We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alder Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Azure(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$189
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$429
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$269
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Timber Lodge(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Landing Resort & Spa(South Lake Tahoe)
$329
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $364/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$269
$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
$186
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of $318/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (855)
Filter reviews
855 results
Traveler rating
625
197
28
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
197
28
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubred hutski runwine glasseskeurig coffee makerping pong tablegreat place to staywithin walking distancewould definitely stay here againquiet locationceiling fanthe main draglocation is greatmini fridgeshort drivebed was very comfortableheavenly ski resort
Filter
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 855 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We absolutely loved the charm and ambience of this little hotel off the beaten path. The owners have renovated it and have taken great care to all of the little details and amenities. We loved everything about this treasure in the hustle bustle of the hotel world. We were treated like real people that really mattered and our comfort and happiness was at the forefront of this very well run hotel. The staff was friendly and management excellent. We arrived before ck in time and they made sure that they had a room ready for us to put our things in so it didn't have to stay in the car all day. GREAT TREASURE, peaceful and will definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fame12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I planned a trip to Lake Tahoe for our anniversary. We were staying at the Alder Inn once more as this has become our " go to" place in S. Lake Tahoe. My wife became quite ill with an inner ear infection and at the last minute we had to cancel our reservations expecting to pay for the 2 nights in full. However, when we spoke to Spence he was completely understanding and offered to refund us or move our reservation to a later time. What a cool humane guy....we ended up going a few days later as my wife felt better. The whole transaction was handled smoothly and we stayed in a beautiful room with wonderful amenities and a peaceful, restorative vibe. This experience renewed our faith in the kind of conscientious service one rarely receives in the world anymore. I highly recommend the Alder Inn!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. It is extremely nice of you to say all that, but I was just trying to err on the side of common sense. I am glad it worked out for the two of you to come and I am looking forward to having you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights in October and although it was between seasons, the inn was at capacity. Rooms are clean and tastefully theme decorated. Had mountain bikes that were free to use and we enjoyed them. The pool was not open as it was cool and we didn't use the hot tub as it was a little too out in the open for my taste. The staff was very friendly and helpful and suggested things to do and places to eat. The power did go out for about a half hour one morning, so we had to get ready in the dark, but this wasn't the hotel's fault as the power went out in a larger area then just this hotel. All the rooms appeared to be similar in size and I don't think there is one room location better than another. It is in walking distance to restaurants, bike paths, hiking and shops which is very convenient. There isn't a fitness center or restaurant on the premises. Unfortunately, we were not told there was a small continental breakfast set up in the checkin area so went out to breakfast at the restaurant they recommended each day and then the day we checked out I saw that there was a breakfast set up in the checkin area. I would have appreciated it if they told us that when we checked in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLover46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights in mid-October and was really pleased with this hotel. Our room was accessible, clean, and very nicely decorated (had a forest theme). The rooms have clearly been updated in the last few years and it really shows. It was in a great location - walking distance to dozens of restaurants and shops. The front desk manager (unclear if he was the owner) was very nice and even provided us a map to local hiking trails. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your review and, more importantly, for staying with us! So glad you see us as an affordable spot to stay in Tahoe. The main thing we set out to do is to provide affordable lodging in Tahoe where guests feel like they got their money's worth! Please do keep us in mind next time you are in Tahoe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Such a cute place tucked away off of Lake Tahoe Blvd. As the pictures show, all the rooms have a different theme which makes it nice and a great change of pace from the run of the mill hotels/motels in SLT. We stayed in room 15, which is located in the rear building, at the end, street side. A couple reviewers stated the noise from the stairs could be heard but the only noise we heard, was on the 2nd night (a Friday) of the person staying upstairs. We could hear stomping back and forth which kept me from going back to sleep (this was around 7 am so at least it wasn't after the bars closed..:) Other than that it was relatively quiet. Since there were three of us, and the double queens are only located downstairs, we couldn't choose a room upstairs. Those are all single queens or kings. The room itself was clean and had everything advertised. The gal that greeted me at check in was super nice and welcoming. The beds, although comfortable, were a little high off the ground which made it a somewhat difficult for my petite mother but she managed. The only thing we really missed was a seating area (table and chairs) There is a padded bench in the room but that sits below the t.v. so we couldn't sit with coffee and watch tv or play games, but that was a relatively minor detail and since there are two queen beds in the room, there wasn't enough space for that. Next time we're vacationing in the area we will definitely keep Alder Inn in mind.

Room Tip: It doesn't seem like any room would be a bad choice (although I didn't see all of them physically)..only suggestion would be to select one upstairs if your party allows just in case there are stompers!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanP163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews