We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent everything!!”
Review of Paradice Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradice Motel
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Yerington, Nevada
1 review
“Excellent everything!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Every time I am in Lake Tahoe I will stay here! The owners were so helpful and welcoming. It felt like I was at a relative's home instead of a motel. The rooms were clean, inviting and even had books to read!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AletaMansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurman34, Owner at Paradice Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We love when our guest feel like they have been welcomed into our home and they had a great time in Tahoe and will come back again. Enjoyed having stay with us and we look forward to the next visit. Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    60
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
89
159
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice clean room...fully loaded with TV/internet, fridge and microwave...comfortable bed!!! Friendly service...great location close to casinos, mountain and beach...won't stay any other place!!! Very satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurman34, Owner at Paradice Motel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We love to hear our guest were pleased with their stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review it is nice to know you were "Happy Customers". Mahalo, Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were lucky to find out that Paradice had one room available Saturday morning on the busy Labor Day weekend. We needed a 2-bedroom suite and they had it. The room is quite nice, full of little DETAILS that make you feel comfortable and happy. But most importantly, Kathy who runs the place was just amazing as she pretty much became our Tahoe tour guide! She had great ideas and recommendations based on our goals for the weekend. We really appreciated this! In a time when technology does so much (we found them on Trip Advisor, oooof course), it's the people who make the difference at the end of the day. Thanks and hope to be back soon! ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delanuez23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurman34, Owner at Paradice Motel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We look forward to the next time. It was our pleasure to share our knowledge of Tahoe with your family thank you for choosing to stay with us. Maybe we'll see you when the salmon start to spawn this fall. Until then all our ALOHA! Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We needed to get away. It had been two years since our last overnight date, alone, without kids, away. We wanted to go to Lake Tahoe. We wanted to drink, gamble, relax and be adults, on an adult date. And, we wanted to make sure we stayed at a place where we could walk everywhere, because we were on a mission, and driving was out of the question.

I researched hotels and resorts and casinos for weeks. I read reviews, played on Hotwire, Expedia and Travelocity. I almost fell for the low price guarantee on Priceline. But nothing felt right. Paying $300-$350 per night was out of our price range. But unless you want to stay at a 1 star place, that’s what you’re going to pay. We don’t get out enough to settle for 1 star. Plus, I am a hotel snob, but also a money saver. I like the little things—good shampoo and soap. Comfy beds. Clean bathroom tiles. Fair prices. Most of all, I like good service, and happy people.

I was beginning to feel like we were going to be stuck booking an expensive room at one of the casinos. We were married at one, so why not just book it and deal with the idiocies that come with.

Then, I decided to search for hotels by traveler review. I saw Paradice Motel and was about to skip it simply because it was a “Motel.” But then I read the reviews, and I was blown away. People love this place, they couldn’t say enough nice things. They took photos, and spoke of the owners as if they were long lost relatives—the ones you like, and wish lived closer.

I decided to email the Motel and was excited to get a very sweet response within a few hours. Kathy was eager to please and promised to make this the best stay ever—and she went above and beyond.

The room was a good size, updated décor, clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable. We were greeted with a bottle of wine and two glasses, and there were chocolates on the pillows along with several trial sized packets of Tom’s deodorant, EmergenC, snacks and granola bars.

Kathy gave us some ideas of where to spend our day, and we had a blast. The Motel was quiet and we slept great. The next day when we left, she gave us brown paper lunch bags full of snacks and water for the long drive home.

I have never hugged an employee of a motel or hotel…until now.

Overall--a great price, a short walk to the casinos and happy employees, plus there is a $1 taco joint around the corner that had delicious authentic mexican food.

I only gave it 4/5 stars because we met some friends up there and they stayed in the same motel—and their room didn’t have an air conditioner. It was a random hot weekend and they were pretty miserable. But our room had air and we were happy.


We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Get a room with a heater/air conditioner...you might need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4garcias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Kathy is so sweet and gave tons of helpful advice on the area. The room is so adorably decorated and has everything you need plus some really helpful snacks! It is close to the mountain, restaurants, stores and very close to the lake.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valtira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurman34, Owner at Paradice Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are a small family run business that try to be a pleasant surprise for our guest and create a relaxing environment for their stay in Tahoe. Thank you again, Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed for just 2 nights a couple of weeks ago and I booked it after reading positive reviews on this site.

Nice location and we had room 25 (i think) which is a 2 bedroomed 'suite'. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. We had a fridge and a microwave too.

We got a ticket to a private beach lakeside which was a 5 min walk away, very nice.

The people that run this place though really make it and really took trouble in getting to understand what we liked or might be looking for before recommending restaurants etc. which, incidentally, were all spot-on!

Lots of little touches like delivering snacks into your room, bottles of sparkling water, good complimentary toiletries!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickkenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurman34, Owner at Paradice Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We love it when our guest enjoy our recommendations. Tahoe has a lot to offer and there is something for everyone any where from fine dining to cheap eats. It is our job to steer you in the right direction to experience the best of Tahoe. Thanks for staying with us, Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful, welcoming staff! Very accomodating, answered all our questions. Lovely upgraded room, with lots of "goodies", even "turn down service". Definitely not your typical motor lodge! What a find!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank smurf25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurman34, Owner at Paradice Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are always happy when our guest are pleasantly pleased by what we do here at the Paradice Motel. Its all about you having a great time in Tahoe! Mahalo, Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#27 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
#48 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#23 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradice Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradice Motel

Property: Paradice Motel
Address: 953 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6939
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradice Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and recently remodeled and revamped, Paradice Motel is now Lake Tahoe's premier boutique motel. We are centrally located in the heart of all the action in South Lake Tahoe. Just a block from the base of the Heavenly Gondola, two blocks from one of Lake Tahoe's finest private beaches and three blocks from Stateline and the casinos, the Paradice Motel is truly paradise found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Paradice Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradice Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Paradice Motel Lake Tahoe
Paradice Hotel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing