We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alder Inn
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights in October and although it was between seasons, the inn was at capacity. Rooms are clean and tastefully theme decorated. Had mountain bikes that were free to use and we enjoyed them. The pool was not open as it was cool and we didn't use the hot tub as it was a little too out in the open for my taste. The staff was very friendly and helpful and suggested things to do and places to eat. The power did go out for about a half hour one morning, so we had to get ready in the dark, but this wasn't the hotel's fault as the power went out in a larger area then just this hotel. All the rooms appeared to be similar in size and I don't think there is one room location better than another. It is in walking distance to restaurants, bike paths, hiking and shops which is very convenient. There isn't a fitness center or restaurant on the premises. Unfortunately, we were not told there was a small continental breakfast set up in the checkin area so went out to breakfast at the restaurant they recommended each day and then the day we checked out I saw that there was a breakfast set up in the checkin area. I would have appreciated it if they told us that when we checked in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLover46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    178
    26
    5
    0
See reviews for
122
441
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights in mid-October and was really pleased with this hotel. Our room was accessible, clean, and very nicely decorated (had a forest theme). The rooms have clearly been updated in the last few years and it really shows. It was in a great location - walking distance to dozens of restaurants and shops. The front desk manager (unclear if he was the owner) was very nice and even provided us a map to local hiking trails. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and, more importantly, for staying with us! So glad you see us as an affordable spot to stay in Tahoe. The main thing we set out to do is to provide affordable lodging in Tahoe where guests feel like they got their money's worth! Please do keep us in mind next time you are in Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Such a cute place tucked away off of Lake Tahoe Blvd. As the pictures show, all the rooms have a different theme which makes it nice and a great change of pace from the run of the mill hotels/motels in SLT. We stayed in room 15, which is located in the rear building, at the end, street side. A couple reviewers stated the noise from the stairs could be heard but the only noise we heard, was on the 2nd night (a Friday) of the person staying upstairs. We could hear stomping back and forth which kept me from going back to sleep (this was around 7 am so at least it wasn't after the bars closed..:) Other than that it was relatively quiet. Since there were three of us, and the double queens are only located downstairs, we couldn't choose a room upstairs. Those are all single queens or kings. The room itself was clean and had everything advertised. The gal that greeted me at check in was super nice and welcoming. The beds, although comfortable, were a little high off the ground which made it a somewhat difficult for my petite mother but she managed. The only thing we really missed was a seating area (table and chairs) There is a padded bench in the room but that sits below the t.v. so we couldn't sit with coffee and watch tv or play games, but that was a relatively minor detail and since there are two queen beds in the room, there wasn't enough space for that. Next time we're vacationing in the area we will definitely keep Alder Inn in mind.

Room Tip: It doesn't seem like any room would be a bad choice (although I didn't see all of them physi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanP163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a great place to stay in. Stayed for 2 nights in OCT - in between seasons - not fully packed at the spot which we linked a lot. Pool closed for the season but enjoyed the hottub. The place looks like most Inns from the outside but inside I find the decor and standard much higher than I have explored. Very clean and computer beds. Location is perfect.
One more thing, friendly staff and reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Alder Inn for several days this past week and thought it provided a great value. The exterior of the hotel gives off this 1970's motel vibe - kinda sketchy. But the interiors of the rooms have been decorated very much like rooms you might find in boutique hotels - soft brown tones, nice linens and pillows, tasteful art and nicknacks in the rooms. Each room has a Keurig coffee machine, microwave and mini fridge. Hotel has wifi, although if that is really important to you (e.g. you need to get some work done on a laptop) ask for a room closer to the office - the signal gets weaker as you get towards the back of the property). The hotel is right down the road from Heavenly resort, and within walking distance of the south Tahoe marina and The Red Hut ( which has great brunch). Owners are great and staff is very attentive. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BobCStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Alder Inn is a great property in a great location. It is close to Stateline and all amenities you will need are only a short walk. From check-in the experience was excellent. We were welcomed with open arms and given a comprehensive run down of the area and the must dos! Then we were taken to our room which was decorated in a funky way. My wife fell in love with the room at first sight!
The room was comfortable. The bed gave us a great night sleep and the room had all the amenities we needed.
Try Goodfellas Pizza about 100 metres away and finish it off with a sundae from Red Hut. Also make sure you visit Emerald Bay which is about a 15 minute drive away.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat and hope to return in Winter sometime.

Room Tip: All rooms are different so it is pot luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimosabi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea S.Wales
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

As another reviewer mentioned the inn looks a bit basic when you drive in but the location is good as its set back from the busy main road nearby, but once in the room its lovely. We were given the choice of 2 rooms and they both looked nicely decorated, each with its own theme. I had looked at their own website before booking and liked them all.
We were given a warm welcome and given a few maps of the area as well as suggestions on where to eat nearby.. Our room was large and the bed comfy with nice quality bedding, towels and bathrobes. There was also a huge revolving armchair with matching footstool which was as comfy to snuggle in as the bed! Our only criticism would be the complete lack of drawer space, although we were only there for 2 nights it was part of a 2 week holiday and not all clothes can be hung up and I hate living out of a suitcase.

Room Tip: A lot of the rooms can be viewed on their own website so its worth having a look at, but it was exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#8 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Property: Alder Inn
Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing