We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Warm and cozy--operated by nice people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and cozy--operated by nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The title says it all. This is not a plastic, cookie cutter destination. Establised in the 30's and tastefully added to over the years it's a great place to headquarter as you plan a trip around the lake, to Virgina city or a trip up the snowy nearby mountain to ski or a big paddle boat ride on the lake to most beautiful place in the world....Emerald Bay........10 mins from casinos if you want that.....we didn't.

Nice people and pet friendly. We'd love to go back. We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papajoe02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
95
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were skeptical when we drove up.....greeted by the owner and Kona and the weekend was fabulous. The rooms are small but well decorated, all inclusive continental breakfast was great, all the dogs there great.....Met some nice people around the fire pit. Would I go again? Yes absolutely, in a heartbeat. Cutest Place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Fireside Lodge for 4 nights and loved it. We chose the place because it was highly rated as a dog-friendly place, but I'd rate it highly dog or no. It's really comfortable -- the design is cozy, and makes you want to relax. There are fireplaces everywhere -- in the room, in the main lodge, the fire pit outside (s'mores!). The design is cozy and cute without being too cutesy. It's also really clean, not a speck of dust. Our dog was welcomed by the innkeepers and also by their dog Kona (a big yellow lab that's great with smaller dogs). And we felt really taken care of -- there are snacks in the lodge, and wine/cheese in the evening, and breakfast with waffle bar with every waffle fixin' you can dream up, a superb hot chocolate machine, DVDs you can borrow for free and free microwave popcorn to go with it. The property backs onto the national forest so it's easy to run the dog after a day of skiing. Last but not least, the innkeepers make sure you've got what you need and feel taken care of. They care about getting it right, and it shows. We'll be going back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesSFCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Do yourself a favor and stay here if going to Lake Tahoe. Like staying with family, without the drama! My go to place to stay! Exceptional value, especially if you ski @ Sierra At Tahoe and buy your tickets at Fireside.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rappell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

When we drove up, we were a little disappointed because the outdide looked like motel... However, we really were impressed by the cleanliness of the place and the true dog friendly nature of the place! Your dog can truly go eveywhere on the property. Wune and cheese evenings were great and the marshamellow/smore making party was wonderful ! While they have a sledding hill in the back of the property that the owner built, its s liitle steep for the young ones... For sledding, we highly recommend sropping off at Fish Pond before giing to Fireside. With 5 to 6 different hill grades, kids of all ages will definitely have a blast!!! The motel is a little dated, but it definitelybis cozy and warm.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyVacationLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the springtime in room 8 - (the angler room). Nice size & a fireplace. The owners & pup are so wonderful. These two have thought of EVERYTHING!! They even have free kayak use & mountain bikes. There is a trail behind the property that is beautiful - we packed a picnic lunch & we stopped at every beach along the path - so nice not to have to deal with parking & traffic.

In the evening they have a 'happy hour' with wine & cheese. A large movie dvd collection & they have a nice garden area with fire pit for hanging out.

A true gem! You won't regret it. Can't wait to return next summer & may try it out this winter as well!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cat_kaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markleeville, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We think it would be impossible for anyone to have anything other than a great time at the Fireside Lodge. It is apparent from the first moment that you walk on property that this is not your average hotel - it is a labor of love. Every detail is perfectly appointed - from the thoughtful decorations, to toiletry items in the bathroom, wonderful breakfast, even wine and cheese hour and drinks in lobby. They have bikes and kayaks for guests to use. This is the most comfortable, accommodating place to stay in TAHOE! Christine, Dave and Kona have thought of everything! We spent our wedding night here and then came back for our 4 yr anniversary. 4 yrs ago this place was amazing! We have exactly the same sentiment today - we loved every minute of our stay and hope to be back very soon! Well worth every penny! The Fireside Lodge deserves at least 6 stars! (PS - there is no pool but I couldn't figure out how to take the stars off, but there is an amazing lake in close proximity that definitely counts as a pool in the summer time!)

Room Tip: We stayed in the recently renovated Mariner Room - would be great for a family. It had bunkbeds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyNBrianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
3.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
3.9 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#16 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
4.0 mi away
Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Brea...
#1 of 4 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 515 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6505
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe's only all-inclusive premier bed and breakfast lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fireside Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Fireside Lodge b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing