We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food , poor coffee ”

Artemis Lakefront Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Chiang Dao, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food , poor coffee ”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Have been here now 4 or 5 times ,
All food has been great. But they need to stop serving water down coffee and maybe serve French presses, also latte and mochas are way to small for the price .
Again great place for good but not coffee ,

Helpful?
Thank oneeasyride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    87
    32
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in SLT”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Great place for a good quality meal with the beautiful view. Breakfast was delicious and fresh, good coffee. We had Eggs and Steak dish( with steak kebab ) and baklava French Toast. Very relaxing morning, perfect way to start a day. It was our favorite breakfast we had in Lake Tahoe area. Also, parking situation in Ski Run Marina: first hour is free, very convinient!

Helpful?
4 Thank 209Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I wish we had found this place sooner! The breakfast menu in our hotel left a lot to be desired and on our last day we could just not face eating at the hotel again so we found this place. They have a very creative menu and I thoroughly enjoyed the crispy trout, which was served with two eggs and wonderful potatoes. (I would have been happy with just the trout and fruit). There are vegetarian options as well as the more traditional American breakfast of eggs and bacon etc. The service was excellent.

The cafe has a nice view of the water with both indoor and outdoor seating.

Note: this is the cafe down near the pier from which the Tahoe Queen is docked and not the Artemis Restaurant further west on US 50.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VHTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely place and staff”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We were staying nearby at the Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort and left there in search of some breakfast. This cafe is really nearby and is highly recommended.

We were welcomed by friendly staff and offered to be started inside or out. As it was a lovely morning, we opted for outside.

They provide a lovely selection for breakfast and we could not fault the food or the service in any way.

We are going back again as you can't ask for better in such a nice place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dissapointed, Again”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I first found the original Artemis Grill about 3 years ago here in So Lake Tahoe and we really enjoyed it. Then last year 2013 we went for dinner at that first location and were dissapointed with a number of service issues: over one hour wait for food delivery at table, overwhelmed servers, and slow/haphazard delivery of food to the table [we do prefer to eat together as a family, not in shifts.]

Last night, we gave the newly opened second Artemis location, Lakefront Grill a chance. This time we called the order in for take out at 745 pm - four chicken souvlaki plates, two horiatiki salads [cucumber/tomatoes/feta], and were told the food would be ready by 815 pm. We arrived at 8 pm at waited until 830 for the food to go. We added a bowl of egg-lemon chicken soup [avgolemono], too. The staff person said that the salads were not on the menu, but would be prepared nonetheless.

So after waiting 45 minutes from the time the order was placed, at 830 pm the meal was ready; the soup was delivered in a paper cup with lid. it was 3/4 full. We asked it be filled [for $7], and we waited another 5 minutes for another ladle. Staff said each soup order is "made to order."

$98 later here's what we received.....over-cooked and dried chicken souvlaki skewers, undercooked vegetable skewers, tasty skorkalia [potato spread infused with garlic], tabouleh and pilaf. The soup was adequate - a broth based presentation, not a traditional version where eggs are whipped into a thick white soup.

Having eaten Greek food all my life, prepared by various family members, as well as from many restaurants and Greek food festivals, this meal was poor to average in quality.

The business has a lot of kinks to work out. Upon arrival, the host stand outside had no one attending to it, so anyone who walked in wandered around looking for some staff person to seat them. Our server was pleasant but couldn't pronounce menu items and didn't know if certain ones were available or not. The other server who told me that each soup order is made to order was just offering me hogwash, as all soups are made in one large pot, not bowl by bowl. The clear sense I had was that no one was running the front of the house and several staff were new and not well trained. [I saw one patron bring his bill to the register to pay it in an effort to leave; I saw another patron's bill and cash on the bar remained uncollected until I pointed it out to the server; I also saw one server break a $100 bill using money from his own wallet, and possibly keeping $20 of that change]

We were told that Brian, the chef/owner, was busy cooking. The place needs a customer service manager. Maybe there is one, but he/she was not on duty last night. The chef/owner can't do it all. The owner will need to quickly address these operational problems.

I suppose that restaurants with prime tourist locations such as this one overlooking the lake will be able to continue to operate successfully because customers will come due to the appeal of the location. If our experience is repeated with other customers, even tourists, then prime locations will survive but not thrive. This review is obviously just a snapshot in time, and hopefully other patrons will have a better experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sgc061413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artemis Lakefront Cafe also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Artemis Lakefront Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing