We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$186
View deal
Booking.com
$186
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Vio.com
$186
View deal
Agoda.com$186
eDreams$186
Etrip$186
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveler rating
243
24
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
243
24
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffle bar game room wine and cheese bike path fire pit happy hour bear's den board games pope beach complimentary bikes beach cruisers amazing hospitality roast marshmallows forest service s mores bagels camp richardson
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 272 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2021

I stayed in the Bear's Den for 2 lovely nights the last week of May before Memorial Day. It was perfect in EVERY way. Steve, Tracy, Olivia and Nick are OUTSTANDING hosts. All the inclusions made the price point very, very affordable if you take advantage of all they offer. The bikes were great as you can bike to the popular beaches and not fight the traffic! Wine and cheese for 2 hours in the evening and a huge firepit with all the fixings for smores. The game room was great, free DVD's for your room and even board games to pay and a sauna after a long day of hiking. Peaceful and HOMEY is how I would describe it. You felt like you were visiting family and not staying in a hotel. Tracy will show you around to all the features and Steve is there is do the "manly" things, like replace light bulbs and turn on the fireplace, that he's trying to conserve electric and gas bills on, but will gladly turn it on if asked. Breakfast served by Olivia was wonderful as they pretty much don't say no to anything if they have it! I will be back and will send clients your way! I am a travel professional and this is truly one of my best finds ever and that is saying something as I have been doing this for 25 years.

Room tip: Sit for a bit in the lobby and get to know the hosts. They are lovely people and you'll feel like family in the end.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rynn525
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 19, 2021 via mobile

From the moment you drive onto the property you get the impression that this is going to be an unique stay. Small 10 room lodge but packed with personalized touches from the orientation tour, hiking information, clean/fun decor room, breakfast table service, wine/cheese, and s'mores around the fire pit!! This is a family ran business and this family is SO sweet and kind! Special shout out to Nick and Olivia for making us feel so welcome!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank melissamY8498IK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 14, 2021

When we first arrived the staff was very friendly. They gave us the “grand tour” of all the amenities the lodge has to offer and there was a lot. They even offer bicycles to tour the surrounding area. The room and clean and comfortable. We stayed in the #6 Snowshoe Room and it had charm! Complete with a kitchen, fireplace. Location is great and I would stay here again. I promise you will not be disappointed in this place. You can tell the owners (family owned) take a lot of pride in their business.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shawn-Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 13, 2021 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed at Fireside for the second time. Having stayed there before we knew we would be well served by our hosts, the Carta family. It is nice to start your day with great food served up by happy, friendly people who obviously enjoy what they do! All of the other amenities they provide were well appreciated also. Steve, Tracy, Nick and Tamra truly go the extra mile to assure that you have a great experience. The lodge is perfectly situated on the edge of town, and backs up to Forest Service land which allows for hiking and biking to beautiful Lake Tahoe and historic Camp Richardson. We have found that the Carta's slogan "A guest the first time, a friend for a lifetime", certainly holds true for us!! If you are headed to South Lake Tahoe, there is no better place to stay than the Fireside Lodge!
Judy and Rick Holm

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank rickh52019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 28, 2020

We had the most wonderful retreat at Fireside Lodge! Our room (#10) was cute, well-apportioned, comfortable, and very clean. The owners are true dog lovers (our boy tested them) and incredible hosts. We immediately felt at home and so cared for. It is evident that they love what they do as it shows in the property and amenities. The lodge backs up to a forest with a beautiful bike path that takes you (for a little more than a mile or so) to Camp Richardson and Pope Beach. We loved the setting and the amenities! The day begins with a lovely breakfast (our kids LOVED the waffles and all of the toppings!), then, later in the evening, Fireside has an awesome wine and cheese bar which is followed by s'mores at the fire pit. They also have a ton of games and a super fun game room!

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gailwB5045OX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews