We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$186
eDreams$186
Vio.com$186
Agoda.com$186
ZenHotels.com$186
Etrip$186
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveler rating
244
24
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
244
24
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffle bar game room wine and cheese bike path fire pit happy hour pope beach complimentary bikes beach cruisers amazing hospitality roast marshmallows forest service s mores place to stay bagels camp richardson fallen leaf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 273 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2021

My wife and I have traveled extensively for the last 25 years. Not only was the Carta family the most hospitable hosts we have ever encountered, they were miles ahead of whoever was in second place. It made our annual visit to Fallen Leaf the most memorable of the last 20 years. Our dog Zoe did not want to leave. 5 stars isn't enough.

Date of stay: June 2021
Thank jamesdG9194LV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 30, 2021

I stayed in the Bear's Den for 2 lovely nights the last week of May before Memorial Day. It was perfect in EVERY way. Steve, Tracy, Olivia and Nick are OUTSTANDING hosts. All the inclusions made the price point very, very affordable if you take advantage of all they offer. The bikes were great as you can bike to the popular beaches and not fight the traffic! Wine and cheese for 2 hours in the evening and a huge firepit with all the fixings for smores. The game room was great, free DVD's for your room and even board games to pay and a sauna after a long day of hiking. Peaceful and HOMEY is how I would describe it. You felt like you were visiting family and not staying in a hotel. Tracy will show you around to all the features and Steve is there is do the "manly" things, like replace light bulbs and turn on the fireplace, that he's trying to conserve electric and gas bills on, but will gladly turn it on if asked. Breakfast served by Olivia was wonderful as they pretty much don't say no to anything if they have it! I will be back and will send clients your way! I am a travel professional and this is truly one of my best finds ever and that is saying something as I have been doing this for 25 years.

Room tip: Sit for a bit in the lobby and get to know the hosts. They are lovely people and you'll feel like family in the end.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rynn525
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 19, 2021 via mobile

From the moment you drive onto the property you get the impression that this is going to be an unique stay. Small 10 room lodge but packed with personalized touches from the orientation tour, hiking information, clean/fun decor room, breakfast table service, wine/cheese, and s'mores around the fire pit!! This is a family ran business and this family is SO sweet and kind! Special shout out to Nick and Olivia for making us feel so welcome!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank melissamY8498IK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 14, 2021

When we first arrived the staff was very friendly. They gave us the “grand tour” of all the amenities the lodge has to offer and there was a lot. They even offer bicycles to tour the surrounding area. The room and clean and comfortable. We stayed in the #6 Snowshoe Room and it had charm! Complete with a kitchen, fireplace. Location is great and I would stay here again. I promise you will not be disappointed in this place. You can tell the owners (family owned) take a lot of pride in their business.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shawn-Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 13, 2021 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed at Fireside for the second time. Having stayed there before we knew we would be well served by our hosts, the Carta family. It is nice to start your day with great food served up by happy, friendly people who obviously enjoy what they do! All of the other amenities they provide were well appreciated also. Steve, Tracy, Nick and Tamra truly go the extra mile to assure that you have a great experience. The lodge is perfectly situated on the edge of town, and backs up to Forest Service land which allows for hiking and biking to beautiful Lake Tahoe and historic Camp Richardson. We have found that the Carta's slogan "A guest the first time, a friend for a lifetime", certainly holds true for us!! If you are headed to South Lake Tahoe, there is no better place to stay than the Fireside Lodge!
Judy and Rick Holm

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank rickh52019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews