We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hide away!”
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alder Inn
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Very nice. Was not expecting it to be as nice as it was. Outside looks like a motel but the rooms are updated and very clean. Just down the street from state line but quiet enough to enjoy the trees. Down the road from heavenly.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 823 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Alder in was a lovely place that was perfect for a traveler like me. The rooms are beautifully decorated with comfortable contemporary furniture and big spacious beds. The swimming pool and hot tube were an awesome place to wind down after each day. Taylor and Cynthia were so friendly and helpful to a first timer in Tahoe. This is a must stay!

Room Tip: Every Room is Great and Unique in their subtle themes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwilkes53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This looks like just a motel on the outside but you will be pleasantly surprised. We went in the off season so it was really inexpensive. So clean and the most comfortable bed. Wonderful little touches - giant coffee mugs, coffee maker, glasses and wine bottle opener, frig and microwave. Decorate so very nice and even chocolates left for us. We had room 21 with a big king size bed. Even a fan overhead for comfort. My only complaint was the room next door was occupied and they were using there shower when I was. The water kept going from hot to cold. Great location for walking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel due to other great reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed! The location is great!... About a block from a beach and marina. There are also a small handful of restaurants within a block or two. Also, the lovely Heavenly Village is an easy 1 mile walk. The hospitality at this little place was very helpful and friendly! The old motel style of the property, with chairs and seating areas also encouraged friendliness amongst other travelers. Although there is an old motel feel to the architecture, the new updates and interiors make this a clean and very comfortable quaint place to stay. I would recommend this place to couples looking for a cute, reasonably priced place to stay within walking distance of restaurants and the lake.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Trimanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Would like to give it 4 1/2 stars for great budget lodging in Tahoe. An older motel that’s been updated with very cute rooms/decor, but a few things were not updated (the Formica bathroom sink for example). Very clean rooms with super-comfy, soft sheets and flat screen TV’s. The heater worked well. Friendly staff. Driving or biking distance to the casino area, but in a nice quiet neighborhood with some restaurants in walking distance. We took an evening stroll down the street and it was very nice, quiet and beautiful. Good value…would definitely stay here again while in Tahoe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelOn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We went to Tahoe on a whim and picked the Adler out of a travel book. What a choice. It was the off season but we got great rooms for very reasonable rates. Each room is an individual decor. Great beds and coverings. If you have a "honey" and looking for a quaint, clean and cozy place call the Adler. If you come in a little later you may find your keys in the box on the door of the office but a person is right nearby at a second set of units. Very close to the actions but not in it.

Room Tip: Try the King rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BOMAN3672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this nice little motel over the weekend. My wife and I love the little touches in the room. All of the rooms have an individual motif. Very friendly staff. Close to Tahoe attractions and casinos. Comfortable beds and nice bathrobes. All in all a wonderful stay.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jeff12898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
219 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $101 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing