We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A lovely little place, excited to see what new owners will do” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alder Inn
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Tiptree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A lovely little place, excited to see what new owners will do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I love these old refurbished motels, they all have such different personalities. On arrival, the new owner, Spence, gave us a refund on our rate and lots of suggestions of places to eat and things to do. We weren't worried by the lack of breakfast and enjoyed the Red Hut (Jalapeno Bacon!), iHop and Heidi's. We also weren't bothered by the lack of air-con, we liked the ceiling fan - we have these at home. I would echo what another poster said about the house-keeping; we had to leave a note to request extra toilet rolls and we never quite figured out whether we were meant to go buy our own coffee/milk after the first day, as it was never replenished, but we weren't bothered enough to ask, as we went out for breakfast anyway.

We really liked this hotel and look forward to seeing what Spence and family do with it. He certainly seems to have lots of ideas and is a most welcoming host. Until next time!

Room Tip: Go for an upper level room, so footsteps don't keep you awake. This may not be an issue, if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    184
    28
    5
    0
See reviews for
132
455
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great hotel, but be aware of a few issues.

Pros:
- Generous, helpful owners. The owner actually lower our room rate because of our mistake!
- Lovely, well decorated rooms. Lots of personal touches, like stemmed wine glasses.
- Terrific location. Walk to the lake. Short drive to the state line and all the casinos.
- Refrigerator and microwave in the room.
- Free wi-fi! Great signal -- really appreciated!

Cons:
- Showers are terrible. Either freezing cold or scalding hot. I kept having to jump out to avoid being scalded when (I assume) someone else turned on the water. Seriously!
- No air conditioning.
- No ice machine! There is a fridge, but I like ice and it seems like such a small thing.
- To run out of toilet paper once is inexcusable; to run out twice is unforgivable! Left a note to ask for a second roll to be left in the room and when the "backup" roll was used, it was not replaced, so we ran out again on the last day. There should ALWAYS be an extra roll. A guest shouldn't have to beg for toilet paper!
- The room could be cleaner. The floor in the bathroom was dirty and there was an ant infestation. The carpeting wasn't vacuumed every day.

Good to know:
- This is one of those older motor inns that has been lovingly restored to add charm.
- All the rooms open directly outside. Women traveling alone - be aware. There are locks on the windows, but those "blocking" locks can be easily broken.
- Breakfast only Saturday and Sunday. I thought this was a B&B. I didn't check and some of the reviews mentioned breakfast, so I assumed (always a mistake) it would be daily. This was my error, but I wish I had know before I booked.
- They only change the sheets and provide fresh towels every third day.
- No work desk in the room.

Bottom line:

If you want all the familiar conveniences of a chain hotel, this is not the place for you. If you want a great deal, to spend your money at a locally owned establishment, and stay in a place that has loads of charm and wonderful, generous owners, this is a terrific choice.

Room Tip: Ground floor you can hear people above you. Second floor you have to carry your stuff up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruinalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your feedback. One of our main goals is for our guests to feel as though they got their money's worth, and, from the title of this review, it seems like we accomplished that goal. We also appreciate that this guest loved the location along with the other amenities that we offer.
I would like to address a few of the "cons" that this guest addressed:
While I am deeply sorry for the issue you had with the shower, this one actually surprises me. Many of our guests (including some that will mention it in a review) say they love our showers...good pressure and hot water. We will certainly check on this so we can make sure all guests can get a good shower!
This guest is correct in that we do not have A/C. The truth is most lodging accommodations in Tahoe do not have A/C With temperatures, even in the summer, normally getting into the 40's at night, it is only on those rare "heat wave" occasions do people mention the heat. And even then we have fans we can put in the rooms that, mixed with the cool nights, can make the room comfortable.
We do not have an ice machine but we let guests know that we will certainly provide them with ice if they just let us know. We keep ice in a separate freezer .
Totally agree on the toilet paper issue...our fault and we apologize.
Our apologies that the bathroom floor was not properly cleaned. We take great pride in the cleanliness of the rooms so please know we dropped the ball on this one. Regarding the ants, we do get a pest control company to spray once a month but every once in a while we do see some carpenter ants. When daily servicing the room we do not vacuum the rooms; we only do that on check out and for stays longer than 3 days. When we do a daily service of the room we make the bed, change out towels (although if a towel is hanging up we keep it in there...similar to all hotels), replenish toiletries, and straighten up.
Regarding the windows, we have ordered new ones that will not have the blocking locks...they will lock just the way all new windows do. Some have already been installed and we are waiting on the second shipment.
Lastly, all of our rooms are designed differently...that is what makes us unique. Some have a classy look, some have a theme, while others just have a nice décor. Since they are designed differently, some rooms have a desk and others do not. Of course you can always request a room that has a desk in it.
I do appreciate the feedback from the guest. And it sounds like she had a good time, which I am thankful for...I just wanted to simply address some of the issues she mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capranica, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

we can confirm what tab and other reviews tell about this hotel (comfortable rooms, good location, low price, etc.) but we have to underline its great asset: owners' kindness make you feel good when you arrive and it's a big help if you have a problem!
Moreover, obviously, Tahoe Lake is a wonderful spot!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hi-faicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

On our big trip of almost a year ago now, staying in almost 30 places, this little hotelstill leaves us with fond memories, the chain hotels are very forgettable. but alder inn is special.

At first it looked a little hmm....not sure ..old? small?from the outside, but the owners were very friendly and helpful, giving us good advice about what to do in the area, and the rooms were very tastefully renovated, and was a very nice relaxing place to stay.

plus I also had a close encounter with a bear, just the road, on an early morning jog, fantastic!

good luck to the owners, and keep up the great work, the good reviews you keep getting here are testimony it's all going well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirty_Sandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
555 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Alder Inn has a great location. It is off the main highway. The Inn is really a nice motel. The new owners are refurbishing the property. They are very friendly and helpful. The roo was nicely decorated and the shower was good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charles6346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We came to Tahoe to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. I came across the Alder Inn website and fell in love with the place, reserved the room (talked to Spence) and knew this was the hotel for us. When we arrived our room was ready early and exceeded ALL expectations. Spence gave us great suggestions for dinner...(Freshies was our favorite). It was far enough away from Heavenly to be peaceful and very quite, but close enough to walk/bike everywhere. The hot tub and warm pool was great after a day of hiking or biking. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. We will definitely stay again when we go back to Tahoe. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerriTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the Alder Inn for 2 nights during our California road trip last September. The hotel was perfect. We had a warm welcome along with some useful tips on finding out way around. The room was beautifully designed and very comfortable. We wished we were staying longer. While in Lake Tahoe we went to Emerald bay which was a lovely drive. We also did lots of walking around the Lake. The weather was mixed as it was so cold in the morning but it turned out lovely later in the day. We would love to return to Lake Tahoe and if we do The Alder Inn will be our first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripsagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Property: Alder Inn
Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing