We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alder Inn
Nearby Hotels
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$292
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Azure(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$251
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$429
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Timber Lodge(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Landing Resort & Spa(South Lake Tahoe)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $351/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$222
$186
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of $319/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (854)
Filter reviews
854 results
Traveler rating
624
197
28
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
624
197
28
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubred hutski runwine glasseskeurig coffee makerping pong tablegreat place to staywithin walking distancewould definitely stay here againquiet locationceiling fanthe main draglocation is greatmini fridgeshort drivebed was very comfortableheavenly ski resort
Filter
Updating list...
505 - 510 of 854 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This cute inn knows how to treat their guests right! We had trouble to lock the door the first night. We told the staff in morning and by the time we returned it was fixed. Further more, they were more than kind to help us confirm the rental reservations which took quite a long time. It was really generous! We appreciate it a lot.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

This place has got style! It's not a "super expensive, caters to big groups, nameless tourist kind of place". This Inn knows how to treat its guests right! Looking at it from the outside it just looks like a small, 20room Motel. It's SO much more than that. We just spent three nights there and loved it. Upon check-in the hostess mentioned we were booked into room 5 but suggested we might prefer room 6 instead. She walked us upstairs and showed us both rooms. She was right! Room 6 is decorated in the "city" theme (all the rooms each have their own theme). The room boasted a couch, a Keureg, fluffy bathrobes, & the best goodie basket I've seen (mouthwash, shampoo, conditioner, bath & body works soap, emergen-c, scope, breathe right strips, etc). The room had a fridge, microwave and the cutest little wine glass and bottle opener. The room was really clean and the overall stay was quite pleasant. The only down sides were the halfhearted continental breakfast, the incredibly loud wall heater and the hospitality/cleaning woman who seemed annoyed that we asked her to come back 5mins later after we would be leaving the room. The location is excellent, off the Main Street but only a mile or two from stateline. In summation, this was a great place to stay and I'd highly recommend it. Don't worry about the continental breakfast, there is a great bagel place down the way called "Rude Bros." Overall a wonderful stay!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank thtrebuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in July during our trip through California. We booked the jungle room and were very happy with our accommodations. It is clear that the owners are trying to spruce things up, and they were very friendly, helpful and courteous as well. We were given several dining suggestions upon checking in and some tips and suggestions on what to see in the area. We liked the location of the jungle room because there was a stairway next to us instead of another room, adding to the peace and quiet of the place. The Alder Inn is located a little off the main road in South Lake Tahoe, but still close enough that we were able to walk to many locations. We highly recommend this place and some day when we return to Lake Tahoe we fully plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alissa2128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The rooms were very clean and I instantly felt at home. Taylor booked my room and she was very courteous,accommodating,and overall an awesome person! About 20 minute walk from the lake, definitely a must stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jake024d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your stay and for your great review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and the attentive detail Taylor gives our guests! Our location is a good aspect of our hotel...in fact, we are actually just about a 5 minute walk to the closest point of the lake!
Hope to see you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We absolutely loved the charm and ambience of this little hotel off the beaten path. The owners have renovated it and have taken great care to all of the little details and amenities. We loved everything about this treasure in the hustle bustle of the hotel world. We were treated like real people that really mattered and our comfort and happiness was at the forefront of this very well run hotel. The staff was friendly and management excellent. We arrived before ck in time and they made sure that they had a room ready for us to put our things in so it didn't have to stay in the car all day. GREAT TREASURE, peaceful and will definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fame12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews