We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Everything, but the Rooms and Bathrooms are Small” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
207 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fabulous Everything, but the Rooms and Bathrooms are Small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Not exactly a B&B, or a motel or lodge so it's hard to rate. The host and hostess do EVERYTHING to make their guests happy: free bikes and kayaks, water, juice, coffee, tea all day, daily breakfast, happy hour with free wine and tizers, s'more cooking till 10:00, spit-spot clean everywhere, games, a full honor bar, selected menus of local restaurants, excellent directions to sites... no kidding everything you could ask. The rooms include very fully equipped kitchens, complete with a mini-slow cooker.

The only thing we can't rave about is the size of the rooms. We were in our room only from 11:00 to 8:00, but still the room is crowded and the bathroom is small with very little shelf space. We were at the end of a two week trip with every kind of weather so we had a lot of bags... a whole lot, and that contributed to the crowding, but still, the rooms were small. Would we go back? Definitely!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryFLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
97
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
197 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

My wife and I spent two days at the Fireside Lodge and really enjoyed our stay there. Great South Lake Tahoe location with easy access to at least three very nice beaches. The free bikes are a nice treat that we took advantage of both days. It's great to leave the car parked and bike to the beach and/or restaurants.

We really enjoyed sitting around the fire pit in the evenings roasting marshmellows. Met a very nice couple from La Quinta there one evening. Also logged some time in the hammack. The outdoor space at the Fireside is fantastic.

Because they are pet and animal friendly there are a lot of kids and pets there so you really do need to love animals and not mind kids. We loved the animals but some of the kids were rather load at times.

The hostess (can't remember her name) and Kona were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and enjoyed the nightly wine and appetizers.

Overall highly recommended, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKPROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Dave and Christine are top notch owners. This B&B has everything from wine hour to smores to trails to the beach. The rooms are cute and extremely comfortable. We stayed there on our honeymoon. Dave called and made arrangements for our celebration dinner and the resteraunt had congratulations menus waiting for us. We plan to go back. It's cozy and warm and just wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndnexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

Amazing for our whole family!! If you have kids this will be their favorite place! I saw this place on-line and we decided to give it a shot. Super cute rooms-very clean, very accommodating. They go the extra mile to make sure their guests have everything they need. I am 29 and after years of staying in corporate hotel chains it is refreshing to see people that take pride in their establishment and care about people having a good time- this kind of thing only existed before my time (or so Ive heard).

We decided to come up for a 2 day getaway so the kids could play in the snow. I didn't want to schedule anything like ski lessons- my 5 1/2 year old would have enjoyed that but I had visions of my almost 4 year old stomping around in the snow complaining while I paid a ski instructor to watch. This place had everything we wanted. In the morning you get to make your own waffles with batter they supply (super easy and delicious- the set up on this is so cute) there were juices, hardboiled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, many seasoning, fruits, etc.... even syrup warmers. They have coffee and one of those machine that puts out hot chocolate, mocha, French vanilla, etc that you are free to use anytime. They make a sled hill out back and there are plenty of sleds to choose from....They even build a snow staircase up the side of it so it is easy for the younger kids to climb up. Complementary snow shows or skis if you want to give it a try. We didn't have anything to make a snowman with and they got us a hat, scarf, buttons for the face and little plastic eyeballs for the kids to put on.

When not in the snow my son was in the game room playing air hockey and ski ball. The machine gives tickets and they have a prize cabinet set up so by the end of your stay they can pick a prize. They also have one of the old claw machines that actually picks up the stuffed animals. My daughter was thrilled to win a couple of those.

There was a full honor bar for the adults- make yourself a drink and throw some money in the bucket, and beer on draft. In the evening they do complementary wine and cheese and it really brings the guests together- Next thing you know people were busting out $200 bottles of wine and tequilas from 1921 lol. One night I was in there until midnight with everyone- It was a great time- great people. They also do complementary marshmallow roast for everyone at 7pm at their outdoor fire-pit that all the kids really enjoyed. They had a Jacuzzi and sauna and also an entire dvd/vhs library that you are welcome to choose from and take back to your room. P.S. they spent $4000 per mattress in every room. The beds are the best I've ever slept on.

There were so many things that made this place amazing. It was great to go up to Tahoe with no agenda and have EVERYONE in our family have a great time. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmoryCaliKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

ok I stayed here a while back Christmas 2007 but i have such good memories i had to write a review. This was the best Christmas ever! It was a family trip parents,sister 15yrs,brother 6yrs and 19 yrs at the time.

The rooms were clean smelling good and felt so cozy plus there were treats for us. The owners are nice sweet people who you can clearly see love what they do. The breakfast was AMAZING Christine made egg & bacon quiche OMG we fell in love asked for the recipe and until this day we still make it for breakfast! Their dog Kona is the sweetest Dog. Dave was also very helpful our parents took off to the casinos we wanted junk food he took my little sister and brother to McDonalds, he didn't have to but he went out of his way to make sure our stay was 100% perfect. The chocolate and smores were so much fun the game room this place is perfect! cant wait to go back. I will never forget this vacation as it was the last family vacation before my parents divorced after 23 yrs of marriage. I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rd2richs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

Great, relaxing place to stay in Tahoe. Rooms were very clean, lodge decor was wonderful--loved the outdoor theme. The "waffle bar" breakfast was outstanding! We especially enjoyed the lodge with games, snacks and drinks, movies and the s'mores each night. Thank you Christine and David!--we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

The very friendly service makes this a wonderful place to stay. Breakfast in the morning, happy hour in the evening, and roasting marsh mellows by the fire at night. They have bikes and kayaks available for free. The owners are always available to offer tips for things to do in and around Tahoe. The rooms are very nice and well kept.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdub30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
3.9 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
3.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
4.8 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
4.9 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 515 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6505
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe's only all-inclusive premier bed and breakfast lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fireside Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Fireside Lodge b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing