We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O.K. Only stay of you like noise.”
Review of Cedar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Inn
Ranked #47 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed January 14, 2008

My wife and I drove to S. Lake Tahoe for the day and decided to spend the night. We drove around and choose The Cedar Inn. It is very close to the main casinos, plus it looked nice. We are also members of AAA, which they advertised outside. After waiting in the lobby for 10 minutes an Asian man with little/no English came out and mumbled to me "hold on". A few minutes later his wife (I think) came out and greeted me. I asked what their rates were for the night (Monday). She said they had one unit available. It had a small kitchen and was $65 per night. She said it was the only room available for the night and she was giving me a special price. I asked her "what type of discount was available for being a member of AAA?" She said none, because she was already giving me a special price. I did not want to haggle with her so I said fine.

After parking I realized there was only one other car in the parking lot. How could they only have one room left? Not to mention it was twice the cost of the other rooms! And if you leave a dirty dish in the kitchen they will charge you an additional $25!!!

The Spa was closed and our room was next to their laundry room. Well, the next morning from 6:00 a.m. until 8:30 a.m. was very loud. It sounded like they were opening and slamming drawers, cabinets, and doors non-stop. Once we were ready to check out, they had stopped the entire racket.

I would not stay here again. There are many other Hotels/Motels in the area. I should have went to another Hotel/Motel.

Keep looking around!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank trustSantaCruz_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 41 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2006

This motel is OK but it had a few problems and it's likely you could do better for the price. I would rate it at 1.5*. The room had somewhat worn furnishings and is a 1* but the bathroom had been renovated at some point and could be rated a 2*. There were some amenities in the room: microwave, refrigerator, TV, phone, desk, table, and chairs. The cable TV was poor and only got 15 or so channels. One nice amenity the room had is a working air conditioner. While most people will say it's not needed on a typical summer day, it will cool the room down much faster! The bathroom had wall mounted dispensers for bath gel, shampoo, hand soap, and lotion which I usually prefer to small bars or packets of soap or shampoo. The small packets of soap were provided, though, in case that's your preference. The room was very clean. When checking in, I just paid for the room and got the keys without getting any additional information from the proprietor. It would have been nice to have been told about the free beach passes. Their web site claims a continental breakfast but I did not see any evidence of it nor was I told about it. The biggest problem I had was the noise in the motel. The floors squeak and when the neighbors walk around you hear the squeaks from their rooms! Also, Stateline Ave was surprisingly busy with bus and truck traffic even late at night. I would look for a location further from the casinos if you want a good night's sleep.

While it is probably obvious from reading various reviews, this motel is miscategorized here as a "B&B/Inn" and those looking for that type of experience are sure to be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank giantsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2005

My husband and infant son stayed here during thanksgiving weekend 2005. We stayed in room #8 which had one queen bed and a mini-fridge. We'd stay there again. The management were very friendly and patient, both when I called with questions in advance and during our stay. The heaters worked very well. The casinos are very close walking distance, as is the lake.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nksnbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2005

We stayed here for 2 nights last week. Room #10, upstairs. Very comfortable bed and clean room. Carpet is reminiscent of the 80's. Proprietor is extremely polite, friendly and helpful. On one night, the Eagles were playing an outdoor concert in the field behind Harveys across the street. All the Cedar Inn patrons brought lawn chairs out to the parking lot for a group party. No, we couldn't see the Eagles, but we had front row listening seats.

If you're not planning on spending lengthy periods of time in the room and want great convenience to the beach and casinos, and are value-oriented, this is the place

2  Thank agalooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank Oleg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johndevries01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ottoline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#32 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Lodge
Avalon Lodge
#48 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#24 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#22 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
515 reviews
0 mi away
Alpine Inn & Spa
Alpine Inn & Spa
#34 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Inn

Address: 890 Stateline Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6970
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $68 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cozy Cedar Inn & Suites is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. We are only 1 block away from Harvey's Casino/famous Edgewood Golf Course, 2 blocks away from the Private Lakeside Beach, 3 blocks away from Heavenly Gondola. Cedar Inn & Suites is a relaxing destination that is conveniently positioned near all the fine attractions that Lake Tahoe has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing