel in their own vehicles because it was so long a walk back to the bus and we were a rather elderly group. Couldn't have been nicer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    24
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must go!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My parents went here years ago and raved about their experience! They love it when i tell them "they were right!" The ribeye was the best steak we have had in years and the applesauce was perfection (our entire table got three helpings:). But this great food didnt even hold a candle to the fantastic performance. These men are witty and incredibly talented. Now my 11year old wants to learn to play the fiddle. Fun for the entire family! GO!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jwbrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Show was good, food could be better.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was some of what we expected. My niece and her family had attended, and I was warned that the food was not great. They were right. We had the beef bbq, and it was just ok. The portions were very large, but I would have done with smaller portions and better taste. The line did move quickly. They definitely have crowd control down to a science. The jokes were quite corny, but the show was enjoyable. The best part was meeting people from other places whom you were seated with. We might have enjoyed it a tad more had we not put in such a long day previous to arrival. Would not go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Junusebopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Night Out”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

What a brilliant night this was, not what we were expecting. The meal was pretty good considering they were feeding 500 people! It's amazing how fast everyone gets fed but you don't really go for the food! The show was excellent, cannot fault it. It was musically brilliant, funny and worth every penny. Would go back in a flash

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Entertainment good, dinner meh”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Here's what you need to know:
Doors open at 5:30, dinner at 7. Get there around 6:00 for decent seating. There is nothing to do there except, of course, a shop. So, no reason to get there too early.
The Food:
you don't come for the food. If you do, you'll be disappointed. There is ALOT of food. if you eat everything they give you, you will not leave hungry. I had the ribs, they were very fatty. The rest of the meal would have been pretty forgettable, except it stayed with me for two days, so I couldn't forget it. They have lots of options though, they were even able to accommodate a vegetarian in our group.
They don't serve alcohol, but they did say we could bring our own, which we did, gratefully. I'm not sure we could have endured the windy stories otherwise.
The Rest:
Before getting started on dinner, you'll endure a good 45 minute spiel of corny jokes. If you like that, you'll be thrilled. I kind'a didn't need to know they made coffee with (clean) socks.
You'll shuffle through a buffet line with 750 people. It goes quick. If your at the end of the line you may or may not get silverware.
The after dinner entertainment is fantastic-if there was less talking, the band would be awesome. They really are talented. The after dinner show is quite long. I had to get up and move around. If your the antsy type like me, get a seat at the end, because getting in and out of those loooong picnic, closely set, tables isn't too fun. Also, if you have young kids, they'll probably get antsy too.
All in all, you can by the CD of the band in some of the shops in Jackson, save yourself the long winded corny jokes and mediocre food and just enjoy the tunes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TinScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar J Chuckwagon Supper & Western Music Show also viewed

 

Been to Bar J Chuckwagon Supper & Western Music Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing