We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and great location!”
Review of Paradice Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradice Motel
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here over the labor day weekend. From the start to the end the experience was outstanding.

We were driving early from the bay area, so we called and asked if we could do an early check in. The person on the line said he'd call if a room becomes available. We didn't expect much, but one hour away from Tahoe he called and said the room is available! I truly didn't expect that he'd note this down and actually follow up on this.

When we reached, we asked how we should plan our trip and Kathy was super useful and gave us a good itinerary on what to do (hikes, lakes to visit, timing etc).

The room itself was comfortable and well appointed. As others have noted, there are nice small touches like a personal welcome note, chocolates and other goodies left each night. There is no AC but there is a nice quiet portable fan which does the job. The bathroom is large and clean, and the fixtures look quite new and updated.

The hotels location is great. Its a block away from the Heavenly resort, and the Marriot hotel, which has tons of restaurants and bars. Its also a few blocks away from a private beach. As an FYI, the hotel can give you a free pass for the beach.

Kathy was also very helpful in giving us food recommendations. She provided great alternatives, and also called and made reservations for us. They have coffee and pastries for breakfast, along with great conversation. The owners also have amazingly cute dogs, who we could not get enough of. Every morning during breakfast, we'd go get coffee and some pastries and then cuddle with the dogs, with all of us sitting down on the floor of the reception.

Overall, I couldn't find a fault with this place. The hotel and location is great, but the service is even better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moss_toss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 340 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Paradice Motel for 4 nights in August 2013!!! It was an amazing experience for us!!! We were celebrating our 37 year wedding anniversary. Kathy and Tai were unbelievable. They greeted us like we were family! When we went to our beautiful room they had a note welcoming us on the bulletin board with fresh flowers, chocolate kisses and wine with 2 glasses!!! The room was beautifully decorated and extremely clean. They recommended fantastic restaurants and great activities to do!!! Each night we returned they had another beverage, chocolate kisses and wine. When we left we felt like we were leaving family!! They gave us water for the trip home!! They are incredible people! The last night we met Uwe! We loved them all!!! Estee & Steve

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great family run business with people who care. A small motel that has been updated. the property is in a fantastic location walking distance, 3 blocks to the beach on the quiet California side , but close enough to state line to walk to the casinos and entertainment. The staff provided local tips based on local knowledge that helped us find great local haunts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nebraskaborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Owners and son were excellent, very informative, room was great, little extra like fruit, sweets etc
Extremely informative regarding local area,supplied beach pass, never even asked
Glad to share cuddles with their dogs
Even supplied "goody bag" when we left, excellent all round service

Room Tip: Just book cannot find any faults :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Essex999999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Paradice is a great motel. The owner greated us warmly, answered our questions about restaurant recommendations and even made the reservation for us as we settled into our room. It was so fun to walk in to our room and find a personalized "welcome" note on a small black board on the wall. Wrapped candies on our pillow and fruit on the shelves were fun added touches. The owner also helped us with general California information and after talking with him, we made slight changes to our route that were fantastic. We appreciated his interest and added helpfulness. Although the hotel is an older building, it was impeccably clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Beginning with our call to make a reservation and the personal helpfulness of Ty, the Paradice Motel experience was perfect. We had originally planned to stay just one night on our road trip, but after a few hours we quickly changed our itinerary and stayed an extra night.
The motel is perfectly located walking distance to everything so that you can park the car and forget about it. We began the day with a left turn from the Paradice parking lot and walked to the Heavenly gondola for a day of hiking and mountain views. The afternoon was a right turn for a short walk to the beach.
Our room was spacious, immaculately clean, peacefully quiet, and comfortable in a personal way that so many generic chain hotels lack. Breakfast was bottomless cups of coffee and tea along with fresh baked rolls over wonderful conversation with Kathy, Uwe, and Ty.
With so many hotels plotted throughout the Tahoe area, the Paradice Motel offers the perfect experience of location, value, and priceless atmosphere of a family owned and managed hotel.
As a mid-aged couple with extensive global travel experience along with my wife owning and managing a small hotel in Asia, we look for something special when we book a reservation even for one night. The Paradice Motel surprised even us with an extra-special experience and we will certainly visit the area again just to spend time with Kathy, Uwe, Ty and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry_Darrell_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a special motel. It's small, clean and away from the crowded street, (yet close enough to walk to restaurants, shops, grocery store, etc). We were made to feel so special and welcome! I would stay there again without any hesitation. Loved it.

Room Tip: Only issue: no AC. Thankfully, it doesn't get too hot in South Lake Tahoe in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#22 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avalon Lodge
Avalon Lodge
#48 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#20 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station House Inn
Best Western Station House Inn
#12 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradice Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradice Motel

Address: 953 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6939
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $65 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradice Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and recently remodeled and revamped, Paradice Motel is now Lake Tahoe's premier boutique motel. We are centrally located in the heart of all the action in South Lake Tahoe. Just a block from the base of the Heavenly Gondola, two blocks from one of Lake Tahoe's finest private beaches and three blocks from Stateline and the casinos, the Paradice Motel is truly paradise found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Groupon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Paradice Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradice Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Paradice Motel Lake Tahoe
Paradice Hotel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing