We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Motel in Tahoe”
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alder Inn
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

The 2.5 star rating almost put us off but the Trip Advisor reviews from others convinced me to try it. We were pleasantly surprised. The 2.5 stars are not in any way indicative of the lovely rooms and new clean bathroom and new carpeting in the room. It may be the lack of on site dining (except weekends) or no gym facilities etc. But for our purposes it suited very nicely. We just came from the Grand Hyatt in SF and this is not a 5 star hotel but I can say it is easily the best motel that I've stayed at. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 825 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very nice stay in South lake tahoe at the Alder inn. Our room was very clean spacious new and comfortable. The office employees very friendly and helpful. Recommended places to eat and sites to see. Will deffinately stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Alder Inn is very well situated in South Tahoe. This was our first time there and didn't know what to expect. When I go to New York City, San Francisco, Las Vegas, I like to be in the center of the action. Lake Tahoe I want to enjoy for the nature. Next time I will stay in a different area, like Incline. I don't mean to take away from the nicely appointed, clean rooms at Alder. I only wish it was located elsewhere on the lake. Very friendly people with nice extras in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boating2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thant you for staying with us. However, this review applies more to the city of South Lake Tahoe not the hotel. I'm sure this guest would have given the hotel 5 stars, but his review was more about what town he preferred. We strive for excellence at the Alder Inn and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent 4th of July in Tahoe in 2011 and stayed at the Alder Inn. Reserving the room was so easy and enjoyable! I had some questions so I went on the website and called the number provided. The person I spoke to on the phone was so helpful and patient with all my questions. I ended up choosing the safari room and I was not disappointed. The room had so many cute little touches and was nice and clean. They definitely pay attention to the details here. We would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Each room has a different theme!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shansou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Second stay at this motel first was last summer. Experienced great service from the minute we walked in the door loved the new fun office style, Layni has a gift for decorating. Clean clean clean that is why we stay here we never have to worry about the room being spotless. Last but also first the location is wonderful just a couple of blocks from the water but off hwy50 so silent at night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This little Inn is amazing. We stopped here on a whim when we were passing through town. Not only was the lobby decorated very retro with pop art paintings, our room was also very cool. We had the best night sleep ever, greta beds and very quiet. We ate breakfast across the street, recommended by Dawn, and it also was great.

Room Tip: they have pics of rooms in the office, they let us choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Wow, read the reviews and decided to trust them! With the "bar high", this hotel and the owners / staff then went ahead and exceeded our expectations!

Don't even look at another hotel...just pray they have an available room and then book it!

The owners Chad/Lanie really work to perfection, as do Tobias and Dawn. In fact, you would think all 4 of them are the owners. They hooked usup with Room 14 (the Love Room) and the advice for things to see and do, as well as perfect hospitality was simply perfect!

Thank you guys, and as promised, we will always stay with on any return visit!!!

Jon-Mike and Holly

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Depmode151515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
518 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
493 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $102 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing