We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...”
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alder Inn
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This motel has a wonderful location in S. Lake Tahoe. Literally, a 2 block walk to the lake and only a few more blocks away from Heavenly Village. The rooms ARE adorably decorated. The atmosphere is great with the tall pines towering overhead and the cute pine cones filling the planters. Service was not as great. The proprietor was awesome to deal with on the phone; but I didn't ever meet him or his wife. The small motel feel and atmosphere are evident in that the main office is not always staffed; we were a very late arrival due to car trouble (I called to let them know and they were SUPER nice) and so they made arrangements for us to get into our room by leaving a key in a discreet location for us...that was great. We needed pool towels (the pool is super nice, but not quite as enticing as in the photos) but there were never any towels by the pool, but someone (maybe the owner...a cute young fellow) set some out when I told him they were needed. Our in-room experience, besides the really cute decorating, was less than par. Though we weren't terribly uncomfortable due to not A.C., the room did get a little stuffy. We were on the first floor and did leave our window open at night and also the floor fan helped...ceiling fans would probably be the answer to more thoroughly circulate the air. The dust shown big-time on the bathroom mirror frame and the shelving where the towels and glasses are placed; as well as on the mini bedside stand. Even though after 2 days we threw some towels on the bathroom floor to be replaced, the housekeeper did not replace them. Dirty cups and glasses were not cleaned or replaced. Also, our garbage didn't even get emptied one day (and for some reason...we produce a lotta trash). One day, we weren't even sure if housekeeping attempted to make our beds. We always "kinda" make them before we leave, but when we returned the beds sure didn't look any different, except the adorable pillows were "placed" a bit. Granted, we saw the housekeeping girl and she appeared to be about 16 years old and probably didn't really get into the whole "mean on clean" routine a whole lot. But for over $200 (with tax) a night, expectations are higher. Additionally, as others have noted, the coffee isn't replenished after the first day, nor are the super nice toiletries (not that I care about the toiletries...honest...but I do need my coffee). Other similar hotels in the area offer a morning breakfast (anything...just let me throw something in my belly and help me save a $$ or two) for less cost per night. I would have rated the Alder as "Good" but rankings go from Average to Very Good...and I have to say...not quite very good due to the service issues mentioned. I think there's great potential, though.

Room Tip: Room 18 serves a family of 4 very well.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank hinkgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
There are newer reviews for Alder Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 813 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

Loved the stay and good customer service & everything else went well too.
Thank goodness there's a pool and jacuzzi to relax during the time I went.

Location is decent.. When you drive along to the road there's restaurants, stores etc you can spot to go to.. Close by the Lake Tahoe main beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacySaelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here this past June and we enjoyed the friendly service, and the clean, newly decorated rooms. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit. A memorable moment of our stay is when we asked the owner, "so what's the secret to your success as an inn manager?" to which he replied, "the trick is to be nice to people!". Lol! Great guy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Alder Inn! You can tell that, once upon a time, it was a basic motel, but the new owners are updating and personalizing it, and the result is something unpretentious but comfortable and friendly. I stayed in the Audrey Hepburn room, and loved the way they had picked colors, linens, and artwork that gave the room personality. It is within walking distance of a lot of restaurants, and the lake shore. Spence is super helpful and welcoming. It feels like a genuine family run business.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We booked our accommodation in Feb 2013 based on all the great reviews on TripAdvisor.
On arrival we were informed that the Inn was under new management after 8 weeks.
The room had character, and was probably the same size & layout as all the other inns in Lake Tahoe. We were here for 3 nights, one day when we came back to the room late afternoon, the room was still not serviced. Toiletries were not replenished so had to use soap sparingly on last day. Would have asked for more, but never saw anyone.
The Inn is in a quiet location, a few minutes walk from the lake.
The shower was a trickle.

Room Tip: We were upstairs at the rear. Since it was really hot, we left the window open at night. The fan tha...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt3565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Good
1. Large, comfortable bed.
2. Very helpful and friendly owners.
3. Great location.
4. Lovely, sunny pool.
5. Very clean

Not so good
1. Shower ran out of hot water each day.
2. Very dark room. Lighting was poor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nzsheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, General Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thanks so much for your feedback! I am happy to hear you felt you received a good value as that is a priority of ours. I am so sorry to hear you ran out of hot water. We have not had that complaint yet, and only wish you would have informed us so we could check the water heater for you. Each room is uniquely decorated and I realize some are more well lit than others. I would have also been happy to add more lighting to your room. If you stay with us again, please feel comfortable coming to us at any time with any requests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

New owner was very friendly and helpful. Refurnished rooms were very clean, and the free WiFi and bike rentals both came in very handy. Quiet as it's off the main road, but still just a short walk to the beach. I also enjoyed the jacuzzi and small pool out front. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidhoatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, General Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us. We truly appreciate the positive feedback and thank you for staying with us during your trip to Tahoe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,079 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
904 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $122 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing