We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER DOG FRIENDLY!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2011

By far, the most positive dog traveling hotel stay experience I have ever had. The hotel owners are dog owners themselves, so they understand the need for dog owners to have plenty of space for dogs to do their thing in a safe space. the parking lot is roped off so people don't come speeding through, making it safe for dogs and people alike. They provide dog treat, poop bags, and understand that sometimes owners want to snuggle in bed with their fur children (don't judge, you know you do it too). They provide special blankets so that the dogs don't get the beds gross, which is also nice. Free bikes, free kayaks, 2 miles away from the dog beach (which is easily accessible from the bike path that runs behind the hotel.) You can use thier full kitchen to cut down on costs, as well as their grill. The owners like to hang out with thier guests too as people roast their smores and enjoy their wine and cheese. Essentially, it was like going to the home of a close friend--the kind where you feel comfortable walking around in your pj's and opening up their fridge without asking. Highly recommended and I WILL be back.

Room Tip: the room with the king and queen bed is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crestaverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 200 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

In reviewing our recent stay with Dave and Christine, I just have to say that everything I could say has already been said. So instead, I thought I'd review all those reviews just by saying that all those stellar reviews are well earned!
This was our first "Pet Friendly" trip and they made us feel like one of the family, without having to do dishes. Yes, it was occasionally noisy from its location to Hwy 89, but it was also such beautifully warm weather we wanted the windows open. We had the Mariner room. Very spacious for us (5 + dog). The location allowed us a fantastic place to launch each day. Our new go to place in Tahoe!
You can trust those reviews!

Room Tip: We had the Mariner room which was the furthest room away from the office. It was a L shaped old Mote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HossSFBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Dave and Christine we love you guys. They are so warm and friendly. We happened upon this B&B about 3 yrs ago and keep coming back. The dogs that stay all play and enjoy the outdoors. The only pet friendy place I know that is truely pet friendly. They are also very family oriented as well. Owners take pride in their themed rooms, a must see. They are also very kid friendly. Dave in the winter time makes a snow sledding hill for the kids!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donjames1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I have joined the long list of happy lodgers that have stayed here. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and kind. I was there with my two Labradors, Max and Elsa that got along great with Kona the Lodge Yellow Lab. They provided doggie blankets, plastic bags for clean up, dog towels and biscuits. I have not experienced this level of dog friendliness ever before. My room was so adorable with close attention to every details making "The Big Blue" room a tribute to and celebration of Lake Tahoe. The breakfast was excellent, something for everyone and I took a hiatus from my diet to indulge in homemade waffles and fresh berries. I used one of the free loaner bikes to ride the bike path, just steps from my door to cruise along to Pope Beach, Camp Richardson, etc.. while my dogs crashed from too much fun at Kiva Beach (dog friendly beach two miles from the Lodge).
I will be a regular now and will search for the time and money to be able to go back again.
It is worth every dollar and more....

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALPLUVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is an amazing bed and breakfast! This was our 3rd visit to this hotel and each time it gets better and better. We love the personal touch that is priceless. The rooms are perfectly decorated and the food never stops...Our favorite part is the mascot dog Kona. She is so freindly and makes us feel very welcomed by remembering us each time we visit. David and Christine the owners are always on site and giving us tips on what to do in Tahoe which makes everything we do even better..We love the fire pit at night and the jacuzzi. The kids always play in the game room. This hotel has something for all ages and located in the middle of anything you would want to do. We will be back!! Thank you for all of our presious family memories...Love, The Joseph Family

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJoseph0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Not exactly a B&B, or a motel or lodge so it's hard to rate. The host and hostess do EVERYTHING to make their guests happy: free bikes and kayaks, water, juice, coffee, tea all day, daily breakfast, happy hour with free wine and tizers, s'more cooking till 10:00, spit-spot clean everywhere, games, a full honor bar, selected menus of local restaurants, excellent directions to sites... no kidding everything you could ask. The rooms include very fully equipped kitchens, complete with a mini-slow cooker.

The only thing we can't rave about is the size of the rooms. We were in our room only from 11:00 to 8:00, but still the room is crowded and the bathroom is small with very little shelf space. We were at the end of a two week trip with every kind of weather so we had a lot of bags... a whole lot, and that contributed to the crowding, but still, the rooms were small. Would we go back? Definitely!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarryFLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My wife and I spent two days at the Fireside Lodge and really enjoyed our stay there. Great South Lake Tahoe location with easy access to at least three very nice beaches. The free bikes are a nice treat that we took advantage of both days. It's great to leave the car parked and bike to the beach and/or restaurants.

We really enjoyed sitting around the fire pit in the evenings roasting marshmellows. Met a very nice couple from La Quinta there one evening. Also logged some time in the hammack. The outdoor space at the Fireside is fantastic.

Because they are pet and animal friendly there are a lot of kids and pets there so you really do need to love animals and not mind kids. We loved the animals but some of the kids were rather load at times.

The hostess (can't remember her name) and Kona were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and enjoyed the nightly wine and appetizers.

Overall highly recommended, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKPROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
3.2 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
225 reviews
3.9 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
493 reviews
3.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
4 mi away
Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Brea...
#1 of 3 in South Lake Tahoe
374 reviews
22.1 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 515 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6505
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $154 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe's only all-inclusive premier bed and breakfast lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Fireside Lodge b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing