We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst customer service ever!!!”
Review of Pinewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pinewood Inn
Ranked #58 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed April 27, 2010

First i want to say that the hotel/motel is located in a convenient area by the casinos, and you do get what you pay for as far as the rooms go, and I already knew this when I booked my room, saying that I want to say that this was the worst hotel experience I have ever had in my life. The hotel is ran by a married couple and their son, and they clearly have no clue what good customer service is; I booked a room and clearly stating in the reservation that there would be three of us staying in the room and made the wife aware of this when I checked in; the next morning as we were checking out and she came to our room screaming at us not only disrespecting me but also disrespecting my wife saying that we had not told her that there would be three of us in the room and that she was going to charge us an extra $50.00 to my credit card, and when we were still trying to be polite with her and explain to her that we had made the reservation for three and had let her know when we checked in, her husband then says he was going to call the police to get us to leave, so we told him to go ahead and call and that we would do the same and let them know what scam business they are running and that we would make sure to call the better business bureau and the building code inspector because the place was very run down. At that point the husband quickly hung up the phone and just told us to leave and then the son walks up to us and starts asking to check our ID's like he was the police and that's when I started to get furious and told him to get out of my face. I will never go back to this place and recommend anyone who is thinkning about staying here to book elsewhere, there are plenty of other hotels/motels for the same price that are going to treat you in this terrible manner. This is the WORST HOTEL AND WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I HAVE EVER EXPEREINCED AND I AM MAKING IT MY MISSION TO MAKE SURE OTHER PEOPLE DO NOT HAVE THE SAME EXPERIENCE!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PAYDRO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2010

i had to cancel my stay at this motel , called and gave 48 hour notice. gentleman on phone assured me my reservation was cancelled come to find out he charged my card, when i called to discuss it with him , his response was you didnt talk to me and im the only one who answers the phone, you should of cancelled with the agency you booked it with i held it open even after you didnt show the first nite. to bad ... rude and disceptive business practices read the reviews on cleansliness for this place before you book as well

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank bonnierea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

I'll admit, I was not happy that I was booked at the Pinewood Inn after reading a number of horrible reviews. But, after staying there, I can say that it was fine for a budget hotel. This is a Mom & Pop hotel that looks like it's had a recent fix up/paint up. The parking area had recently been seal coated and was not in disrepair. Our room had a king-sized bed which was large for the small room, but not a problem. The heat/, TV, shower and toilet all worked fine with no problems. One lamp had a burned out light. The carpet, though not new, was reasonably clean (it had been vacuumed and there was no loose dirt anywhere). The room was small and there was a small desk in it as well as the big bed, and there was a refrigerator (and a microwave, I think).

Final assessment: It met my expectations and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobRinILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

I would like to be compensated for my rooms that I purchased for Lake Tahoe. I had booked 2 rooms with the rating of 2 stars. It was one of the most embarrassing moments of my life when I saw the condition of the hotel that I was to be staying in. I had out of town guests and had booked a 2 star room for the 2 groups of people. The hotel was in need of maintenance on the outside. The concrete in the parking lots were cracking. The sidewalks going into the rooms were all broken or falling apart, and in general very rundown condition. The whole motel had either cracking paint or no paint with rotting wood on the sides. When we entered the room I was disgusted. The carping was extremely dirty and in need of cleaning, ripped or stained in places. The chairs were ripped with foam protruding out of the sides. The dressers and misc furniture were in terrible shape with fronts of dresser doors busted apart and in no shape to be utilized. The beds were squishy very uncomfortable that made sleeping a task. The doors had no inside security, no dead bolt locks. The rooms smelled of mildew and everyone in both parties had headaches and nasal congestion while staying in the rooms. The curtains were thin and let in outside light at night from the parking lot thus making sleeping difficult. I had booked these rooms as a present for friends of mine and I felt extremely let down in the condition that we found the motel. I feel that someone should have screened the motel better from priceline.com so that this might not have happened. I paid $125.00 dollars a night for each room and this was not fair. I could have found a better motel and price at motel 6 or super 8 for a one star hotel, for one third of the price! I need to be compensated for the poor quality of the rooms and motel. If this is how Priceline.com is doing business, than I need to look elsewhere and so should everyone else! I expect a response from Priceline.com.

Stayed: July 2008
3  Thank wmay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016
Thank RvS2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Лучше посмотреть на другие мотели, которых рядом много примерно за ту же цену.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Константин Б
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
Thank Anastasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#40 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
#49 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#32 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#60 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
562 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#24 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelers Inn & Suites
Travelers Inn & Suites
#41 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Inn

Address: 3818 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8905
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $39 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pinewood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pinewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing