We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend- great experience all round!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly recommend- great experience all round!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We travelled to USA from Australia and i found this place on Trip Advisor. We originally only planned one night at this B&B but by a stroke of luck ended up staying 2 nights in May 2013. After reading all the reviews I had very high expectations and we were not disappointed, it was even better than we expected! After a 10 hour drive from Vegas were arrived late afternoon very travel weary. Katey the manager have us a tour of the facilities- lounge area, kitchen and breakfast/snacks area, games room, sauna & relaxation area, fire pit, full 'make your own' bar- and explained the free bike & kayak hire, the honour system for the bar and the nightly wine & cheese happy hour plus the fire pit and s'mores every evening. We loved our room- The big blue which is themed on the lake. So many quirky little treasures around the place, the owners Dave & Christine have done a magnificent job here. Kona the resident dog is very friendly and soon warmed to us being around. The nwxt day we took some bikes pur for a ride through the woods, to Camp Richardson beach and into the village via the surrounding suburbs, it was great fun! You HAVE to stay here if you are coming to Sth Lake Tahoe! We'd love to come back!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niss123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
97
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Be ended up in Lake Tahoe by accident. Long story short, Yosemite was closed so we just let the wind blow us around and listened to tips from the people we meet along the way. When we arrived in Tahoe, we had no idea where to stay and just drove around. The Fireside caught our attention and so we went to the front desk and found a room available. No idea if what we paid was good or bad, but it seemed OK at the time (I have not idea what they get in peak season). What really got us was the fireplace outside, complimentary bikes to ride, a game room, wine and cheese for a daily happy hour PLUS a full bar so you could make your own drinks (just drop a donation in the bucket), and extremely friendly owners that were more than helpful in finding places to eat and spots to see. Overall, it was a great find and a place we will certainly look into the next time we visit Tahoe. It was too bad we had limited time, but that's just the way it goes sometimes!

Room Tip: if you want the fireplace to have a fire, you need to turn up the thermostat in room all the way. th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breaksguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Cozy, Comfy, & Clean!!! Close enough to main attractions, but far enough to get that Tahoe seclusion!! David, Christine, Kona, & Sandy were wonderful!! They even gave my Wife a cupcake for her birthday=)) We are already planning our return!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Averycata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We picked Fireside Lodge because of proximity to Valhalla where we attended a very special wedding. What we experienced was beyond any expectation we had. This was such a comfortable place for our little family of 4 - and the owners, Christine & Dave, were by far the most warm & accomodating hosts we've ever had the pleasure to meet. Time spent sitting around the firepit in the evenings visiting with Dave & the other guests brought back memories of campfires from years gone by. We will definitely make Fireside Lodge our go-to place in Tahoe. We're already planning our next get-away and we just checked out this morning!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebzKorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very attentive owner, great lab named Kona, warm chocolate chip cookies waiting in the room, wine and cheese in the late afternoon, s'mores over a campfire in the evening, excellent restaurant recommendation, clean and comfortable rooms, great shower, excellent breakfast - What more could one ask for? We will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The title says it all. This is not a plastic, cookie cutter destination. Establised in the 30's and tastefully added to over the years it's a great place to headquarter as you plan a trip around the lake, to Virgina city or a trip up the snowy nearby mountain to ski or a big paddle boat ride on the lake to most beautiful place in the world....Emerald Bay........10 mins from casinos if you want that.....we didn't.

Nice people and pet friendly. We'd love to go back. We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papajoe02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were skeptical when we drove up.....greeted by the owner and Kona and the weekend was fabulous. The rooms are small but well decorated, all inclusive continental breakfast was great, all the dogs there great.....Met some nice people around the fire pit. Would I go again? Yes absolutely, in a heartbeat. Cutest Place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
3.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
3.9 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
4.8 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
4.9 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 515 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6505
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe's only all-inclusive premier bed and breakfast lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fireside Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Fireside Lodge b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing