We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“when kindness makes comfortable your vacations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alder Inn
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Capranica, Italy
2 reviews
“when kindness makes comfortable your vacations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

we can confirm what tab and other reviews tell about this hotel (comfortable rooms, good location, low price, etc.) but we have to underline its great asset: owners' kindness make you feel good when you arrive and it's a big help if you have a problem!
Moreover, obviously, Tahoe Lake is a wonderful spot!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hi-faicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    176
    26
    5
    0
See reviews for
122
438
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

On our big trip of almost a year ago now, staying in almost 30 places, this little hotelstill leaves us with fond memories, the chain hotels are very forgettable. but alder inn is special.

At first it looked a little hmm....not sure ..old? small?from the outside, but the owners were very friendly and helpful, giving us good advice about what to do in the area, and the rooms were very tastefully renovated, and was a very nice relaxing place to stay.

plus I also had a close encounter with a bear, just the road, on an early morning jog, fantastic!

good luck to the owners, and keep up the great work, the good reviews you keep getting here are testimony it's all going well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirty_Sandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
498 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Alder Inn has a great location. It is off the main highway. The Inn is really a nice motel. The new owners are refurbishing the property. They are very friendly and helpful. The roo was nicely decorated and the shower was good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charles6346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We came to Tahoe to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. I came across the Alder Inn website and fell in love with the place, reserved the room (talked to Spence) and knew this was the hotel for us. When we arrived our room was ready early and exceeded ALL expectations. Spence gave us great suggestions for dinner...(Freshies was our favorite). It was far enough away from Heavenly to be peaceful and very quite, but close enough to walk/bike everywhere. The hot tub and warm pool was great after a day of hiking or biking. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. We will definitely stay again when we go back to Tahoe. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerriTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the Alder Inn for 2 nights during our California road trip last September. The hotel was perfect. We had a warm welcome along with some useful tips on finding out way around. The room was beautifully designed and very comfortable. We wished we were staying longer. While in Lake Tahoe we went to Emerald bay which was a lovely drive. We also did lots of walking around the Lake. The weather was mixed as it was so cold in the morning but it turned out lovely later in the day. We would love to return to Lake Tahoe and if we do The Alder Inn will be our first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripsagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My new wife and I were looking for a place to stay and decided to give them a call based on their reviews.

Spence is awesome! Thanks again buddy...

So when I call I let Spence know that's we are on our honeymoon. He suggest the Love and Peace room. Clean, quiet, and peacefull.

They even have bikes you can borrow. Overall we will be staying here from now on when we stay in tahoe.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mggarcia003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Owners are very friendly, the room was well furnished and it was obvious that there were little things added to ensure our stay was a pleasant one. I've never seen so many travel sized items left for guests before. I normally nit-pick about exercise equipment, but this is Lake Tahoe so there is no reason to be inside! Great location all year round.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Falqon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#7 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Property: Alder Inn
Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing