We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful relaxing stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradice Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradice Motel
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Concord, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wow, the reviews were right. Kathy and Uwe were so great! While this place is not luxurious, it is made wonderful by the owners' meticulous care of it's patrons. Clean, and a very close walk to the beaches, casinos, restaurants, etc. Kathy made us reservations for a sunset dinner at Edgewood which was amazing. She also offered excellent advice on where to eat and what to do. This place is an amazing find for the price (especially over a holiday weekend).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    57
    12
    1
    6
See reviews for
87
153
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Overall, it is a great motel. It is clean, convenient to beach and main street. Furthermore, what make it stand out is the host, who is kind, informative and warm-hearted. She tried her best to make us feel being home.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

was here with my daddy and mommy for my graduation trip. this cozy, beautiful and warm place is owned by a wonderful family (kathy and her hubby and her son&daughter and her dogs). they are so welcoming, and are always there and ready to help, to give advice to the travelers who have no idea what to do in the area. you can just tell from the details of decoration, the books and everything that they have put a lot of efforts to make sure everyone who stays with them to have a wonderful experience. i highly recommend this hotel, for couple/family/friends to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LexieYa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurman34, Owner at Paradice Motel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you, thank you,thank you for the kind words and choosing to spend part of you graduation trip with us. Hope the rest of your travels was as awesome as Tahoe and your parents made it back to China safely. Thank you again, Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Paradice and we loved it. The location of the motel is perfect for taking a walk down to the lake or into "town". The room was large and lovely decorated and clean. And where do you still get fruit, water and even a little chocolate as part of turndown service! In the morning we were greeted with coffee and muffins. However what makes the Paradice Motel so special are the owners. They made us feel like (welcome) family. Our daughter fell in love with their dogs. Kathy and Uwe were happily let her play with them. They always had time to chat or give a suggestion of what to do or where to eat. Upon check out we were even provided with a care package including snacks and water bottles. I cannot recommend this place enough! Our next trip to SLT will certainly include staying at the Paradice Motel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LasVegasTini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurman34, Owner at Paradice Motel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you, thank you,thank you for the kind words and choosing to spend part of you graduation trip with us. Hope the rest of your travels was as awesome as Tahoe and your parents made it back to China safely. Thank you again, Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I visited South Lake Tahoe as part of a honeymoon roadtrip through California. Having read many good reviews of Paradice Motel it seemed to meet our short-stay needs perfectly. We couldn't have chosen better! Kathy and Uwe were the most welcoming couple, owners and hosts. We knew nothing about the area and they gave us great advice on where to eat, drink, hike and relax. Uwe even gave us a lift down to the local golf club bar to have a drink and watch the sunset one evening. Having planned to stay for two nights, we decided to stay for three as we felt so comfortable, looked after and relaxed.

Our room was large and spacious, with a big bed and tastefully furnished. Kathy provides lots of nice personal touches to make the stay more memorable including a turndown service. We slept well and comfortably and enjoyed chatting to our hosts over a tea and a muffin in reception in the morning. The motel is very conveniently located in the centre of SLT, near Heavenly Village, bars, restaurants and the Lake.

If we ever return the Lake Tahoe we would be delighted stay again. Say hi to Kathy & Uwe for us!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skinnyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurman34, Owner at Paradice Motel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Cheers to the both of you!! Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your special time. I am glad Tahoe was one of your stops and you had an amazing time here. Congratulations! Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Paradice is by far the BEST hotel I've ever been to. And you know that's true when you yourself want to write an awesome review about this place while your manager is standing on your head for task completion. Well, we traveled to Tahoe with absolutely no planning whatsoever and had no clue what we were gonna do. Fortunately we decided to rent a room in Paradice and Kathy helped us all the way from food and drinks to skiing and adventure sports. When we reached there and told Kathy we have absolutely nothing planned she was more than happy to give us some really useful and wonderful tips around the place. If you happen to stay there and love Mexican food, definitely ask her about the really wonderful Mexican place nearby.

The service here is exceptionally well and the care that Kathy and Uwe take of you makes you feel at home. I loved how we were always fed as we'd enter the room; chocolates or fruits or energy bars and what not. The rooms are spacious and wonderful and the motel is located at just the right place.. not too far from the lake and near to the casinos and heavenly at the same time. We were really realllllly lucky to bump into this motel and stay there instead of some other piece of pretentious crap.

Room Tip: Well we stayed in Room 34 and was perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saksham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurman34, Owner at Paradice Motel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
OMG!! To my two crazy new friends. I don't know what we would have done differently for you if this was planned because you did it all. Talk about "going for it". I love it. Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hands down, this was some of the BEST service I have ever had... and that includes the fancy 4 and 5-star hotels Ive been to. Big chains could learn a thing or two from Kathy and Uwe. They really know how to take care of their customers and make them feel at home and make them feel special.

My fiance and I stayed at Paradice for our anniversary weekend. In truth, I turned my nose up at first. I travel a lot for work and always stay in super nice, plush hotels so I was a bit reluctant to stay at a motel in s. lake. My man did a ton of research and assured me that this wasn't just any motel. He was right. Within minutes of being there, my whole mindset changed.

There was a personalized welcome sign for us in our room, along with candies and fruit. Kathy had researched the best place to have a sunset dinner and booked us a dinner reservation. Uwe DROVE us there in his own car! We had perrier and chocolates waiting for us at our room, which had been turned down for the evening, when we returned. I was in shock. Talk about being pampered! It was wonderful!

The rooms are big and sparkling clean, the sheets are super soft, the beds are comfy and the atmosphere is so welcoming. Kathy and Uwe might be the nicest people in the world, I felt lucky to have had a booking there. Well be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurman34, Owner at Paradice Motel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
I love when everything works out perfectly and our guest has an exceptional experience. Cheers to your anniversary and happy trails! Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.0 mi away
968 Park Hotel
968 Park Hotel
#17 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.4 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#7 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#31 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#19 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#26 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradice Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradice Motel

Property: Paradice Motel
Address: 953 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6939
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradice Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and recently remodeled and revamped, Paradice Motel is now Lake Tahoe's premier boutique motel. We are centrally located in the heart of all the action in South Lake Tahoe. Just a block from the base of the Heavenly Gondola, two blocks from one of Lake Tahoe's finest private beaches and three blocks from Stateline and the casinos, the Paradice Motel is truly paradise found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Groupon, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Paradice Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradice Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Paradice Motel Lake Tahoe
Paradice Hotel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing