We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It may be short, but surprisingly difficult”

Tahoe Paradise Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come play one of Lake Tahoe’s most scenic and affordable golf courses nestled in the majestic pines of the Sierra Nevada Mountains, just four miles from South Lake Tahoe. Here amongst the trees, you will find one of the most beautiful and relaxing 18 holes on any executive course. Our course is fun to play and definitely a challenge for all golfers! We offer walking and riding rates seven days a week for the golfers that like to exercise or want to save money. We also offer specials throughout the day for the best golf value. Tahoe Paradise Golf Course is a full service course with a Pro-Shop, practice facilities and a Snack Bar with great hot dogs, drinks and more! Make sure to visit us soon and enjoy your time in Tahoe.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It may be short, but surprisingly difficult”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Played in late August 2013 and the course was in pretty good shape considering it was the end of tourist season. It's a short course with the longest hole of about 340 yards, but because the course is uphill and downhill and through the pines with some narrow windows to hit off the tee, it is surprisingly difficult. I'm a 11 index, so I'm not that good but not that bad either.

We played for a very reasonable green fee including cart because we could not justify the much higher cost to play the other area courses. Ask for the senior discount.

No driving range, but they let you hit balls into a net to loosen up.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptDick9977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An iron workout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Holy moly this course was tough in that the fairways are more narrow than we are used to and the greens undulate in various directions, generally resulting in the hole spitting your ball out. But it was a fantastic experience nonetheless. We never had a player ahead or behind us for any of the holes. The guys in the shop are great. It's Tahoe, so expect a lot of tree ricochets.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“It is Paradise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a very friendly golf course--an 18 hole course that goes through the woods that you can play for a cheap price and can almost always get on by walking up. That said, it is anything but a "high end" golf course--the greens are OK, the fairways are adequate, and there are trees that get in the way. For example, there is one hole where there is a tree blocking the right side of the green on a short par three. But part of the fun in golf, IMO, is figuring out what to do in situations that are unusual--if you don't want obstacles, go to the place where the windmill opens up to allow your ball through occasionally.

The real buy on the course, if you are going to play more than once, is the annual card. For a really small amount of money, you get a free round and a significant discount on future rounds.

Of course, do not expect to play this course in the October through April period--it's likely to be under snow. And early in the season, the greens are not yet really very good. But hey, if you're out here for fun, this is a fun course.

The course has decent gas carts, is very walkable, and has a friendly staff.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LagunaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty Decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I liked this course but found the T-times to be a bit off. I had to wait several times during the day. The course however is beautiful, right up agains the water.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tahoe Paradise golf outing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Not exactly paradise but an older course with lots of slopes, narrow fairways and lots of pine trees. Golf club rentals are very old clubs that I never heard of. You'll find lots of novice golfers and teenagers here due to the lower rates.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank charlie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tahoe Paradise Golf Course also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Tahoe Paradise Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing