We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Apparently a standard motel on the outside, lovely surprises inside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alder Inn
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Apparently a standard motel on the outside, lovely surprises inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

A really great place to stay in South Lake Tahoe. It's close to everything, therefore convenient, but also away from the main drag, and therefore quiet and peaceful at night. The rooms have been beautifully redecorated, each one differently from the next, with its own theme, so as others have suggested, if you are booking ahead, go online and pick the one that most appeals to you. The beds are super comfortable, there is a variety of pillows, so you will find at least one that suits your needs, the bed linens are clean. And they do not skimp on the little extras, providing in addition to the standards things you see in hotels: a good razor, shaving cream, deodorant, organic shampoos and conditioners, tasty coffee (as good as it can be in drip machines), a basket of chocolates and health bars, and a pretty standard-sized air freshener aerosol. Good quality items, no cheapness there ... except for the facial tissues, which were a little rough.

So why four stars instead of five? Not just for the tissues, but also because the rug outside the bathtub looked grimy, I did not want to step on it, the cost is just on the edge of being a little too pricey, and we did not get the best of help from the people who checked us in. Minor quibbles really. I actually completely recommend Alder Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPLASS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry our tissues were not soft enough for your skin sensitivity. The rug in ther bathroom which you referd to, is a woolen rug that I can assure is VERY clean. This rug has natural color variations in the wool fibers. Your rate of $100 per night is comperable to other hotels which offer the same amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    177
    26
    5
    0
See reviews for
122
440
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We really like this place; it has such fabulous character and is, frankly, lovely.

We were very warmly welcomed by Chad on arrival and he could not have been more helpful throughout our stay. He advised us on local walks, things to do, places to eat. We didn't see Layni this time but she was just as lovely when we stayed here before.

The rooms...I love that you can call and ask for a specific room and that the website gives you all the information you need to get the right one for you. We stayed in Room 22 which I chose because it was funky, had a king bed, was on the upper floor and had a sofa. It was great; very comfortable and spotlessly clean.

There's not much more to say except that if we go back to Lake Tahoe for a third time, we will definitely stay here again - and will probably sample a different one of their fabulous rooms just for fun.

Room Tip: They are all fab but check out the website photos and take the time to chose the one that appeals to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

You definitely have to experience this quaint and lovely hotel from the inside. Although the location is great, the real treat is the decor and attention to detail. The little gift basket was great - delicious Kashi bars and Ghiradelli chocolate, Wolfgang Puck coffee, numerous bathroom treats (including a good razor even). I arrived very late at night after a long drive for a family medical emergency in So Shore. The owner and onsite manager bith went the extra mile. They even had the lights and heat turned on for me so I walked into a cozy, homey room. The bed, linens and pillows are top quality and so comfortable. This place rocks!!!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SonomaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

When my wife and I pulled in the first thing we said was is this the place? But you will be impressed once you step in your room. The decor is great and they go above and beyond with the amenities. Comfy beds, robes, care packages. They have taken this old inn and revamped the inside to make you feel comfortable. The room was a little small for a king size bed but uniquely decorated. The innkeepers were very helpful and were readily available and you could see them running a mile a minute each morning getting the rooms turned over. I would definately recommend the Alder Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We chose Alder Inn after doing a little research, and seeing all the good reviews. We really loved it . The staff were nice and friendly, and Chad and Layni were very helpful and gave us lots of information.
The location is good , away from all the casinos but easy access to all the main sites. There is a nice restaurant called Blue Angel Cafe which is very nice.
Our room was lovely , very clean and bed was super comfortable.
We loved Lake Tahoe and Alders Inn and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We booked our room directly from Alders Inn as we wanted a premium room. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bornio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Found this little inn on Trip Advisor and picked it based on good reviews. They have earned my repeat business. Traveled with my wife to celebrate our aniversary over the new Years holiday. Loved being so close to the viliage and the festivities but nice to leave the crowds(mass of people from the casinos) and get a nice quiet sleep. The hospitality was wonderful and best we have experienced in Tahoe. Hot tub was surrounded by snow and made it very private. Wine bar on the corner with great selections. Brought a bottle back to our room and nice to have long stem wine glasses and opener in room to use.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san mateo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We made our reservation based on tripadvisor reviews and was ver happy staying in this small and very cozy place. It has everything, robes, shampoo, lotion, cream, toothpaste, like all 4+ star hotels have. Will definaty come back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rigajuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#7 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Property: Alder Inn
Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing